Ratings based on 359 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Attractive country house fronting the Thames

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Location for Windsor races excellent (5 min taxi, 20 min walk). Always a good welcome. Great facilities - golf, tennis, leisure club
Cons: Redecoration is under way and will just help make it feel a bit fresher
Location: Windsor castle and tourist etc., Windsor races, Burnham Beeches woods, rvier walks and boat trips
Under new ownership, the hotel is currently (July 2014) undergoing some redecoration work to freshen up the look (carpets and painting). The staff are very attentive (concierge team very welcoming) and rooms are comfortable and spacious. Drinks outside were good - lights in the trees and overlooking the river. Breakfast buffet was good and food was kept nice and hot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful hotel, great character

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Location: Windsor is three miles away and so this is a quiet retreat but well out of the action or the town.
Great staff and rooms. Wonderful charm in a beautiful setting. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The hotel itself is a little tired and was not worth the expense that this type of premiere property should provide.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice romantic hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Location and the building itself
Cons: Air condition, bathroom toilet flush, shuttle to the airport and/or to nearest railway station or tube is highly necessary
Nice location directly on riverside, wunderful parc and terrace
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

Is there a better place to stay in/around London?

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Dinner on the lawn with the Sax player
Cons: refurb the bathrooms and replace the shower curtain with a glass screen (do hotels still use curtains???)
Stunning building and with grounds that I have not seen better. The location is first class, with moorings onto the Thames. I would come again just to experience the evening dinner on the lawn at the side of the river, whilst been serenaded by the talented saxophone player. A fitting end to a great day at Ascot. The room was ample (although the bathroom was showing signs of high traffic). We paid £315 for two nights (Thursday & Friday night), incl breakfast, for a superior double with river view and after the experience of the hotel I would have been happy paying at least another £100.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California Coast

Charming

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Grounds, setting, things to do (picnic on the river, bicycles to use), free wi-fi.
Cons: Air conditioning system probably needs to be replaced.
Location: Windsor Castle; Heathrow airport - and was so much better to stay here the evening before our flight instead of the ugly hotel airports!
Charming hotel right on the Thames. Bed was so comfortable, I slept like a baby. The evening was magical, walking around the beautiful grounds, along the river. Reviews are correct about the rooms being too hot - we were in the west wing and it was too warm for my husband. Hint: leave a room key (from ANY hotel - not necessarily your room in this hotel) in the A/C activation unit to cool your room before you return, that would probably help. Also: don't shower/bathe with the door open to the room; this led to the room being too hot as well. The charm of the hotel the comfort of the bed made up for the room being a little too warm, at least for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

High light of our hotel and guest house stays

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Spectacular in every way. Victorian gothic at its best! The sense of arrival exceeded our expectations and our guest room was outstanding. We enjoyed drinks in the garden patio and dinner in the dining room. A game of billiards and a romantic night cap. Great finish to our trip and only 20 minutes to Heathrow. We understand the hotel has recently been sold to a passionate owner so expect more pleasant surprises as they focus even more on the original design.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could be great but needs attention

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: The staff and the location
Cons: Everything! This is a hotel that so needs bringing into the 20th century, let alone the 21st! A refurb is a must!
Fabulous location and excellent staff. Shame there's not been investment in the rooms - they are like waling into a time warp - very dated and have uncomfortably soft beds with lumpy pillows. The shower was a dribble and furnishings needed a clean (as well as a visit from an interior designer). Everything about this hotel is dated. Someone from here needs to go to London to see the Soho Hotel and equivalent to see how things can be done. I would happily pay more for better in this prime location. As is, I felt disappointed. A 5 out of 10 is all I would give this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location, nice Hotel!

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Location, close enough to Windsor but far enough away.
Cons: Speed of service. Lots of staff but not effective
Location: Four miles out from Windsor. Taxi about £10 into town.
Stayed at hotel night before/ after collecting my wife up from Heathrow. Nice hotel, staff were friendly but service was very slow even when not busy. Price was ok when compaired with local hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from Cardiff Wales

Lovely hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing comes to mind
Location: Perfect to explore Windsor and surrounding areas
lovely hotel stayed for New year atmosphere was very good and staff were excellent Grounds perfect Would return hopefully during summer to enjoy the surroundings more
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gail from Cumbria

Difficult to find fault

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Lovely time, well pampered. Staff very keen to make your stay enjoy able and lovely surrounding s.