Ratings based on 425 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom c

Not too happy with the smell and the bed

Posted Apr 13, 2015
I was not pleased with the cleanliness of the room
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new york

bad

Posted Apr 12, 2015
it was a poor experience to live in here. The facilities are old, the room are not looking good, and the lobby was full of hemp smell... Please dont ever try!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Knoxville, Tn

Minimal decor

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Location and for the location, plenty of parking. Could use a tad more insulation to muffle Elevated Railroad noise.
Cons: Just a General Sprucing Up. Structurally, I couldn't see how to make access from one lever or even both end of hotel easier.
Location: Five Walkable blocks from The Bronx Zoo and Botanical Gardens. Easy walk to the New York City Subway.
The king sized bed had a skimpy, minimal, inadequate comforter. With the sheets, together provided a short sheeted night's covering. Each night had the bedding wadded on the bed as we could barely cover ourselves. For Two days their Ice Machine was inoperable. Snack vendor completely empty. Staff was nice but they have to work with what they were provided.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CNY

You get what you pay for.

Posted Apr 8, 2015
The shower had no hot water. We stood in shower and used a wash cloth to bath with the Luke warm water from the sink. It was a non smoking room that was a smoking room at some point. We needed to change the lines the first night b/c there was pubic hair found when sheets were pulled back. It wasn't vacuumed. The 2nd night, yes we stayed 2!, the key wouldn't work. We had to wait 25-30min to have key reset. The guy couldn't muliti task. Positives.... Breakfast was fine and it was very close the subway to make it easy to get to mid-town.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, Florida

I recommend another hotel!

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: The carpet, the beds, cleanliness, and the staff needs to be more professional!
Location: This was fine. Subway accessible!
The place is not clean! My belongings were removed from my room because they cleared out the wrong room. No apologies whatsoever! Also, they are simply rude! I cannot believe that this is a Howard Johnson facility! I've already emailed corporate and I never write reviews. This was just an appalling experience.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Place was OK, but charged more than the quality of the room warranted.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is located underneath multiple subway lines

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: I really didn't like the hotel at all ...you get what you pay for.
Cons: Everything
It's incredibly noisy in the rooms - for what seems like all night long. It's impossible to get a cab to stop here. It's the same almost everywhere in the Bronx.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom north Carolina

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Hotel was dirty have stayed there before just because of location.But room was nasty smoking room smelled of smoke ashes in the drawers and in bathroom behind the door.Asked to have trash removed from room never happened.Most likely will never stay there again.So much worst then the last stay there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rensselaer, NY

Hotel stay

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Very spacious rooms.
Cons: Maybe larger TV would accommodate the room. Filling vending machines with food/snacks could help.
Location: Plenty of department stores around the area.
Good experience at Howard Johnson, but was a bit disappointed when trying to make some coffee and coffee maker was broken or not working correctly.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Yordanisfrom New Jersey

Please don't stay here.

Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Hotels.com
The hotel stinks