Ratings based on 322 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

great little hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: the cleanness
i stood at this hotel as a visit with my boyfriend for couple of days area is not the best but really close to trains and buses, staff people where very nice had no problem my whole stay. the room was clean tv working ac as well. if looking for last min place or week stay as i did this is a good place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Hotel in quiet area

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Room rates, closeness to the subway.
Cons: Make sure Wi-Fi is available.
Location: Bronx Zoo is nearby, subway is a few steps away.
This hotel is situated next to the elevated subway. If you get a room in the front of the hotel, you will hear the trains passing regularly. Bronx Zoo is around 10 minutes away on foot. The two train lines bring you to Times Square in around 40 minutes. The room itself was clean, with access to the Dish Network and hundreds of channels. I couldn't connect to the general Wi-Fi for 2 of my 3 nights there but I could connect to the lobby area Wi-Fi albeit with a weak signal. I would go back because of the room rates, but wouldn't because it's a bit far from Manhattan city center and Brooklyn, where I like to go.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manhattan

Facilities and parking lot security is poor.

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: There was nothing about this hotel that made me want to recommend it to others.
Cons: Parking lot security. Recorded surveillance is inexpensive and easily installed.
Location: Easy access to Fordham University and the Bronx Zoo.
When we arrived for check-in, we were concerned about the safety of the parking lot and asked if it was secure. We were assured that it was. The second morning, we found that our car had been vandalized and the rear door window broken out. The desk clerk was apathetic and of no assistance about the situation. Later, we found that three cars had been vandalized the previous week. We certainly would not have stayed there if we had known about the high instance of vandalisms. When I asked to see recording from the security cameras, I was informed that the video surveillance system is live and unrecorded. I wish I had paid more and stayed at a more secure motel. Definitely would not recommend this place; and I'm surprised that it meets the corporate standards of Howard Johnsons.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Comfortable and secure
Cons: Some hints on places to eat and drink outside of the immediate neighborhood which is pretty basic.
Location: A bit of a ghetto, but some cheap basic meals 5 mins walk away, but not much variety.
Cheap and friendly hotel, nothing special but was comfortable and secure. No Laundry but a laundromat up the road about 5 mins walk. Not a great area, but handy to La Guardia and Bronx area. There's a metro station 2 mins walk away. When hiring a cab at the hotel, the cabs that turn up aren't metered and quote you a high price. Either insist on a metered cab, or flag one down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My stay was alright

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Clean up your cockroaches
Location: Location is very, very bad.
The first night I went to take shower and there was a very large cockroach in the washroom almost 3 inches long. The is terrible for breakfast.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
PROS: The female who checked me in was the best part of the stay. She was friendly and addressed my concerns quickly. CONS: Television was broken. Phone was broken (cord coming out of phone) and I couldn't call the office to notify about the television. Television was fixed and hours later broke again. The telephone was never fixed. When I asked the male night employee if they would fix the phone, he asked, "Do you really need the phone at 2am?" That's not the point. The phone should've functioned properly regardless of the time of day. The iron had "burns" on it of some sort and left marks on my white shirt. Overall, I would never stay at this hotel again and would never recommend it to anyone.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Convenient Place in the Bronx

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: see above
Location: Bronx zoo and elevated station were very close.
the only negatives are the location (the elevated was just outside our window) and the lack of an elevator. The positives were a clean room, friendly service and an excellent breakfast room. The woman taking care of the breakfast was excellent in keeping all the food filled up.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by srmspirit from Charlotte, NC

Put the Ear Plugs on!

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Disappointing. I arrived 3 hrs before the 4pm check in. They charged me $10 per hour -- CASH ONLY! -- for the 'early' check in. the Internet was intermittent. HOWEVER, if you still want to book this place, BRING EAR PLUGS -- the Bronx Rail passes right over the roof of the hotel every 10 mins until midnight!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels.com