Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kathy & Walt from Cape Cod, MA.

Great Inn close to business district and harbor.

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Pros: Comfortable, clean, friendly
Cons: We would have liked a richer more flavorful coffee in the morning. But overall no complaints.
Location: Very convenient to shopping, the harbor, great restaurants (ask Bill for advice, he knows the best). Also short drive to other points of interest.
The Hawthorne Inn is comfortable and clean. The owners are very accommodating, friendly, and also provide a tasty creative breakfast every day. It is convenient to the shopping district and the scenic Camden harbor. A great place to enjoy your Maine vacation. Also met some interesting European travelers staying at the Inn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Katelyn from Boston

Great B&B in the heart of Camden

Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
The innkeeper, Maryanne - was extremely helpful in providing directions and restaurant recommendations. The breakfast was excellent, the inn is walking distance from everything in Camden, the room was large and the jacuzzi in the bathroom was a great way to relax. I'd definitely recommend it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert from Montreal, QC.

Very quiet inn; the owners always available

Posted Aug 23, 2013
Pros: Nice backyard.
Cons: Breakfast .... maybe a little sweeter offer ..
Location: Water sports: sailing -- kayaking. Hiking -- Mt Battie Excellent restaurants ..
Excellent location ... very pleasant surroundings .... nice backyard. Breakfast very good but not exceptional ( I have a sweet tooth ) this is why ... Owners gave us precise suggestions about restaurants. Would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by adam from montreal

Charming B&B in the heart of Camden Main

Posted Aug 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was the first time that my wife and I stayed at a B&B. Maryanne, the owner of the B&B was wonderful from the first minute we walked in. She was very helpful in telling us about the city and where to go (and where to stay away). The grounds are superbly beautiful. The room we stayed in (called the "caroline") was just renovated and was charming. It was a little too bright in the morning for my taste. The Breakfasts were delicious. I would definately recommend it to others. Enjoy !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by The vans from New Jersey

A Gem

Posted Aug 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Inn was absolutely beautiful. The decor of our Carolina room was modern with some personal touches. The owners were very friendly and willing to go out of their way to help you with dietary needs, directions or recommendations. The breakfasts were delicious and creative. I enjoyed seating outside in the garden in the mornings, very peaceful. Downtown Camden is within walking distance as is the harbor. We enjoyed talking to others in the mornings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Bloomfield from NJ

First Bed & Breakfast Experience

Posted Aug 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
If you need an escape from the hustle and bustle of daily life, stay here. The town and surrounding areas are quaint with the small town charm you see in movies or read in books. You can opt to explore surrounding areas or just do nothing and stay in one of the most charming rooms I've ever seen. We are travelers but had never stayed at a bed and breakfast. My vision of what a B&B was to what the Hawthorn Inn is, was well off. It's bright and immaculate. I felt very at home. Nothing was out of place and overall an impeccable, beautiful house. My daughter and I were so inspired by the beauty, we plan to make some changes to our home decor. Our room was in the carriage house and was exactly like the photographs posted. The staff was friendly and the breakfasts were everything you have read about from others reviews - all top rate! I was apprehensive about sharing meals with strangers especially first thing in the morning - silly me. In an age where texting and emails is the only mode of communication for most, it was nice to sit at a table and learn about places and other people. Real conversations - when do you get that anymore? A better way to wake you up than coffee. We drove 9 hours for the Lobsterfest (nothing to rave about) but enjoyed the recommendations for other things to do Maryanne gave us more. She took the time to map it out for us too. This was one of the most rejuvenating weekends I've ever had!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Caroline - Room on 1st floor

Posted Jul 23, 2013
Pros: The Owners - they are both very interesting people with diverse life experience. They take great care in their inn and the people they hire.
Cons: Nothing to report.
Location: Plenty of trails to hike, Mt.Battie to view the whole region, lots of shops to visit, fine dining experiences, and OCEAN!
Nice room - king sized bed. Lots of windows, A/C unit in room. Bathroom is new with large shower stall and very well kept. Soft colors, no clutter, and easy walk to the center of Camden. We enjoyed breakfast on the deck overlooking a nice garden and the owners were delightful people with many stories to share of their travels and homes in far away places.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Rick from San Rafael CA

very historic town worthy of visit

Posted Jul 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
loved Camden ME as pre-sail on Windjammer trip. This B and B fulfilled our needs completely and was short walking distance to the ship we had booked
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Cindy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Joyce from Massachusetts

Great getaway in Camden

Posted Apr 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Maryanne was an excellent hostess, the room was well appointed and comfortable, and the claw foot bathtub was very relaxing! Make sure to leave time to relax over breakfast.