Ratings based on 2,178 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Great view and overall location.

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Check in took forever, and after all the wait our room was not even ready! We did not even get an apology.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nord de montréal

très bel hôtel....personnel attentionné

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: ambiance....localisation....le personnel
Cons: construction en cour pour de l expansion.....bruyant......un peu......mais on m a accommodé en me changeant de chambre....ce qui fut une amélioration
Location: direct sur la plage.....mais a proximité du centre si on veut aller ou ça bouge.....
voyage très apprécié......je retournerais sans hésitation
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude staff, dirty rooms

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Nothing like it looks in the pictures the hotel staff was very rude we booked 5 rooms they messed up our reservations did not accomidate us. The food was horrible and very limited in choice. Spend a little more and stay at ME.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orange County

Great location, walking distance from Coco Bongo.

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Location, pools and staff.
Cons: Bedding.
Location: Walking distance from Grocery shop, pharmacies and night life. Just a few blocks from Coco Bongo, Senior Frog and Vaquitas.
Awesome location! Staff members were super friendly, 4 decent restaurants, 3 pools and an amazing view. My room didn't have a minibar, but they always left us complimentary water. Shower is potent, but for some reason the water stinks.. at the end of our stay, we kinda got used to that. Hotel is quiet and peaceful, I loved the experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsburgh, PA

Save your money and stay away from All Inclusive!

Posted Apr 23, 2015
We just arrived back from our stay the the Krystal Grand Punta Cancun. My girlfriend and I traveled with two other friends who opted for the All Inclusive package while we decided to do our grocery shopping at Selecto (huge grocery store about 3 blocks away) because we planned to take more day trips around Quintana Roo. I can't begin to explain how happy we are that we did things the way that we did. We ended up eating at each restaurant at the Krystal Grand and the service was easily the worst I've ever experienced while staying at an All Inclusive Resort. Sometimes it took close to 20 minutes just to have a drink of water brought to the table. Most nights our friends ate at one of the restaurants while we walked to an off location restaurant. Each time, we were able to walk to a place, eat and grab drinks and walk back before they were finished with their meals --- and they had reservations. Also, if you're trying to get service at the beach or at the adult pool, it's not going to happen. Not only was the service horrible but there is no possible way I could have ate and drank enough at the resort to justify the All Inclusive fee. We could have ate every meal at the resort, paid in pesos and still not spent the same price of the All Inclusive. Here's my recommendation, skip the All Inclusive, head over to Selecto and buy some beach snacks, a cooler and some alcohol and use pesos if you eat. You'll save tons of $ and have everything you want --- when YOU want it!
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom México DF

Hotel agradable para conocer Cancun

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Instalaciones cómodas. La playa está bien pero hay basura en la arena, en los camastros, no la limpia el personal del hotel. La playa es mejor del otro lado de la zona hotelera, donde Isla mujeres sirve como barrera de olas. El personal y bienvenida no es tan cálida como en otros hoteles, p ej los fiesta americana. En general bien.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Good Location, next to party district

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: location and pool
Cons: room conditions, service
Location: clubs within walking distance, and a variety of restaurants within walking distance
The location is within walking distance of major club scenes and restaurants. Our room was not ready at 3pm checkin, and we had to wait another 30 minutes to check in. Upon entering the room, our balcony had a view of the construction happening next to the hotel, which was not a pleasant view. I had to keep the blinds closed at all times because the construction workers could see into my room, and when they did, they kept whistling at me. The table between the beds had baby insects coming out of the wood, which I tried to kill but more bugs kept coming out. The pool and the beach are beautiful. The hotel's infinity pool is a must! Parking was easy and for the most part, the staff was friendly, other than the slow service at times w/ the front desk and housekeeping requests. Overall, good location, safe, but needs improvement in service and room conditions.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MIAMI

