Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom North Carolina

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: What we liked about this hotel was how clean the rooms were and that a buffet breakfast comes with your stay.
Location: There didn't seem to be to much to do in the area without driving a little distance.
My only complaints are when I tried to upgrade to an ocean front they said I couldn't. I know there were rooms available because there wasn't many people staying at the hotel the beginning of the week. We had to stay in a room across the street from the main hotel. Also, the rooms across the street have no elevator, you must walk up the stairs to get the your room if you are on the second floor. The main hotel does have an elevator. Last, there is very little to do in the area for the Winds hotel and very few places to eat. The staff is very friendly and willing to help in any way they can to make your stay enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Feels like a jungle with all the nice plants and trees.
Cons: Board walk needs cleaning.
Had a nice time by the pool and pool bar and the wide beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, Il

Average hotel excellent beach

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Cons beach is huge and not crowded, breakfast was excellent hot and fresh(except coffee, bad!) Tiki bar made good drinks,but they close early 9pm Pros nothing close by to eat or drink, must climb several flights of stairs to room.only very front of complex has beach front/ocean view rooms.recommend day trip to Wilmington NC real cool city with tons to do! Overall it was a good value, and really nice beach!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ardie

Restful, peaceful location

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our room was on the ocean and near the pool. Everything was convenient for the kids and I didn't feel like I was having to watch them every second. Enjoyed the solitude!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom England

Close to Beach

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Clean
Cons: n/a
Location: Nr Beach and restaurants but not quite 'away from it all'
A nice couple of days by the beach. Hotel felt a little dated and the reality didn't feel too much like the website but pleasant all the same. Unfortunately we have more of a love for the serene Sunset Beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Debfrom East islip

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great time main foyer a little musty smell but had a great time excellent service
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Isolated place with only a few amenities

Posted Jul 31, 2014
For over $200, I was given a room across the street (not on the water). Perhaps this was better since my building was in good shape. The rooms Oceanside seemed run down, cramped and overgrown with foliage. My building had a small inside and outside pool: nice. There are almost no amenities here: the "restaurant" is a Kon Tiki bar overlooking the ocean (nice), next to a small pool; menu basically consists of (nicely done) sandwiches. THe breakfast is squeezed into a small overcrowded room with people angling to get food from the troughs (powdered eggs). I loved the placement on the beach because the beach is wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jenniferfrom Virginia

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
I really did not like how everything was so spaced out or the fact that kids are allowed in the area of the Tiki bar. To me, I think that after certain hours children should not be there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Janetfrom Washington DC

nice quiet hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
My fiance and I went down for a relaxing and romantic beach week to Ocean Isle, which we had not visited before. The hotel was lovely and exactly as described on the website. The rooms were clean and comfortable and all the staff was wonderful. My fiance especially enjoyed golfing at the nearby golf courses (the front desk even helped book tee times). I will say we were a little disappointed that there was not many dining or nightlife options nearby after 9. That is more a critique on Ocean Isle vs. The Winds, since Ocean Isle is very family friendly vs. a hot spot for 20 somethings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com