Ratings based on 454 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Reading, PA

Great bang for the buck (all things considered)

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Unfortunately you can't pick the Hotel up and move it to a quieter location and still offer such a competitive $ rate.
Location: One word...NY (the City).
I love the convenience of this location. The rooms are large, updated, clean and comfy. The breakfast buffet was really nice too. The only thing that holds this rating back is that the hotel is located beneath the elevated train/subway and also at a very busy intersection so you have the loud traffic and the rumble of the trains overhead. I didn't mind...just needed a bed and breakfast. Easily a 3.5 (all things considered).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2015
Ok. Loud. Positive note it is close to the subway.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Roome smell bad

Posted May 22, 2015
The room smell bad and moldy .you ask for non smoke room but all room is smoke room .the hotel is terrible location bad .my first night was in room close to subway the noise of train was terible .I feel unsafe .the good things is free parking available .free breakfast and affordable in compare with otjer hotel .I ask for another room then I get a room smel like urine .first room AC was bad .have no iron press and ask for it they bring it for mee .the second room the sink was clogged .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom FL

Decent hotel

Posted May 18, 2015
Room was clean, very comfortable. Worth the price. Girl at the front desk was very cute and made checking in and out very smooth
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Yaoundé Cameroon

old hotel close the metro station

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: fitness service and the metro station which is nearby
Cons: room service, cleansing and the breakfast
Location: shopping
very desapointed because of the old amenties all in and around the hotel. the front desk is smelling cigarette that is inconfortable for no smoking person like me. the room service is bad made. The moquette is very old and dirty
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom c

Not too happy with the smell and the bed

Posted Apr 13, 2015
I was not pleased with the cleanliness of the room
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new york

bad

Posted Apr 12, 2015
it was a poor experience to live in here. The facilities are old, the room are not looking good, and the lobby was full of hemp smell... Please dont ever try!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Knoxville, Tn

Minimal decor

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Location and for the location, plenty of parking. Could use a tad more insulation to muffle Elevated Railroad noise.
Cons: Just a General Sprucing Up. Structurally, I couldn't see how to make access from one lever or even both end of hotel easier.
Location: Five Walkable blocks from The Bronx Zoo and Botanical Gardens. Easy walk to the New York City Subway.
The king sized bed had a skimpy, minimal, inadequate comforter. With the sheets, together provided a short sheeted night's covering. Each night had the bedding wadded on the bed as we could barely cover ourselves. For Two days their Ice Machine was inoperable. Snack vendor completely empty. Staff was nice but they have to work with what they were provided.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CNY

You get what you pay for.

Posted Apr 8, 2015
The shower had no hot water. We stood in shower and used a wash cloth to bath with the Luke warm water from the sink. It was a non smoking room that was a smoking room at some point. We needed to change the lines the first night b/c there was pubic hair found when sheets were pulled back. It wasn't vacuumed. The 2nd night, yes we stayed 2!, the key wouldn't work. We had to wait 25-30min to have key reset. The guy couldn't muliti task. Positives.... Breakfast was fine and it was very close the subway to make it easy to get to mid-town.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, Florida

I recommend another hotel!

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: The carpet, the beds, cleanliness, and the staff needs to be more professional!
Location: This was fine. Subway accessible!
The place is not clean! My belongings were removed from my room because they cleared out the wrong room. No apologies whatsoever! Also, they are simply rude! I cannot believe that this is a Howard Johnson facility! I've already emailed corporate and I never write reviews. This was just an appalling experience.