Recent visit to Cancun

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: The staff and view
Cons: Keep the beach clean and repair the building
Location: Cancun night life is geared to the very young, don't expect to be able to do anything except go out to dinner. Do visit Playa del Carmen and the ruins
We have visited Cancun 20 times in the past 25 years, as such we have seen how Cancun has deteriorated. We recently stayed at the Krystal (March 2015) and were disappointed with the over-all look of the building. 1st) The staff is excellent with the exception of the ones that clean the gust rooms, they do a very poor job of cleaning the rooms. 2nd) The building looks tired and old on the outside, needs painting and in some places the plaster is falling off. 3rd) The grounds are very pretty and well kept so are they huts by the beach. 4th) Not once during our stay did we see the hotel trying to clean the beach. 5th) The main pool bar should be demolished, it is in dire need of either cleaning and or repairs. 6) Restaurants offer good food at very goods prices and the staff is excellent. 7) Do try to use the deli in the lobby, excellent sandwiches at good prices. Be advised that Cancun in general looks tired and in need of cleaning and repairs. The malls (with the exception of Las Isla) are basically abandoned. Caracol Mall is a ghost town so is Kukulcan Mall even though it is in better shape overall. Flamingo Mall is also semi closed. Empty lots where hotels used to be can be seen frequently. Restaurants are empty most of the time. Be very careful when visiting restaurants as they are overcharging in order to try to make up for the lack of customers. We will return to Cancun and yes we will return to Krystal as they have the best beach and view in Cancun
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CT, West Hartford

Best location for a hotel!

Posted Apr 21, 2015
I went on vacation with my girlfriend to cancun, and we choose Krystal for it location, which was in the furthest tip of the island. We paid a little extra for the ocean view, and was not disappointed! We had the best view possible! I asked for king size bed in my reservation but they gave us a double bed room. Which was a bit of a downer but the view was so in point that we didn't care! The staff was extra friendly! Very well manner, very approachable. Even though tips were included in our package we tipped almost everybody. ( a good tip is between 20 and 50 pesos). we stayed for 5 nights. I recommend exchanging your money for pesos, we took about 200 dollars for tips which can go a long way! (A good rate exchange is 1 dollar = 14.50 pesos.) The hotel had 3 restaurants, one Italian( which we didn't care much for it), one Asian and the regular restaurant hotel called The Grill( great food there, I recommend for dessert the chocolate tamal! They run out quick!!! As they should! Because they're amazing). Their breakfast buffet was awesome! Excellent spread of food!! Not your typical breakfast buffet, Lots of options there. Excellent lounge to grab a drink and watch your soccer game! They have a patio right outside the lounge with an excellent view and good atmosphere! ( they make an Perfect Caipirosca!!Vodka, lime, sugar, simple but delicious!). They have 4 pools if you count the kids one, one of them is with a pool bar! And the infinity pool! Must visit!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bethesda, MD

Fantastic, affordable stay at the best beach!

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: The staff and the food were excellent. The beach is beautiful. The all-inclusive option is very affordable. Lots of activities for families and groups
Cons: The hotel could use some TLC. The furnishings (lamps, mattresses) need to be replaced. Our first room had a broken safe and closet door.
Location: Right near the big clubs in Cancun. It was loud a couple nights but I didn't have trouble falling asleep. Best beach in the area!
I booked the flight & hotel through Expedia and chose the all-inclusive, ocean view option. This was by far the best trip I have ever been on! If you compare room rates, it is definitely cheaper to book the all-inclusive option than just the room. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, especially the restaurant staff at the O Buffet and the Grill. We ate most of our meals at the hotel and found the food to be extremely good. Our favorite restaurant was the Grill (I don't eat fish, and their fish dishes were my favorite! Very fresh), but Risotto and Mortero were excellent as well. By booking at the Krystal Grand, you also have access to the food and pool at their sister hotel, Krystal, right next door. They always had different events with music and Mexican dancing. Pay a little extra and get the ocean view, though. What people say about construction next door is 100% true. My one big recommendation to the hotel would be to invest a little money in the rooms and furnishings. They're a bit worn out. Small upgrades would have brought my review up to a perfect score. We did two tours through the hotel - Chichen-Itza and the theme park Xcaret. Chichen-Itza was planned poorly - took us to a tourist trap "Mayan village" and a terrible buffet lunch. Barely got to spend any time at the site! We were disappointed. Xcaret was fun - lots of cultural activities, animals, beach, underground rivers - perfect for families, couples, groups - everyone! Was very pleased.