Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 20, 2014
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great location, hotel needs work

Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a fantastic location for anyone visiting Death Valley Natl. Park. Beatty is a quaint little town with surprisingly good local food options (Mel's diner and KC's outpost are both great!). The Atomic Inn, however, is sadly much worse than it was three years ago, when we stayed there last. Previously, it was bare-bones -- But the rooms used to be clean and services were reasonable. Now, rooms had spotty, stained sheets (with no alternatives available) and non-existent "free" wireless internet. Rooms aren't cleaned unless you provide the front desk a list of what services you would like in advance. We asked for clean towels and were asked to return used ones to the front desk first. Overall, rooms were dilapidated -- broken curtain rods, poor ventilation, ancient TVs. This was our second time staying at this hotel, but will not return given poor state of the place on this visit.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Linda B. from Bishop, CA.

"Spartan" amenities!

Posted Nov 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
We ALWAYS travel with the expectation that not everything is included, but this place didn't include a clock, landline phone, an extra blanket or pillow. There were only about 12 TV channels, only two bath towels that were pretty threadbare; no bar soap, etc., - only a soap dispenser in the shower The microwave and refrigerator that were advertised in the hotel description didn't work; I travel with insulin and that was a big reason why I settled on this motel, so that was not a good thing. When I tried to find a phone book in the room to check names of other motels/hotels in the immediate area, there was none to be found, I had to eventually call Hotels.com because we had reservations for the same motel on our return trip home; the agent helped me with the cancellation and we were able to secure a room with another hotel in the area...
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Gail from Nevada

Avoid altogether, or request an upgraded room

Posted Oct 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
After reading the promises on the website, I was looking forward to staying here. I had qualms when I drove up to the 'lobby'....I was handed a single key (no keychain or tag!) and when I opened the door to my room I was hit by the stench and heat. If this is a non-smoking facility, it still whole-heartedly retains the former odor, as well as pet smell. This room was SO seedy, I was shocked they would rent it out. There was no screen on the window so I didn't even see if I could have opened the window for ventilation. The chairs were filthy, the doorpost in the bathroom had been shredded from a very tall dog, the bedspread was so tattered and dingy, I pulled it off and left it on the floor. I had to decide which side of the window I didn't mind allowing someone to peek in if they had a mind to, since the drapes didn't cover the entire window. To their credit, the sheets were clean as well as the microwave, sink and toilet. The property was nice and quiet and I felt safe. The landscaping was very nice and the idea behind resurrecting former defense housing is great and could be a real drawing card if they would rent out only upgraded rooms and upgrade the rest as they were able. This room is in serious need of a paint job to mask the smoke saturation, and please change out the stuff that you know needs it! If I hadn't prepaid this stay, I would have gone back to the office to get a refund, and kept driving. Should have looked at the reviews on TripAdvisor before I purchased.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bill from Monroe,GA

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel, clean and quite at night. We used to go visit Death Valley which was very convenient.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Snoopy from Liz Lake Manitoba

Not bad if you don't mind a 3:30 pm check in!

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Everything was fine until I arrived at 2 pm only to find the reception closed till 3:30 pm!!! The room and amenities were all okay/ The internet connection was bad but look where you are!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ron from Fort Worth Texas

A place to stay

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was an interesting motel. It was off the main road. When I arrived I was given the key and told where the room was. The motel complex looked more like military barracks than a motel the way it was laid out. On the side I was told to park there were no lights and no other cars. It was kind of spooky. We went to the room and lucky for us, the heater was not working so we were given another room at the front of the motel that made me feel much better. It was an old complex and a few things didn't work, but the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I asked the clerk why there were so few cars and she said only a few rooms were rented. Finally, there was no continental breakfast.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by nomalek from Beatty

Never again

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Would not stay here. 1 inch gap under the door, I was afraid an animal would crawl under the door as it opened to outside/ not a hall. No breakfast, just a key drop off if you planned on leaving before 8, not sure I would have eaten anyway. said flat screen tv,,,,,,not in our room little 19inch old school tv. Never again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay in Beatty

Posted Oct 12, 2013
Nice experience. Got a free upgrade on check in and had a nice room. Not the Ritz but didn't expect it. Lovely bit I f history!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Quaint, no frills

Posted Oct 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room was quiet, clean, very dated, bathroom space small, no counter space. Manager was pleasant. A little too rustic for us.