Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Peaceful beachfront hotel ,friendly staff

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Beachfront , large pool , good standard.
Cons: Increased pool opening times
Location: on outskirts of Alghero and old town , 10 - 15 min walk . Many beautiful beaches , more rocky nearby .
Stayed in superior room with excellent sea and pool view. Well maintained , spotlessly clean , room cleaned every day , fresh towels if wanted . Staff all very obliging .Excellent freshwater large pool 25 metres open 9am to 7pm , lots of free sunbeds . Breakfast good range of food ; juice , fruits , cereals , breads , jams ,cold meats , cheese , cakes , some hot cooked , tea , coffee. Fridge minibar in room with a little space to keep own things cool, need to buy water to drink . Free mini safe , good air conditioning , large king size bed ,good wifi , kettle , hairdryer in bathroom , shower and bath . Private beach across small road with sunbeds. 10 min walk into center of Alghero. Worth going to tourist information to find out how to get around , where to go and when . Reception staff attentive and helpful if you need anything , and speak good English . Car hire almost a must to see the island easily . Would definitely stay at Calabona again , very pleased. Thank you !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely staff and the cleanest rooms

Posted Aug 30, 2014
I don't usually write reviews but I have felt compelled to do so regarding this hotel. The staff couldn't have been more helpful if they tried and the room was completely spotless everyday. I loved the location and the little private beach. A lovely restaurant is just a short walk away overlooking the sea. And it's about a 10-15 minute walk into the old town with everything you would want and need for the evening. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Really enjoyed our stay and holiday here and I would go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel, close to the beach and to the town

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: The staff at Hotel Calabona are so helpful and always happy o help and advise you when needed
Cons: I thought the hotel was perfect
Location: The hotel is located about 15 mins walk to the main town of Alghero where you can find lots of restaurants and bars
My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time at Hotel Calabona, great location and very helpful staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire, England

A Great simple hotel right by the beach

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Quiet location
Cons: Medium hard beds
Location: This hotel is at the very end of the town, there isn't anything after it, but there is a little bar and restaurant just up the hill
This hotel is a perfect place if you are looking for piece and quiet away from the hussle of the town, the walk is about a mile and half into the centre and is a nice stroll along the coast. Great facilities, great pool. We have a fantastic 360degree view from our room of the sea and our room had been renovated. The only thing I didn't like is that the bed was too hard for us and I had to use the duvet underneath me to get a good nights sleep. The staff are very friendly, good great and the little private beach is cute although not sandy and the sea is great to get it as long as you don't mind rocks under your feet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2014
pleasant hotel but not really 4 stars, more like 3. very small rooms, old fashioned decor. Meals are served at a very limited time only and dinner is served very late. The beach is tinny and across the street. Overall the ratio of expense to what you get for it is not really attractive to an experienced traveler
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bedfordshire uk

Lovely setting especially the private beach

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Pool beach breakfast
Cons: Willingness to correct problems
Location: Alghero old town picturesque plenty of opportunities to do water sports or hire a boat for the day. Vineyards close by
Lovely hotel superb views and not far to the old town and restaurants. When we arrived we had a lovely welcome, room spotless, pool and beach great. Very relaxing to eat breakfast outside After a couple of days our bathroom wasn't cleaned properly and our bedspreads were taken away for some reason. The floor ended up getting very dusty too! Reception staff very reluctant to put matters right. Apart from these hiccups (which were annoying) it was a lovely stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel OK, but our 'superior' room was tiny

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Cons: Sound proofing in rooms, quality of food.
Hotel OK but not really 4 star in terms of quality. Our 'superior' room did have a sea view as promised, but was tiny. Generally the hotel was noisy - not because people staying there were ill-behaved, but because sound carried. We had one lunch there, which was poor for the amount of money it cost. Hotel staff polite and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely, quiet and clean hotel.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Very unhappy that Expedia booked our flights to Olbia airport that is about 150k away when Alghero airport is on the doorstep. The cost of a taxi transfer is approximately £140 either way that we weren't notified of prior to our booking only to contact the hotel to arrange tranfers!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by M&R from United Kingdom

Lovely hotel, excellent service

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Pros: location; quiet street and sea directly over road. Staff - service all round was excellent.
Cons: providing tea and coffee - really frustrating to have kettle and not be able to have coffee in bed!
Location: Small private beach across road (quite sea-weedy). can walk to town - 15 mins tho there are hills.
Hotel was lovely, quiet area but near enough to walk to town (15 mins). the staff were wonderful, always cheerful and willing to help. rooms were comfortable and our balcony (superior room) was fantastic - we could have stayed there the whole time! Only issue we had was that tea and coffee facilities evidently means a kettle and not the tea and coffee! i have never come across this before and the amount of bad feeling its generating compared to the small cost (to the hotel company) of providing a couple of sachets each day - cost cutting gone mad! so take tea & coffee with you! Otherwise we had a great time.