Ratings based on 7 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nairobi

Excellent centrally located hotel

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Large room, kitchen, staff friendlyness, pool/garden, good breakfast.
Cons: hot breakfast included (or offered instead of cold breakfast). The carpet could have been a bit cleaner.
Location: Excellent restaurants. Wine, Champagne, cheese and chocolate tastings. Picnics (Warwick is highly recommended) hiking, wild life parks
We stayed at ReaLou for seven nights in April 2014 and enjoyed it very much! Our room was big, had a small kitchen (perfect when you have small kids) and a large bathroom. Breakfast was served right outside the room on the veranda. (Unfortunately only cold breakfast is included in the price, hot breakfast is extra.) The garden has a swimming pool which the kids loved. The staff and also the owner were very nice and always eager to help out and inform us about interesting things to do and places to visit. The hotel is centrally located in Franschhoek and restaurants, supermarkets etc are easily reached on foot. It was our third time in Franschhoek and we think it is a perfect base to explore the area around Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by E & C from NL

Good place to stay in Franschoek

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good value for the rate considering being in center of Franschoek. Very friendly and helpfull owner with good hints on what to do etc. Breakfast was ok and the room was comfortable. During our stay the kitchen was refurbished but we didn't find inconvience. Only the breakfast starting late at 09:00 can be hindering if you make a 1 night stop here when making a roundtrip.
3 out of 5
by Christine from Washington, DC

Disappointing

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: There was one very professional employee, Innocent, whom I would highly recommend. He was gracious and helpful and a pleasure to speak with.
Cons: Service in general.
I have been to Franshchoek before and the other places I've stayed had an extremely high quality of service and were immaculately presented - even without a high price tag. Realou, on the other hand, didn't respond to an email request for the promised complimentary airport transfer, and the room had cold, tile floors and many small signs of carelessness, like instant coffee rather than a coffee press. My biggest complaint was that the owner was dismissive of small requests and acted like I was in the way, rather than a guest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jenny from Sussex UK

Good value in a good location

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Staff and location
Location: quiet yet close to town, also close to a number of good golf courses
This guest house is in an excellent location on a quiet street close to the centre of town. we thought that it was great value, with a small swimming pool and lovely outside area to have breakfast or relax after being in town. The staff were superb.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by menelik from NYC

A good place to stay

Posted Feb 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
the staff and owner were super sweet and friendly. with lost of suggetions on where to go and do. They make you feel like an old friend the they are happy to come see and sad to see go.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by AeroDJ from Cape Town

Very good location if slightly peculiar design

Posted Feb 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Reviews should always contain a balanced argument but with this one it's quite difficult to quantify what we thought of Real Lou. On the plus side it's only a thirty second stroll to the main Franschooek centre. For some reason we didn't feel entirely comfortable there... we tried to figure it out. Perhaps the decor is a bit peculiar, perhaps a bit dated too. We didn't have the most comfortable night and we normally sleep like logs. Something not quite right here but maybe others will be better suited to it.
2 out of 5
by Mark from Cape Town

A night in Franschoek

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: Staff, location
Cons: General upkeep and cleanliness
The Realou guest house is in a fantastic position just off the main road in the village and within walking distance to many of the town's nice eateries. The room was reasonably equipped but unfortunately our stay was not as memorable as it should have been. The establishment is a little rundown and was not nearly as clean as it should have been, which was utterly disappointing given the high expectation. The lack of secure parking was also worrying. 3-star at best!