Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Stephanie

Turn on the lights

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
I got in very late 1:00 AM. The lights were off there was not a soul in sight. With the front desk being off to the side I had no idea if I was even in the right place. To be fair I was only in the hotel for about 7 hours. To sleep shower and leave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Convenient!

Posted Jul 2, 2017
The hotel is in the old French quarter of Shanghai which has lovely trees, and is close to a beautiful park and convenient subway.
5 out of 5
by Vickie

Great for business travel

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is truly amazing down to every last detail. Clean, comfortable beds, room are nice and spacious and the food is fantastic. Just be sure you request a room NOT facing the nightclub next door or you can forget about sleeping...they blast their music until 5am. I had to switch my room due to this. The hotel gave me 3 pieces of chocolate for the inconvenience which didn't compensate for a lost nights sleep but everything else here is fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Korea

Beautiful hotel in quiet area.

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Staff Room Room Service
Cons: Pool
Location: Quiet location, historic area. A few bar restaurant places nearby. You have to walk a bit to get to restaurants. Not much to do in the area. Walking
I stayed her for 5 nights. I wasn't sure about the location but liked the photos on Expedia. The hotel is beautiful. The staff is amazing. There were a few things I wasn't happy about. The first one is the pool. The water was really cold, and the water in the hot tub part was not hot. Seems trivial, but the pool was one of the reasons I chose this hotel. Secondly, we wanted to try the buffet, but it was not available. May have misread the in room information, but we were disappointed. A BIG problem which is not the hotel's fault is that getting a taxi in this area is a nightmare. It took us at least 20 minutes on two occasions to get a cab, once with the help of a staff member. Very frustrating. I am not sure why this is, but it is.
5 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Definitely coming back!

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Orbitz
This hotel is located at the heart of the French district, best of Shanghai. Within walking distance to nice restaurants and subway. We asked the hotel to arrange airport pickup, they sent a nice Mercedes. When we arrived, someone walked us straight up to our room, while others helped with luggage. Room was huge and clean. The architecture is comtemporary. Breakfast buffet was i think $40/ea, it was an extensive buffet with Eastern and Western choices. We used the pool- heated and HUGE! And clean. While we were swimming 3 lifeguards were there watching for us. Overall the service was EXCEPTIONAL throughout. Staff is fluent in English. We also took some time and had a tea time in the courtyard. Was a very nice experience. I will definitely stay here again next time we are in Shanghai!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JB

So Luxurious!

Posted Dec 5, 2015 on Orbitz
Amazing! Just amazing! You will not regret spending your time in Shanghai at this hotel.
4 out of 5
by Ellen E from Suzhou

Cold buffet food and language difficulties

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
I selected this hotel based on it being a Starwood property and being close to a restaurant where an event was being held. Thank goodness I used my free Hotels.com rewards because if I had paid the going rate, I would have been very disappointed. Like most upscale hotels in China, the language differences cause issues. I needed to borrow a curling iron which was listed as one of the items available to borrow in their English and Chinese guide. It took 30 minutes, multiple phone calls, people confusing "curling iron" with a regular clothing "iron" and me actually miming twisting my hair around my finger to get the point across. The buffet breakfast was also copious but not great quality...Why can't these hotels learn how to keep buffet food warm? I also asked for a soda with my meal for which I was charged an exorbitant amount even though that same soda would have been free in my room's mini-bar...
5 out of 5
by Neil from Shanghai

Best hotel service in China

Posted Oct 10, 2015 on Hotels
Just one night on our new neighbourhood and a great experience from superb, friendly service from all staff to helpful permission to delay check out. Smart hotel, excellent well equipped room and great, varied breakfast. The gym, spa and pool all looked fantastic too.