Ratings based on 386 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Worst hotel I have ever stayed at!! Don't stay here under any circumstances!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by seahawkfan from spokane wa

you get what you pay for

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was pretty decent. Hotel itself was kinda scary in location especially for late at night. Really not that bad for an over-nighter. They have "permanent" tenants. But my family felt safe. That's all that matters. If I had to, I would stay again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by aninem

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gil from Houston

Good customer service

Posted May 20, 2014
Stayed at the hitching post for about a week and the staff was pretty friendly. My room was clean and I got my privacy. The trains outside my room didn't bother me at all. Would greatly recommend to anyone going to Cheyenne.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel description

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Everyone should know that the front part of the hotel was burned 2 years ago and so as you drive up, it looks like an abandoned hotel - a bit scary . As you go around to the back, the back building and office are operating. Nice staff, etc. The room was clean for the most part but it was right at my limit, and I am not a picky person! This is something they don't tell you in expedia and you obviously can't see in the pictures . It does have the best rates in town.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Cold brown water with dirty pillow cases

Posted Mar 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel has potential, it just is not there yet. We had a large room with a king bed which was very spacious. The problems were the water in the toilet, sink, and shower was brown. I tried to take a shower but only had warm water for about 1 minute. The pillow cases had dirt marks on them, and when we asked for new ones they looked dirty as well. The mattress was about as soft as the floor. I would not stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Not that great

Posted Mar 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was not that happy with the stay. The doors of the room were not easy to open an close without banging. Not much with breakfast. Rooms were smelling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by RD Bouck from Las Vegas Nevada

Very satisfied

Posted Mar 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
For those of you who are expecting the old Hitching post, unfortunately it burnt down. However, it is in the process of building it back up. My room was outstanding: I had no complaints! Kellie Cox & Steve Cox, who work the swing shift were outstand. I am a manager of a call center and Kellie was very personable. What ever I needed, was gotten for me. The morning manager who was is the owner was also very nice. I would go back and stay there any time.
1 out of 5
by Rick from WY

There are much better hotels for the same $

Posted Mar 2, 2014
I wanted to check out at 9am after first night. Manager was rude and would not cancel my reservation! Continental breakfast consisted of 2 partial loaves of bread twisted and lying on the counter, 1/4 gal of milk in the fridge door and stale cereal. Parking lot and walk to the room was covered in snow and Ice that had not been removed in previous storm. There are 2 abandoned buildings on the premises, area does not feel safe.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Steve from Casper Wy

Motel near the Wyoming Legislature

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: Price is low and is close to downtown and the Wyoming state offices.
Cons: Rebuild the front.
Arrived late at night. I knew that the restaurant had burned down a couple of years ago, but had heard that the motel portion was still open. Large rooms, clean and quiet. I don't think many people realize it is still open. It was THE place to stay for many years. It is a bargain now.