Ratings based on 407 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nashua nh

Fabulous time

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: The hotel staff are very friendly.
Cons: The front lobby should have some comfortable seating to hang out. Music maybe. Also at night it would be a great place to have a dj and some dancing
We had a fabulous time. Weather was wonderful. We read all the reviews before we booked the hotel and knew that we were not getting a 5 star hotel. We always look for a medium price because it is all we can afford to do. We were very pleasantly surprised at the atmosphere at the hotel. The outdoor space was wonderful. Pool was very clean, the chairs were comfortable, the beach was clean. Love getting waited on when I am sitting on the beach and pool side. Everyone was so happy to help. The rooms are dated and the lobby could be sooo much more. But there were clean sheets and towels everyday. Its about 20 minute bus ride to the downtown area , and there are not many restaurants around. We ended up purchasing the all inclusive and it worked out great for us. We never had to leave the hotel for anything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom MA

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: The infinity pool, beach and kind staff made for a great stay
Cons: The hotel itself just needs a facelift, if they spent some time renovating the building it would go a long way
Location: The hotel is about 15 mins from downtown Cancun, an easy commute via public bus. The busses run constantly and only cost 1 US dollar
We traveled as a couple in our twenties, looking for an affordable getaway to Mexico. For the price, I couldn't have asked for anything more! When you are getting a great deal it is hard to complain about small things (walls needing a new paint job etc.). If you go into your stay expecting to get what you paid for, you will be very satisfied. We paid for a lagoon facing room and were pleasantly surprised with a free upgrade to ocean view upon our arrival. The front desk was also able to accommodate an early check in as our flight arrived earlier than 3pm. The pool is great, very refreshing after laying out in the hot sun! The beach was beautiful, ocean water was warm and had waves that were fun to swim in. The staff cleaned up seaweed every morning, leaving a clear view from the comfortable beach loungers. The staff is the best part of the hotel. From bartenders--Jose, Valentin, and Diego to waitstaff--Angel, Gilberto and more, there were so many kind and fun employees who took good care of us during our stay. Overall, we had a very good experience at The Bel Air Collection and would definitely recommend to people who are looking for a very affordable, all-inclusive vacation to Mexico.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester NH

It was okay

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: the food, pool, and beach front
Cons: have things for people to do during the day.
Location: too far from the hub of cancun. when we wanted to do anything we had to travel over 15 minutes
I have done all inclusive hotels before and this one was the most disappointing. There was no entertainment, no night life,and the front desk was horrible. Other than the lack of options for restaurants the food was great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible...

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Worst experience ever. Staff was terrible and not welcoming and felt like it was a hassle to solve our issues. We're so dissatisfied that we got a refund and left. Hotel looks old and beat up. There's staff cleaning at 2am making noise while people are trying to sleep. Drinks were horrible and NOT top shelf after claiming it was. Never have had such a terrible experience befpre. Ever!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom mexico

ok but a bit tired

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Jacuzzi in room, good views, nice touch with the champagne sunset, free coffee and pastries
Cons: decor and condition of hotel is a little tired
Location: at the end of hotel zone so quiet but that is what we wanted - Oxxo store across the street if you need anything
booked a room with Jacuzzi - originally wasnt given one and told none available but eventually got moved when checkin staff realised mistake,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Excellent place to be in!

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Cons: Restaurant service at the hotel. WiFi needs improvement.
Stayed for five nights and it was a great stay overall. Employees were very nice and friendly; always helpful! Only frustrating thing was the WiFi reception- really awful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Hotel on the beach - great location, no night life

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: on the water
Cons: the hot water issue
Had a great time - I wish the hotel would have down something about my complains of the hot water issue. That was my only issue. No hot water on teh 6th floor and I was ingnored totally when I brought the issue up.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Nice location, close to the beach

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Location, pool and personal
Cons: Cleaning
Location: Public transportation, nice beach, night clubs , shopping center.....etc
Excellent experience and I will repeat it again, all personal very polite, food was tasty
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver,BC

Not 5 star yet first class

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Hotel is aged,painting and a good handyman needed...otherwise pool,beach, shopping access very good. Staff very helpful, dining room and sushi bar better then competition plus if you go with gourmet meals the chef will alter the menus within reason, white and red wines are palitable. I would stay again in this basic but comfortable and quite location. Rate this as 3.5 plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO

No Shoes, No Shirt, No Problem - Stress free stay

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Greeted at the hotel with a drink, reviewed check-in reservation and additional options available, to include tour choices could sign-up for, if desired. No pressure to purchase anything further. Left a card that was used to hold $100 for incidentals and as security deposit. Showed to our room which was a king suite facing a great view of the beach. Areas of concern were the sliding door mechanism took some work to lock and the safe provided was rather small to store items but had no problems with staff. They were very friendly and quite attentive, checking rooms twice daily for service. Once around 11am and again after 6pm. Hotel was under some remodeling and second night was difficult to sleep. Walls are thin and much noise came in from outside which is nice when is just the sound of waves crashing. In all, would definitely stay again and curious how will be once fully upgraded.