Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mays Landing, NJ

It looked good on paper... Looks can be deceiving.

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: The room was spacious; I've never had a hotel room with a walk-in closet. The hotel is a historic landmark, which was a neat touch.
Cons: Update the rooms or at least repair the very visible damage. Show this piece of history some love. Add hot items to the breakfast! Customer service!
Location: The hotel is in the financial district, making it a short 20 minute walk to almost any attraction in Boston. Lots of history and good food to be had.
The folks at the front desk, including the concierge, acted as if they didn't care about us while the valet and the bellhop seemed to be genuinely happy to speak with us. The concierge became dismissive and disengaged when we asked for inexpensive places to eat, naming Panera as the only cheap place around. We eventually we gave up and found a place on our own. The amenities were depressing. While the WiFi was faster than any other hotel I've ever been in, you stood little to no chance of making use of it. The signal was strong but the connection was unstable to the point of uselessness. I have had better breakfasts at a Holiday Inn. For what we paid per night, I would have expected something more substantial than stale pastries and cold cereal. The lobby was beautiful, though under construction on two sides. The room was impressive at first but the longer we were in it, the more we noticed how worn down things were. The ceiling had water stains, the air conditioner unit was dented and beaten out of shape and the heater consisted of an old radiator circa 1920. We had our doubts about the housekeeping when the shower still had someone else's soap on the shelf. Parking was expensive and there is an added fee if you don't move your car before check-out, effectively charging you twice for the same day's parking. There's a parking garage, which we didn't find out until after we checked out.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great Location, mediocre accomodations

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Location, location location, excellent, close to Boston Garden and Boston Commons. Easy access to eating and shopping all walking distance from hotel.
Cons: Better Housekeeping, Better access and pricing for PARKING!!!
Location: Plenty to do nearby and easy access to all activities on foot. Maggiano's Restaurant was our favorite good price and excellent food quality& service!!
Room was not cleaned well prior to our check-in. Coffee grounds all over the desk and around the coffee maker, dust on all surfaces, someones old key card was on the floor next to the bed, so I am sure the rug wasn't vacuumed. Bathroom was not very clean either. Room was very small compared to write up, top of small dresser inside the closet was covered in dust and dirt. Bedding appeared clean, however, and air conditioning worked well. Our biggest complaint would have to be the NOISE both guest noise and construction noise outside. Jack-hammers at 7am on the weekend and all day construction noise. 3 days of sleepless nights, couldn't wait to get home to our own bed. Concierge staff was not very friendly, but every other person was otherwise pleasant and helpful. NO PARKING ....Valet Parking was 48.00/ night OUTRAGEOUS. I will know better next time not to book unless parking is available and affordable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nick from maine

Good location. Newbury st shopping

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Good continental breakfast. Lack of plugs for chargers. Not good views. Good bed and bath. Would choose other hotels for same money
2 out of 5
by Silverfox from UK

Pretty Average Hotel, trading on it's history

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Location was great for wandering around in the morning and seeing Boston's parks and surrounding area
Cons: Clean and renovate it
We only stayed here one night when we arrived in Boston before moving on to Cape Cod. Overall for the money it was pretty average. Very small room, even on the Tower Level. Very average breakfast. This place makes London look like good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Acton, MA

Nice hotel close to the theater district

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: As I said earlier the bathroom was dissapointing
Location: Downtown Boston. next to the theater district and some very nice restaurants
Only complaint was that the bathroom was tiny and cramped
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good choice

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: It's location
Cons: Continental breakfast selection and quantity Overall cleanliness of room Communication when fire alarms go off!
Location: Boston Common and the Freedom Trail Selection of hop on hop off tour trolleys stop close to the hotel Excellent restaurants - especially Maggiano's
Ideal position, a stones throw from the common and the theatre district and some fantastic places to eat. Three slight moans 1. Room was good size for the price but although generally clean, there did appear to be about a week's worth of dust sitting on the television table. 2. We were on the 15th floor which included the complimentary continental breakfast, unfortunately this was limited in choice and selections not replenished towards the end of the breakfast time so later guests had little left to choose from. 3. The fire alarm went off at about 2.30 in the morning, guest evacuated as far as the mezzanine and lobby areas. There was a lack of communication from hotel staff - who were not distinguishable from guests as there were no high-vis jackets or arm bands as we would expect in the UK. The tannoy announcement to return to rooms was inaudible, guest just followed each other. To add to that, less than five minutes after getting back to the room, the alarm went off again and we evacuated for the second time..........and again there was no assistance, audible communication or explanation from hotel staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mature couple from London, UK

Excellent location

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Very positive experience. Particularly enjoyed complimentary hors d'oerves on 15th floor. All staff very friendly and efficient. Room spacious and well equipped. Will return next year!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Older Hotel Good Location

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Very Comfortable Easy. GooD Deal On The Towers Level. TheBuilding Is Showing Its Age But Still In Goods Shape. Clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware of how they charge you.........

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Cons: Make customers actually aware of how you are charging them!!!!!!!
So disappointing. Upon check-in I told the woman at the desk that I wanted to pay cash. She told me to wait until check out. She took my credit card for "incidentals," which I understood, of course. The next day I went to use my card and could not because the hotel took out the full amount of the rooms PLUS an extra $100 for "incidentals." The front desk was less than helpful and just said the person who checked me in should have alerted me to this, which they certainly did not. My check-in lasted all of 2 minutes. The manager wouldn't even come out to speak with me and instead sent out a trainee to tell me there was nothing they could do but that I would have to wait up to 7 days to at least get the $100 back. So incredibly inconvenient, so incredibly disappointing. I wouldn't stay here again. The walls in the rooms are like paper. Expect to hear conversations through the doors or worse!
2 out of 5
by Judy from Nova Scotia

A tired legend........

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Pros: Pretty good location.
Cons: Room decor and furniture
Needed to stay close to Tufts and not much available as many events going on downtown. Stayed in the Tower on the concierge level, touted to be an upgrade. Room furniture beaten up, not at all what was pictured on the Expedia site. No fridge, no mini bar, and missing phone book, room service menu and phone numbers on phone incorrect for hotel services. Overpriced for what you received.