Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
It was wonderful, especially the staff. I would absolutely go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Perfect sunset views!

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Great location. There are good restaurants right across the street on the lagoon side. Beautiful sunset views & ocean views.
Cons: A good amount of staff didn't speak a lot of English so calling the concierge/front desk was a bit of a challenge.
Location: Great restaurants within walking distance. Short cab to "fun zone" of clubs/bars. 1 hour to Playa del Carmen.
I spent the last two days of my trip to Mexico at the Bel Air hotel in Cancun. The hotel was nicely located on the ocean but also had fantastic views of the lagoon. I decided to pay extra per night to upgrade as my deluxe lagoon view room did not have a balcony. The hotel definitely could use a paint job but overall, it was a very nice place to stay. They greet you with a glass of cava & have complimentary sparkling wine & chocolate for sunset. Our ocean view suite was very roomy, clean & had a perfect view of the ocean. I don't think I would recommend doing all-inclusive here...there are so many other great places to try for food/drink and the hotel seems to only have one or two places to eat on site.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Love the pool.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: The infinity pool is great, the view from the restaurant by the pool, bathroom recently remodeled, comfy bed
Cons: The service at the restaurant was too slow. They should offer more tropical drinks as well. The shower could have more pressure.
Location: The hotel is on the beach and there's a convenience store just in front. You can get a bus just in front as well but far from everything else.
The hotel is right on the beach with a nice infinity pool. The restaurant by the pool offers a nice view, a good start for the day. Is a nice getaway but if you're looking for fun with a group of people maybe you should stay closer to the city. Overall a good hotel, not great but worth the money. Jose at the pool bar is great, very nice and fun. Service at the restaurant was very slow but food was good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from Chicago

simple, quiet hotel, close to the beach

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: private infinity pool, close to the beach, close to airport.
Cons: some staff's attitude when dealing with customers. room furnitures are old, maybe they could update some with new ones.
Location: 24 hour bus / transportation availability. there's a convenient store nearby. close to airport.
some hotels staff not helpful at all, and tend to ignore customer's requests and needs. probably because of limited english proficiency.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from g

The Staff stole our cash from our room.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
My cousin and I went to the hotel's pool for an hour and by the time we went back up to our room, we were missing $240 in cash, they stole our dollars but not our pesos! They knew what they were going after. We spoke to mananagement and they said that they checked the cameras and only saw the cleaning lady and the security. They were extremely ironic and they did not do anything to their employees, nor they cared or did anything for our lost.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jenn from NC

Good value for the price.

Posted Jun 12, 2014
The room was very nice and clean. The overall appearance of the hotel was nice. A little old but in good shape. They had a very nice, large infinity pool and a great beach. The staff was nice but not very accommodating. I needed help booking an airport shuttle and they told me I had to do it myself. Did not try the restaraunt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2014 by Bosio, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Please let me express my sincere thanks for sharing with us these generous comments about our work and our services, our goal is continuous improvement, and this is possible thanks to comments like yours. There's nothing like knowing that our clients had a great time during your stay with us. Thanks for your opinion and we will be waiting for your next visit. Best regards. Andrea Bosio. General manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by hocko

Good budget option

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: It was good value for money, and right on the beach. The pool is huge.
Cons: It was impossible to get a decent cup of tea, as every jug of hot water used in the whole 5 days had a residual coffee taste. Keep them separate.
Location: Good location right on the beach. Bus stop to the shopping area at the door, and mini mart across the road.
We booked this hotel as a "mystery hotel". We were very pleased with it. Our room was on the top floor with an ocean view, although no balcony. It appeared to have been recently renovated, and was spotless. The bed was comfy, the towels were fluffy and there was plenty of hot water.The staff couldn't do enough for us, and when we had a medical emergency the staff were very caring.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2014 by Bosio, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Thank you for sharing this review with us and all the kind and encouraging words about our team and our work. Please receive our warm regards; we are looking forward to your return visit. Best Regards Andrea Bosio Geneneral manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carter from Canada

Single nighter stay

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: The beach and the pool area, free mimosa on check in
Cons: The food and hours of restaurant/cafe operation and the noise of the night time activities.
Location: Close to the airport and buses right outside
We stayed at The Bel Air for one night prior to our departure from Mexico as it was close to the airport (5min drive). It had a nice pool area and beach but those were the best features in my opinion. Upon check in they greet you with a mimosa which was a nice but the dining at the hotel was very poor. The restaurant was only open certain hours and the food was terrible. We had a seared tuna that tasted like rubber and some really salty fish fusion dish with a horrible noodle salad. We stayed on the lagoon side and the view was nice from our balcony but the lobby is a large open air design that is very noisy. They played loud music until 10:30 and the hotel bar is also right below, so you could hear everything from the bartenders blenders to loud obnoxious tourist party goers. If you were into the night life this also probably wouldn't have been a great place for a long term stay but they did have a bus right outside that went farther down the strip and would take you to coco bongo or other bars or shopping places and was told it was only about $1 US. In the morning the concierge arranged a taxi to take us to the airport which was like a 5 min drive but I feel was a rip off as it was 350 pesos. Over all I feel this hotel was reasonably priced if booked online with expedia for a single night but if I was staying on the strip for longer I would have upgraded to a better hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elizabeth from PUEBLA, MEX

ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS VIEW.......

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: VERY FRIENDLY SERVICE
Location: YOU CAN CATCH THE LOCAL BUS AT THE CORNER... TO CUT SOME COST.
REALLY ENJOYED OUR TIME IN CANCUN... THIS IS THE BEST VALUE FOR THE PRICE
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2014 by Bosio, Hotel Management
Dear guest: Thanks for sharing your opinion with us as well as the encouraging words about our team and our work. I would like to thank you for your recommendations and look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again. Will be a pleasure to serve you Best Regards, Andrea Bosio. General Manager.
1 out of 5
by Stevic from London

Horrible, crappy hotel - avoid at all costs!!!

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Only positives is Chocolate cake and Marisela the waitress at pool area, lovely lady, very kind and helpful.
Cons: Everything, old tired hotel needs knocking down and reconfiguring lay out. Ridiculous to have your rooms next to party courtyard and reception??
Location: Not much to do nearby, supermarket across road, that's it! You have to travel 30 minutes to shops by bus!
The horror story which is this hotel, It was our honeymoon, first room given was 5005, ground floor. Extremely noisy from late night to 6am and 7am etc from drunken guests and staff pulling trollies and talking very loudly. Our back door to access the pool had no lock!! and had huge gap at the top of it! We called reception, repair asked us for a key to the back door to lock it!! We told them we didn't have one. We were moved to 5102. Ok room but on 5th day sewage smell came from drains when ever shower was on. Toilet blocked also! Extremely noisy at night, party on every night as room outside main reception area? and next to sushi bar so noise from plates and food prep non stop so couldn't sleep much on my honeymoon!! Had to use same bedsheets for 7 days, water on floor under sink was not cleaned from day 1 to day 7. not many English tv channels and remote control was not the same make for tv so couldn't get English subtitles so not much to watch. Coffee in room taste like dust from the floor, it is Bel air branded and undrinkable. Food is disgusting! One restaurant, Starters and main courses, no flavour and some inedible, cheap ingredients, no flavour, breakfast buffet same old rubbish each day and doesn't state what each dish contains, don't eat meat but ended up accidently eating pork cos no signs to say what each dish is or contains, dirty table cloths and tables, fruit unripe, coffee tastes revolting, food NEVER hot, always luke warm or cold. Fruit juices terrible taste