Ratings based on 347 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lizzie from uk

Beautiful location

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Very helpful and friendly staff location is beautiful hotel is stunning. Could do with a spa and treatments room for wet and windy days!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lizzie from uk

Beautiful location

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Very helpful and friendly staff location is beautiful hotel is stunning. Could do with a spa and treatments room for wet and windy days!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent place to stay in Windsor

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Stayed in a family room which was comfortable and clean. Kids loved the complementary basket of fruits.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from Sheffield

Attractive hotel with classic style on the river

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: The service is good. The style of the hotel is classic and indulgent - love the wood panelling of the bar. Great leisure facilities here too
Cons: Keep the breakfast warmer and maybe add sky sports to room TV
Location: Close to Windsor for tourists, and very short distance to racecourse
It was my first return to Oakley under its new ownership and I was pleased to see the character and service levels had been maintained. I was upgraded to a very attractive room on the second floor, with windows to two sides and excellent views. The bedroom and bathroom were both very clean and well presented. I settled for room service, which arrived promptly and did not disappoint. My only slight complaint is on the breakfast. The hot buffet selection of foods were nice and well cooked but let down by not being hot enough (just needs the plates to be kept warm, or a bit of heat to keep the buffet more lively). I am sure they will get this fixed and look forward to returning there soon.
2 out of 5
by Vikki from Oxford

Not what we expected

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pros: The room was spacious and clean.
Cons: The staff on reception could be more helpful, food needs significant improvement and waiters need to be re-trained. Web despription should be accurate
Location: Grounds weren't what we were expecting, a lot of ugly buildings including the accomodation block we stayed in. Windsor Castle nice though
I booked one night away as a surprise for my boyfriend’s birthday. On arrival we were given our room key and told that we were staying in another building across the car park (not in the manor house, but an annex not advertised on website). There was no offer of any assistance with bags etc. It was raining so we dashed across the car park and discovered that our key didn't work to access the building. I had to run back, queue again and wait whilst staff tried to upgrade the key. Both of us ended up drenched. I was informed the concierge was too busy to assist. When we did finally get into the building there was an arrow showing us that we now had to go through a fire exit (outside in the rain again) and then back into the building through another fire exit. Not a very good lay out. We had a superior double room with no views at all. The shower was complicated to use and we spent 10 minutes trying to turn it off! I had booked the restaurant for our evening meal, both of us were looking forward to this and were expecting the restaurant to be in keeping with the manor house. Instead there was no atmosphere at all. There were no pictures on the walls and ugly air vents. Every table had a candle on it, no-one lit ours so we had to ask. The starters and desserts were not very good and I heard another patron complaining too. The waiters were mixing up food orders throughout and didn't know which course we were on. Not a 4 star experience. No-one even asked how our stay was.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by sharon.o from kingston

Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a shame we went on New Years eve as the restaurant was closed. We had to drive out to Windsor to get our dinner which was a shame.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Heidi from California

Nice hotel near Windsor

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: Location was excellent if you don't mind being outside the city center. We enjoyed being able to walk along the river and get out of the crowds.
We loved the quiet, country location right along the river. We had a car so were able to easily get to/from Windsor and surrounding attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2014
This hotel is fantastic and the staff has been very nice to us. Our was a short stay and we did not have the chance to use the swimming pool but the room was perfect and the staff very nice to us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Family Visit from South Coast

Family Stay

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
What a lovely building and fantastic history! Perhaps I missed it in the description but the family room was in a newer wing - separate to the house. A very large but sparse room - hinges were loose on the three wardrobe doors and there was a crack in the basin - both obvious and must be a decision as opposed to an oversight or accident - neither big issues, but undermines 4* status and premium price - service was mixed! We had lunch there and one waitress told us we could only eat where we were seating - and another offered us anywhere we liked! In the evening I got a lecture for not having the cardboard wallet that the key cards came in and was asked for ID for a round of drinks - again no big deal - but not as welcoming and warm as I would have hoped. Building just outstanding - perhaps we caught them slightly on an off day?
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Scalco from Crawley

Great hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
There was a small problem just before our stay, we had a phone call informing us that the restaurant was close, this call was two weeks before our stay on New Year's Eve, we felt disappointed as we made our reservation in October. After some complaining we were upgraded to junior sweets and a taxi to and from a restaurant in Windsor. Whe we got to the hotel thy could not do enough for us and the room was top quality we all enjoyed the hotel very much.