Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Baltimore

Scenic, on the lake and indoors

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: Carlisle for First Night, hike the AT, feed the wildfowl and antiquing.
Comfortable home, caring host and good location to see the area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wilson, pa

bed & breakfast good time

Posted Nov 3, 2014
we stayed one night for a little mini getaway. The owner assisted us in making reservations at the local tavern. The breakfast was amazing and delicious. Our room was nice sized and the bathroom was very nice and large. We enjoyed our stay thoroughly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jim and Kathy Martinfrom Greenwood Lake, NY

Very enjoyable stay!

Posted Jul 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our friends from down south were showing their car in the 2014 Mopar show in Carlisle. I was a little late in booking a hotel, but found this B&B and despite mixed reviews, decided to book. I'm not much into Victorian style homes, but thought my wife Kathy would like it. This house was built around 1870. To my surprise, we had a wonderful experience. Our room "The Victorian" was very nice, with a comfortable bed, good size bath, quality linen and AC was fine. I loved all the antiques, the rear courtyard garden was great for an afternoon drink in the shade, as was the front porch. Kitty our host was wonderful - well traveled and very knowledgeable. I enjoyed her company and hospitality. While we were at the show, we called Gelinas and asked if they could try to make dinner reservations for us at the Boiling Springs Tavern, which they did. That place is only a minute's walk from Gelinas, and the food was fantastic. Boiling Springs is a picturesque and wonderful historic town, and much nicer to stay there than in a hotel on some busy highway or city. We also became friends with another couple staying at Gelinas who were also showing their car at the show. They said this was their third stay at Gelinas and loved it. We told them we would see them again at the 2015 show. Take any of the bad reviews you've read with a grain of salt- some folks just cant be pleased no matter what. All in all, a very relaxing and wonderful stay at Gelinas! Jim & Kathy Martin
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty neighborhood.

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: The neighborhood is pretty. There is a nice collection of books in the master bedroom. Everything was meticulously clean.
Cons: They need hot water!! And locks on the doors! And an indoor coffee maker.
Location: There are several colleges nearby.
We stayed for one night. This B&B is over-the -top decorated with many china statues, dolls, and Victorian themed items. The bedroom door could not be locked when we went out. There was an inside latch, but not sure if it really worked. We had to leave before the promised, "gourmet breakfast", and our hostess did not offer to make us anything earlier. There was a table outside with a Keurig coffee maker, but no coffee. The shower was lukewarm at best. I would not recommend this for a visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Takashi Akamafrom Brazil

Fantastic breakfast!!!

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The owners are very friendly. The breakfast made by the madamm owner was fantastic. To stay in Victorian house and taste the delicious breakfast was increadible experience. Thanks for all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by A verified travelerfrom Nutley, NJ

Pleasant Night at the B & B

Posted Jul 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was good. The house was very victorian in character. The room decorated to period decor. The bed was comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious. The only negative & this is just a matter of opinion: there really wasn't any place to store the luggage. Otherwise, a very nice place to visit. Thank you for the experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jeff

Close to Carlisle

Posted Oct 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very convenient to Carlisle for car show. Very clean and friendly. Good ambiance. Would have liked option for at least coffee and cold cereals before 8:30, which was appointed breakfast time. Those hiking Applac trail or going to Carlisle will probably be long gone without being able to have the prepared breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Mike and Paté Helferd

Nice, Comfortable, Peaceful

Posted Sep 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
My wife and I spent a pleasant night at this B&B. Excellent breakfast, individually prepared. We stayed in the Victoria room, which is very crowded with bric-a-brac. There is very limited storage. We packed an overnight bag, fortunately, and left our luggage in the car - there would otherwise have been no place to put suitcases. Kitty, our hostess, was very nice and accurate with her recommendation on a local restaurant and her discussion of local history. We quite enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tara

Posted Aug 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
A beautiful home in a charming neighborhhod
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DLfrom DC

Mrs. G's delightful B&B

Posted Jul 10, 2012
Pros: breakfast served in the back garden
Location: small town feel, next to spring fed waters and part of the Appalachian Trail.
Mrs. G. is delightful, especially when she has a moment to stop and chat with her guests. She cooks up a great breakfast, and the rooms are immaculate.