Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Efficient

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: I like being away from the hustle and bustle. Has parking.
Cons: Nothing, really. It is what it is.
Long walk, but still walking distance from Harvard. Tiny rooms, but enough. A bit noisy - mainly from the street. Seemed newly painted, and it was clean. Nice patio between the buildings. Grocery store across the street.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Basic comforts, good atmosphere

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Location, comfort of the room, breakfast area
Cons: The musky smell might be a result of retained humidity or the carpet might need to be changed. Also, maybe fix that blow dryer.
Location: Davis Square has many places to eat and drink. There are buskers who play in the square and it's a wonderful scene.
I was attending a conference in downtown Boston and I stayed at this B&B because of the proximity to the T and the price. So please understand that I wasn't expecting a full country B&B experience, just comfortable accommodations and maybe helpful staff. I was definitely satisfied based on these expectations. My (contemporary) room was a reasonable size and the bathroom was nice (with a working vent) and very clean. There was no coffee maker but this was provided at all times in the main breakfast area. The blow dryer didn't work which was pretty inconvenient but I forgot to mention this at the desk. The shower and the air conditioner were great. The room smelled rather musky but with the air conditioner running, I quickly got used to it. The first night, there was a sizable gathering just outside my room (there's a picnic area or something on the property) but the noise was drowned out by the air conditioner. The bed was very comfortable -- good pillows and mattress. The woman at the front desk when I first arrived was super helpful, sweet and welcoming. Later on in the day when I checked in, the man at the front desk helped me get my heavy bag to my room and was also very polite. Breakfast is as other people have mentioned, fairly sparse but satisfying. What I really liked was the ambiance in the sitting area -- they play old jazz very quietly and it makes for a great mood. What was weird was that they were unable to provide me with a receipt of payment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

First time in Boston

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Close to all amenities and cozy experience.
Cons: Having a wider variety for breakfast and covers for the breads and pastries.
Location: Close to transit system and 7 eleven
Walking distance to the red line on the T which makes it very easy to get into Boston. Staff were always very helpful especially when we arrived a few hours before check in with hopes that our room was ready as we were tired from our 8 hour drive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

perfect way to celebrate a 10 year anniversary!

Posted Jul 27, 2014
My husband and I stayed at this B &B for three nights. Our room was beautiful. Staff was helpful. Breakfast was good......no hot options, but was good enough! They always had ice cold water and coffee available, which was wonderful after spending hours touring Boston! Good location. Many resturants nearby, our favorite being The Elephant Walk. SOOO good! We would def stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Considerate and thoughtful management

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: We received wonderful, personalized service.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very close to Harvard Square and the T for easy travel into Boston.
We checked into A Cambridge House Inn on a Sunday and intended to stay 4 nights. However, my husband became ill and we left the next morning. It was so early we just left our key on a table in the lobby and asked the breakfast staff to pass on the information. Although the reservation stated non-refundable, once we arrived home and my husband was feeling better I contacted Expedia about the possibility of getting some type of credit. Expedia immediately contacted the inn and spoke to Victor, who had been so kind and gracious to us, and a refund was immediately issued. When I called the inn to say thanks, Victor replied that it was the right thing to do. We are grateful that in an era when many of us complain of substandard service, this gem of an inn exists. We will definitely be back in the future and we also thank Expedia for their assistance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by C. Baldwin from San Diego, Ca.

Great host

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Andrea, our host at the inn, was helpful and very knowledgable about things to do and gave us restaurant recommendations in Cambridge and Boston. The accommodations were charming and the room was clean. This is not a traditional B & B with a full breakfast so we ended up going to a restaurant down the street. Overall it was a great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Y. Daniels

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by joann francisconi from new london, ct

no complaints (at all)

Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room, price, staff and location were just what we wanted. I'd like to complain about something, but I can't think of anything. Very cool bed with a canopy. Much better continental breakfast than we usually get.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sunny from Nantucket, MA

Great location near Porter Square and Davis Square

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, cleanliness, comfy bed, hot water in the shower, coffee in the am
Cons: I liked it just the way it was
Location: About a 5 minute walk from both Davis Square and Porter Square, with everything this area has to offer
I loved staying here during a business trip to Cambridge. The location was perfect for me, and the guest house is adorable. I was given the Victorian Room on the first floor in the back. Very comfortable canopy bed and a working gas fireplace. The room was spotless. Great for one person, possibly two; quite small and very cozy. Left too early in the morning to enjoy the continental breakfast, but was given a cup of hot coffee as I went out the door. Great staff with personality. I would absolutely stay there again (in fact I did not want to leave)!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by desigirl from New York

Too pricey!

Posted Apr 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The bed was very uncomfortable. We both ended up with back problems. The bathroom was good. Definitely not worth the price.