Ratings based on 584 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Spend the extra $20 and go somewhere nicer.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
The lobby was very nice! Upon arrival I discovered I had clicked the wrong check in date (chose Thursday night instead of Wednesday night), but the front dear girl was very pleasant and fixed it without any issues. On top of that we arrived around noon but the room was ready so they let us in early. It was a great start! The main area of the room seemed alright, the beds were comfy, and the curtains had good light blockage, however, the bathroom was not good. The ceiling was gross with a bunch of old appliances such i.e. a nasty heat lamp that had been left there during the last renovation. Along with this the place just felt dirty. The pool area sported several burnt out lights and am utterly disgusting hot tub with mysterious floating material. We watched as a guest in the pool blew her nose into the last remaining towel in the area. Also, the sauna was long ago out of order. In the morning I discovered a small creepy looking bug in the blankets with us. On a positive note the complimentary breakfast was delicious, though the only eggs they had were hard boiled. Everything else was very good. Also, when we called the front desk late the night before for more towels the man was very polite and helpful and had them brought to us faster than jimmy johns could have. Overall, the best part was the staff. The worst was the lack of cleanliness and the rudeness and appalling behavior of many of the other guests.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from rockford, Illinois

1 star accommodations .

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Very potpourri smelling which is definitely a sign. Toilet didn't flush,bathtub didn't drain, mold on the bathroom ceiling. Hotel is on a very busy street. Very noisy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, il

DID NOT feel SAFE

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Cons: Room security an keeping track of which rooms are booked!
Location: Great America, Gurnee Mills Shopping and Great Lakes NavalBase
One of my 3 rms had a faulty door lock. After 3 hrs of trying to repair they gave us a different rm/ key. Went to new rm and found another travelers belongs, went back to desk , got another key/rm. this one belonged to another member of my party! Finally got an empty rm after almost 5 hours! I asked the manager about some compensation on check out and he said he'd take care of it in the AM. Later he told my sister all he could do was free drinks in the bar because we booked with Expedia.when the kids went to lobby for soft drinks the front desk didn't charge them. Still the cost of 1/2 a dozen soft drinks doesn't add up to much when you miss out on half a n evening with your family because maintenance is in your room then having to take your purse, camera, etc with you even to the pool for fear that the desk will give access to your room ( considering they just gave us access to 2 rooms occupied by other guests. Who I'm sure thought their rooms were safe!) upon check-out I asked for the manager and eas told one was not working that shift! RAMADA was once a trusted chain but now I would never stay again! Didn't feel safe after gaining access into occupied rooms! ALSO there was 1 towel in rooms reserved for 4 guests and the pool had none. Went to the front desk for towels for pool and they brought 8. There were 20 swimmers! They said they were out of towels!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge, La

Navy Graduation 2014

Posted Aug 10, 2014
My family & I came down for our son Navy graduation. The staff was very friendly & helpful. The rooms was comfortable. We only experience one issue, nothing bad. A/C wasn't cold but other than that, we enjoyed our stay. From: The Martin family. Baton Rouge, La
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

How I picked this Hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2014
My son was graduating Boot Camp at Naval Station Grest Lakes so I picked the Ramada as being close to the main gate. We have Ramsda Inn's in our home town and they all are nice and above average. I was shocked to see the Hotel, our room and smell of our room.. All very poor. People are employed by this Hotel and I found them all be be great and very helpful. I can't hold the facility against them. If you are looking for a nice hotel , look outside Waukegan and travel a little farther to the ceremony. Nice staff, horrible hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2014
This place is not 3 stars, it should be rated 1 or 2 max.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dingy on the outside and in the room.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Booked through expedia instead of on-site. If I saw the place first I would not have rented. Outside was not clean or manicured. Inside we found hairs on the sheets and stains on the pillows and sheets. Needless to say we didn't stay there. Also while checking in there was another guest switching rooms because of some type of room issue. This gave me an uneasy feeling right off the bat.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Staff responsiveness.
Cons: Repairs needed, updates needed.
Location: Great location to Six Flags and only an hour north of Downtown Chicago.
This hotel needs so many updates. Lots of repairs to be done. Screens on windows in our room were bent and falling off windows. The "locked" door in the back of hotel by the parking lot (you're only supposed to be able to open it with a guest key) would not even fully close in its frame. Stairs were in serious need of vacuuming. I have to say that the staff was really helpful and responsive to our needs, though. Expedia automatically put us in a SMOKING room (I assumed the default would be Nonsmoking). The staff at Ramada upgraded us to a nicer room, a suite, that was Nonsmoking. This gave us ONE KING bed instead of TWO DOUBLES. So, they immediately got a rollaway to our room. We hadn't even made it up to our room to bring our bags before they were there putting the rollaway in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2014
The staff was amazing. I'll definitely go back next time I'm in town. Breakfast was decent. No waiting in lines.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

It's a dump!!!

Posted Aug 3, 2014
The hotel lobby looks nice & modern. After check in we were directed to a different part of the hotel which is run down & smells. Our room hadn't been cleaned...towels on the floor, bed unmade. Back to the front desk where we were given a other room. This one hadn't been cleaned either. For our 3rd room we were then "upgraded" to a nicer part of the hotel but the carpet was disgusting, looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years. The free breakfast isn't worth it. Don't waste your money, stay somewhere else!!!!