Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kosh

Marina Club Appartments Lagos

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: Great staff and facilities.
Cons: Only one. They could have a small shop on site
Location: Great location if you fancy doing stuff involving the sea. Not much to see and explore near to town
Just come back after staying at the Marina Club Appartments in Lagos,Portugal. It was a fab place and the appartment we had was facing the pool and overlooking the marina. Rate the staff and facilities very highly, only down point was there was no shop on site. But saying that the nearest large supermarket was only 10 min walk. Would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for a relaxing holiday

Posted Sep 18, 2012
Pros: location and room
Cons: Staff and pool
Location: Perfect
A great hotel, in a fantastic location, 15 mins to the beach and 10 mins into town. The marina setting is just lovely with a buzzing atmosphere. Sadly the staff really let the hotel down with the ladies on reception being very abrupt and generally unhelpful. The saving grace was the guy who worked on reception, who fortunately was helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Sterile, characterless, expensive aparthotel - not sure of its identity or target markets

Posted Sep 6, 2011
First impressions on arrival were great. Very clean though busy pool area.Roomy apartment with most of mod cons needed on first glance. However, when we toured the apartment, all 3 bedrooms overlooked a busy main road and a roundabout 100 metres away! We were all kept awake by cars and lorries screeching and braking and bikes gunning it in the early hours. My husband resorted to sleeping on the settee in the lounge for the duration.The apartment facilities proved over the next two weeks to be more surface glamour than practical for independent living and cooking which is what we were looking for with 3 children. There was no oven or grill or washer/dryer. The Manager of the hotel and the few reception staff we approached to enquire about the possibility of getting 2 loungers for our balcony were quite rude and extremely unhelpful.The pool area was crowded with too many families from neighbouring private apartments using the facilities. Result: we struggled to get beds unless we were down early in the morning. Kids weren't allowed to play with balls in or out of the pool; inflatables were also not allowed and apart from a TV in the small bar located inside the hotel, there was absoutely nothing for them to do except swim and sunbathe. The whole place was clean but souless.All in all, very disappointing, not good value for money. This complex is not sure which market to target - business, marina or holiday. Trying for all but not succeeding in any. Needs to re-assess its aims.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Cheltenham

Wonderful place to stay

Posted Jul 16, 2008
Our first holiday without the kids and the hotel was perfect, clean, very smart and all the staff were very helpful. Underground parking for the hire car, plenty of sunbeds, nice bar, can't fault it. Lagos town is lovely and very atmospheric. Would certainly love to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Marina Club

Posted Jun 23, 2008
Just got back form a 10 day stay. 3rd time we have stayed there in last couple of years and is still excellent. Service is quiet yet professional and the property has been maintained to a very high standard. Would recomemnd the newer apartment block, very comtemporary design, stylish, clean lines - perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Great hotel, great location!

Posted Nov 27, 2007
Appartment was great (especially the bathroom) - it had all the facilities we expected and needed during our stay. Great location too - only 10 minutes walk to centre of Lagos. Only comment is about the comfort of the bed - very hard with a pillow that's hardly worth mentioning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Great Location

Posted Oct 6, 2007
We spent a week at the Marina Club 11 Dom Joao in September 2007. It was a good location, clean, quiet, lovely pool, loads of beds - no-one put out towels - Brits please note! We had lunch at the restaurant two lunchtimes and the food and service was good. The bar staff were lovely. No complaints at all. We would definatelt stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Great location and good facilities

Posted Jul 16, 2007
Our room was lovely, light and airy, with a very contemporary feel. The balcony was a good size and we had a fantastic view across the pool towards the marina. The pool and grounds were well maintained. Staff were helpful and courteous. It is a 15 minute walk into the town of Lagos where there are numerous restaurants and bars. Fantastic beaches are a short drive away. Would recommend this venue and would return. The Marina area is still being developed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by TQ

Marina Club II Dom João I - recommended!

Posted Jul 13, 2007
The Marina Club II Dom João I is part of the "Marina Club" group of hotels in Lagos. The reception area is shared by all of the Marina Club hotels. A modern hotel, with all rooms facing the marina. There are a few niggles that can be easily looked past, but overall this is a highly recommended hotel. Pros. v clean, modern rooms. huge king sized bed (we asked for two twin beds, but did not quibble). v attractive area overlooking the clean Lagos marina. 10mins (gentle) walk into Lagos town centre. towels were changed daily and everything was cleaned/hoovered daily. 600 yards to excellent sandy beach (Meia Pria). the apartments come with a kitchenette, with microwave, electric hob and sink, with cutlery/pans/utensils supplied. supermarket less than 100 yards away. Minor Cons - these are very petty and did not bother us, but they are things that people generally expect from a 4star hotel - it may bother you but it probably won't: shower gel was never changed and was of low quality, though the hand soap lasted the whole week. dishcloth randomly dissappeared after first day and did not reappear!! no hairdrier. no shaving mirror/shaving light/shaving plug. room safe charged for air con slightly loud when on full. Major Cons: The reception staff were hardly present at the desk and were not very useful in coming up with local information. They were friendly though and spoke excellent english.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Chilled, satisfied and happy with life

Posted Jun 27, 2007
After a weeks surfing up the west coast with minimal accommodation (tent) it was a dream arriving at the relative abject luxury of the **** Marina Hotel and Apartments. I didn't have the opportunity to use all hotel facilities and services as I had an apartment, therefore, made my own meals etc. However, as I spent a lot of time away during the day it was a lovely home from home to arrive back at. Contemporary design, slick layout and a stunning bathroom all kept me very happy for 5 days. The only thing I wasn't completely delighted with was the beds. Too hard for me. Other than that afabulous location at the marina. Recommend it anytime. Ciao, Sam