Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Considerate and thoughtful management

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: We received wonderful, personalized service.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very close to Harvard Square and the T for easy travel into Boston.
We checked into A Cambridge House Inn on a Sunday and intended to stay 4 nights. However, my husband became ill and we left the next morning. It was so early we just left our key on a table in the lobby and asked the breakfast staff to pass on the information. Although the reservation stated non-refundable, once we arrived home and my husband was feeling better I contacted Expedia about the possibility of getting some type of credit. Expedia immediately contacted the inn and spoke to Victor, who had been so kind and gracious to us, and a refund was immediately issued. When I called the inn to say thanks, Victor replied that it was the right thing to do. We are grateful that in an era when many of us complain of substandard service, this gem of an inn exists. We will definitely be back in the future and we also thank Expedia for their assistance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sunny from Nantucket, MA

Great location near Porter Square and Davis Square

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, cleanliness, comfy bed, hot water in the shower, coffee in the am
Cons: I liked it just the way it was
Location: About a 5 minute walk from both Davis Square and Porter Square, with everything this area has to offer
I loved staying here during a business trip to Cambridge. The location was perfect for me, and the guest house is adorable. I was given the Victorian Room on the first floor in the back. Very comfortable canopy bed and a working gas fireplace. The room was spotless. Great for one person, possibly two; quite small and very cozy. Left too early in the morning to enjoy the continental breakfast, but was given a cup of hot coffee as I went out the door. Great staff with personality. I would absolutely stay there again (in fact I did not want to leave)!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely B & B

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: Clean, walking distance to our children in Somerville.
Location: Museums at Harvard especially the Natural History Museum.
Walking distance to Porter Square and to Harvard. Free parking. Breakfast buffet includes bagels, cereals, oatmeal, danish and hard boiled eggs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 11, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, MA

Lovely place

Posted Oct 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
I booked a Victorian room for my parents--mom "felt like a princess" when she woke up. The annex rooms are nice (brother stayed there), but def. not as nice as the main house. For a few bucks more I'd recommend upgrading to the main house.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Cambridge inn 3 night stay

Posted Oct 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall good location - busy street but rooms we had sufficiently quiet, reasonable value, ok continental breakfast, interesting rooms but dark, ok upkeep, not a b&b experience but rather a small hotel. Staff business like rather than friendly/welcoming
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by KCM from NC

Good location

Posted Sep 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Staff and location was great! Hotel room and bathroom was very clean. Only complaint was the quality of bed - it was not comfortable at all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anon from gulf coast

Nice bed and breakfast close to Harvard University

Posted Aug 3, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness of floor and shower
Location: Harvard University/Harvard Square
The inn is located less than two miles from Harvard Square. The neighborhood was nice and the train station was under half a mile away--easy walking distance. The room was nice, but needed some attention overall. The window coverings and bed skirt/bonnet had yellowed with age and had a musty smell. The bedding itself was soft and clean. The carpet had not been vacuumed and dirt and rocks could be felt underfoot when we walked over it barefooted. The shower had mildew around the edges, but the room was clean otherwise. Our stay was pleasant and quiet. The breakfast was nice and the coffee was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Matt from Washington, DC

Well kept & accommodating

Posted Jul 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
The place certainly has a B&B feel, as it is very much New England Colonial style. No issues with my one night stay. Staff found a place for my bag after I checked out so I could walk around Boston until my flight later in the day.