Ratings based on 219 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Redmond, WA

Cleaniess and comfortable room.

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: The room is very clean and comfortable. Because I stayed with my family, so that the suite room gave us enough space.
Cons: 24 hours shuttle to the airport.
Location: In front of the hotel, Japanese restaurant, a shopping mall and a movie theater.
I stayed one day, though, enjoyed very much. There are shops and restaurants around the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Housekeeping must have been on strike.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
The room would have been comfortable but I kept thinking of how dirty it was when I first got there. The front desk staff cleaned my room after I pointed out the coffee spills on the counter, all the tables and a trail across the linoleum. I won't be staying at the mid-town location again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nothing Special

Posted Aug 5, 2014
The front desk only staffs one person and they cannot keep up with the demands of the hotel operation There is a pizza and beer place one block away called Broken Tooth. It is absolutely awesome and the perfect place to go after traveling to Anchorage.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that we did not provide you with a great stay. We will review your feedback and look for ways to improve our guest's experience. Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Review Extended America

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: The people who work at the hotel, front desk and others all very pleasant, and helpful particularly a young lady named Tomomi.
Cons: The computers in the business office were temporarily out of order.
Location: I was there on business so did not have a lot of time for sightseeing.
My experience overall was pleasant. The staff was friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable, but there was no air conditioning in the bedroom and it was uncomfortable on warm nights.The hotel staff did adjust the air conditioner in the living room so the temperature in that room was okay. If you were staying less than 7 nights and wanted your room cleaned and bed made you had to pay an extra daily fee of $10.00 per day. You could obtain a change of towels at the front desk at no cost. The location of the hotel was okay but you definitely need a car to get around, while it was convenient for my business calls, staying downtown would add the benefit of having many restaurants, and shops and the museum within walking distance. The breakfast was a quick grab and go-consisting of apples and oranges, coffee or tea, a muffin or breakfast bar and hot cereal. It was okay but I think yogurt or cold cereal should have been included. There was a good supply of travel brochures and information on local sites, restaurants, maps etc
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Nice hotel - Difficult staff

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: The actual facilities were fine.
Cons: I don't understand why we were told the reserved room was not available when clearly it was! Better communication or something !
We (4) had reservations for 2 nights. Then 2 friends were meeting us & had reservations for the 2nd night. They arrived a.m. of check-in day. Before leaving the hotel that morning to sight-see around Anchorage, we asked if they needed to return at 3:00 to check in and was told it was not necessary that their reservation was made and their room would be ready whatever time they returned that evening. BUT, that's not what happened. We returned 8ish, tired after sight-seeing & dinner to be told there was 1 SMOKING room on the 3rd floor. Their reservation was for a NON-SMOKING room. Tthat morning we were told they would try to accommodate our request to have the 2nd room close to ours (on the first floor). We discussed the issue of only a "smoking room" availability with the desk clerk to no satisfaction & asked to speak to a manager. We were told there was no evening manager on duty. We asked how this happened only to have the response of "I'm sorry there are no other rooms available" repeated. All six of us were in the lobby tired, frustrated and becoming angry, yet no one raised their voice, or was unkind. Then the desk clerk decided to step into a side room, and returned to ask us to give housekeeping a few minutes to check a room a few doors down from our room. Voila just like magic there was a non-smoking room available in the location we requested. Why were we lied to and upset when the reserved room was indeed available?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Bring your towels and sheets and blankets

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: The room was big
Cons: New help. Teaching them to understand how deal with customers. Getting more pillows,blankets, sheets,& Towels for requests.
Location: Walmart a few blocks away.
Rooms were not ready for check in until after 4:30pm. We booked a 1 bedroom suite and they tried to give us a smoking room with one king size bed. we had 6 in our party. They told us when we booked with Expedia that they don't get the room size we request. No blankets,sheets,or pillows for hideaway bed. No wash clothes in bathroom. they didn't have enough towels to give us extras. The staff was very stressed out and was yelling at customers who were trying to check in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by bigmac from cula vista, ca

Decent for price

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Considering prices in Alaska, rooms were spacious, clean. Breakfast was next to nothing, marginal at best. Couch in suite was small and uncomfortable if you sat on it for long....none the less it was a really decent place with price considered, would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK to spend Night

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Nothing exciting about hotel. Basics to spend night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. We value your opinion because it helps us to improve the service we offer our guests. Thank you again for your review. I hope you will choose staying with us again in the future.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Brad from North pole

The place smells

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
That hotel needs all remodeled it is disgusting and smells bad stained sheets it's like no one cleans it
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Brad - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I apologize for the cleanliness issues you encountered during your stay with us. This is unacceptable and we apologize for your experience. I will be meeting with our housekeeping staff to review our cleaning standards and procedures to ensure your experience is not repeated. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better stay in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Runninggirl14 from Tucson

Least caring staff I have ever encountered

Posted Jun 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was fairly nice until the humidity in the air brought out the smell of pet urine in the carpet. When we arrived in Anchorage and called for our free shuttle ride to the hotel, we were told we would have to take a cab because the shuttle was in the shop. When we got to the hotel we were lied to and told that we would not be reimbursed for the cab ride because we did not book the shuttle 24 hours in advance. Their website doesn't say anywhere that you have to do this. The ride back to the airport was the same, we couldn't book our shuttle ride 24 hours in advance because it was still in the shop, but they also would not reimburse for the cab ride. They seemed extremely uncaring and casual about misrepresenting the shuttle ride. Between that and the smell of the room, we will not go back.