Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, reasonably priced room with breakfast.

Posted Oct 21, 2014
It is located on a busy street so I suggest requesting a room that is set back from street noise.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Mattresses and more typical B&B breakfast.
Rooms okay - Third floor room nicer than second floor room in Contemporary house. Stayed there two different times in 10 days. Mattresses much too soft. Expected B&B type breakfast, with omelets, etc. Breakfasts all were the same and were continental at best. A real disappointment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to subway

Posted Aug 27, 2014
only 8 mins walk from subway, pretty rooms, quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Efficient

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: I like being away from the hustle and bustle. Has parking.
Cons: Nothing, really. It is what it is.
Long walk, but still walking distance from Harvard. Tiny rooms, but enough. A bit noisy - mainly from the street. Seemed newly painted, and it was clean. Nice patio between the buildings. Grocery store across the street.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Basic comforts, good atmosphere

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Location, comfort of the room, breakfast area
Cons: The musky smell might be a result of retained humidity or the carpet might need to be changed. Also, maybe fix that blow dryer.
Location: Davis Square has many places to eat and drink. There are buskers who play in the square and it's a wonderful scene.
I was attending a conference in downtown Boston and I stayed at this B&B because of the proximity to the T and the price. So please understand that I wasn't expecting a full country B&B experience, just comfortable accommodations and maybe helpful staff. I was definitely satisfied based on these expectations. My (contemporary) room was a reasonable size and the bathroom was nice (with a working vent) and very clean. There was no coffee maker but this was provided at all times in the main breakfast area. The blow dryer didn't work which was pretty inconvenient but I forgot to mention this at the desk. The shower and the air conditioner were great. The room smelled rather musky but with the air conditioner running, I quickly got used to it. The first night, there was a sizable gathering just outside my room (there's a picnic area or something on the property) but the noise was drowned out by the air conditioner. The bed was very comfortable -- good pillows and mattress. The woman at the front desk when I first arrived was super helpful, sweet and welcoming. Later on in the day when I checked in, the man at the front desk helped me get my heavy bag to my room and was also very polite. Breakfast is as other people have mentioned, fairly sparse but satisfying. What I really liked was the ambiance in the sitting area -- they play old jazz very quietly and it makes for a great mood. What was weird was that they were unable to provide me with a receipt of payment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

First time in Boston

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Close to all amenities and cozy experience.
Cons: Having a wider variety for breakfast and covers for the breads and pastries.
Location: Close to transit system and 7 eleven
Walking distance to the red line on the T which makes it very easy to get into Boston. Staff were always very helpful especially when we arrived a few hours before check in with hopes that our room was ready as we were tired from our 8 hour drive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

perfect way to celebrate a 10 year anniversary!

Posted Jul 27, 2014
My husband and I stayed at this B &B for three nights. Our room was beautiful. Staff was helpful. Breakfast was good......no hot options, but was good enough! They always had ice cold water and coffee available, which was wonderful after spending hours touring Boston! Good location. Many resturants nearby, our favorite being The Elephant Walk. SOOO good! We would def stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tony from Lewes, UK

Great experience

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Warm welcome although we arrived prior to check-in time. Lounge where we could sit and chat with the friend we had arranged to meet, and coffee on tap. Clean, comfortable and up to date. Would definitely go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Considerate and thoughtful management

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: We received wonderful, personalized service.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very close to Harvard Square and the T for easy travel into Boston.
We checked into A Cambridge House Inn on a Sunday and intended to stay 4 nights. However, my husband became ill and we left the next morning. It was so early we just left our key on a table in the lobby and asked the breakfast staff to pass on the information. Although the reservation stated non-refundable, once we arrived home and my husband was feeling better I contacted Expedia about the possibility of getting some type of credit. Expedia immediately contacted the inn and spoke to Victor, who had been so kind and gracious to us, and a refund was immediately issued. When I called the inn to say thanks, Victor replied that it was the right thing to do. We are grateful that in an era when many of us complain of substandard service, this gem of an inn exists. We will definitely be back in the future and we also thank Expedia for their assistance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Nina daratsos from Schenectady New York

Nice room great continental breakfast

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
We liked the facility however would have liked to stay in the main building. We were in the property next door. Our room was very small and would have liked more room to relax. It was raining quite a bit so to go to the main building for tea or coffee and breakfast we had to go outside. Overall it is a good place. It is about a 10 minute walk to porter square station; a 1 mile walk to Harvard square. It is clean and there is parking a huge bonus for this area. You also can find lots of good restaurants at all price points within walking distance. I would stay again but would request the main building and a larger room