Ratings based on 290 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

accomadations

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Pool and staff helped out big. Thank you!!!!
Cons: The exercise equipment! 1 and 1/2 out of 3 equipment/stations work!
when you stay for a while and have a family you only get a spoonful when you really need a cup!
2 out of 5
by Alyssa from W

Not what I expected.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tiffany from Fairbanks, AK

Nice hotel, close to shopping

Posted Apr 2, 2014
The best feature about the hotel is that it is within walking distance to the museum and 5th ave mall. We enjoyed the pool also.
2 out of 5
by Aaron from Anchorage

Nice looking hotel, but very dirty

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Coffee stains on the comforters, grease stains on the table, a baby bottle under the bed, empty pop cans in the cabinets. It was so bad we checked out a night early and didn't care for a refund, we just wanted out. It is a shame because the place has a little potential to be a nice stay, just very dirty. Parking was expected for the location, condensed but not too hard to find a spot
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ellaina from Bethel, MN

close to town

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: Great Location and very nice staff.
Cons: Hot tub and pool were a little small and continental breakfast was lacking.
Location: Many shops and restaurants and bars. Beautiful view.
Great location, within walking distance of a lot of shops and eating establishments. The staff were very welcoming and informative and very helpful with any problems or questions.
1 out of 5
by Molena from Fairbanks

Exact opposite of midtown location

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Only reason we moved from East 34th to 8th was because East 8th location has a pool
Cons: Front desk employees need common courtesy especially when dealing with public! We, the guests, are reason why they're getting their wages!
Location: Not very much
Called to confirm reservations just to get greeted by rude front desk service. NO FREE PARKING (ridiculous) When we check in, front desk did not greet anyone with a smile. Then they assign a room that was not cleaned, still had previous guests luggage in room. You are tired from a long trip & you get this run around, no you wont be amused. NO I DO NOT recommend this location on East 8th to anyone.
3 out of 5
by heather from alaska

Stay review

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Staff were friendly, helpful. Pool was very warm.
Cons: Need decent towels and bedding.
Location: Location was good. We visited zoo, firewood, museum, animal refuge, and more
Initially could not find reservations. Daily housekeeping not provided. Towels paper thin, hurt to use. Pillows cheap. Sheets scratchy. Extremely limited parking. Beds uncomfortable. Would not stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room was dirty

Posted Mar 16, 2014
When I showed up the heater in the room was not working and it was the next day they fixed it so it would only run on the cool setting so still no heat. They allow dogs so there was sevarl nights when the dogs would wake me up. Every night there was atleast one or several times when people would come in late and either start fighting in the hallways or have loud arguments in there room. Was very glad to check out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lynn from Sterling, AK

Awesome place to stay in Downtown Anchorage!

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: Rates, cleanliness, convenience and pet-friendly!
Cons: Not an issue, but perhaps improve communication about having to pay for a parking permit. Not a big deal, though. Pretty typical in Anchorage.
Location: EAT! DRINK! BE MERRY! There are so many venues to choose from! Just go for a short walk and see what kind of gem you stumble upon.
My husband and I stayed at Extended Stay for a night, along with our German Shepherd hound. First off, it was excellent to be able to stay with our dog and we did not feel that the quality of the place was compromised by the convenience of being pet-friendly. Very clean with cool decor. Not to mention, GREAT rates! We had a King-sized bed with a mini-kitchen and though it was somewhat small, it was perfect for our needs. We even had a nice view of the mountains and were just two blocks away from the Iditarod race "route." The staff was friendly and helpful in helping us settle in. The ladies cleaning the rooms were exceptionally sweet; they even made pals with our dog! ;) The hotel serves a light breakfast, which we slept too long to enjoy, but we did enjoy their coffee; it's reeeally good! Typically the hotel asks you to purchase a parking permit to park in their lot, but they were full that weekend. Not to worry; plenty of off-street parking. So nice that they offer work-out facilities and pool/jacuzzi. We did not have the chance to use during this stay, but will look forward to that next time. They are within walking distance of all the great restaurants, bars, as well as the Art Museum (which I highly recommend). I would definitely recommend Extended Stay-Anchorage-Downtown and we will look forward to staying there again for our next adventure in Downtown Anchorage.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

CUSTOMER SERVICE

Posted Mar 11, 2014
The gentleman who checked us in wasn't helpful. He was using his phone in the back room and wouldn't acknowledge or even ignored the fact that I was standing at there. I also wasn't able to contact the front dest with my room phone because "he left the phone on". other than the lack of customer service, I enjoyed my night.