Ratings based on 235 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sunnyvale, CA

Great travel stop.

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: Room, bathroom were fresh/clean. Clean linens, towels. Bathroom, shower supplies provided. Coffee maker w/ supplies. Mini fridge/freezer & microwav
Cons: Not really a Safari Inn problem, but when exiting the driveway at a traffic light, if not to the extreme right, the sensor will not give a green light
Location: I was in Chico for a specific event at a private setting, so I cannot provide input here.
In searching for a place to stay overnight in Chico, I came upon the Safari Inn. While reading the rating comments, I came upon one which was particularly scathing, which made me pause, but postings made after that one were much more positive, so I took the chance and booked a stay there. The place is not new, and it doesn't look new, but it is well kept up. I did not notice anything glaringly in need of repair. Though there is a swimming pool at the facility, I did not have the time to make use of it or even check it out, so I cannot make any comment about it. My only response to the negative rating is that we must have stayed at two different places! I would most certainly, without hesitation, book a stay here again. I really appreciated the great room rates and unexpectedly nice, clean lodging! Excellent value!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Theres bed bugs...

Posted Apr 19, 2015
There was bedbugs on our beds. The room was dirty, it didn't seem it was serviced in months. Also there was sketchy people on the property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Nice place for a weekend getaway

Posted Apr 17, 2015
My wife and I stayed at the Safari Inn because we were in town for a concert. We arrived on a Thursday night and check in was a smooth process. The room was quite nice. Nothing fancy but also not a hole in the wall. The bed was decent, bathroom was clean and carpet a bit dirty. Still have old television sets but plenty of great channels. Room service was a bit weak. First day there they forgot to leave new towels but when I asked for some I got them on the spot. 2nd day no room service at all. Good thing we took our own towels. That's the only negative we experienced. Overall it's a good stay for the price. Great location and downtown Chico it's about a 5 minute drive away. Would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok value for your money.

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: The price
Cons: Room was clean when we arrived but didn't think the staff cleaned very well on a daily basis.
Location: Close to Chico State and Bidwell Park. Yummy donuts at the Donut Wheel.
Have stayed here before and would stay again since the price is right. For the most part, the room is clean and fairly comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I'd go elsewhere

Posted Mar 10, 2015
The Wifi is too weak to be useful. Rooms are old and furnature in bad repair. The staff did not refill toiletries. Coffee bags without a machine/pot? The AC and hot water worked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

cheepest room in town.

Posted Feb 1, 2015 on Hotels
It. Was good.we were.in walking distance of resterants an shopping and the room was clean.close to friends we were here to visit.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Feb 1, 2015 on Hotels
We regularly visit family in Chico and, when possible, were reserving the Safari. It was clean, comfortable, good staff, and inexpensive. Unfortunately, this last visit was a real disappointment. I was still clean, but no longer a refrigerator in room or coffee maker, nor in lobby but that is o.k. we never saw a person in he lobby - he locked lobby - once we checked in and no one to answer the buzzer when our key would not work at 11:00 pm or when we were left with one towel our second day or when the TV did not work. But then had we ever seen a motel representative they could not have helped with the exceptionally uncomfortable bed or smaller room size than we have ever had before. Unfortunately - its location is great - we have decided to look at other properties as 'alternatives' rather than options when Safari is not available.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Worst Motel Ever!!!

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels
This was by far the worst motel I have ever stayed in and that's saying something sense I have always gone to whichever is cheapest. I don't expect much at $50 a night but I do expect more. This trip was a big hassle. I had to change rooms from 21 to 23 to 24 due to the other rooms either being to dirty or lacking promised amenities. The room I stayed in didn't have a coffee pot so they brought me one but I had to clean it before it could be used. The room only had two open plugs which in this day and age leaves you with something else that still needs charging. The shower curtain doesn't stop water from going all over with the poorly directed shower head so there's a towel on the floor by the tub to keep the floor dry. Not all the lights worked one looked like it was barely holding on to the wall at all. The bed was uncomfortable and loud with only one pillow per side and cheap itchy blankets. The frame holding the bed doesn't line up and snags you when you walk to close to the edge of the bed. The cable is the cheapest they could get had to reset it to come on and there wasn't even a channel guide not to mention the batteries in the remote were dead but the worst part was this morning I get up to put water in the coffee maker and find a broken sink which shoots water all over when I turn it on. Lastly I just discovered that the breakfast I put in the refrigerator to reheat later is frozen and the coffee provided sucks. Worst motel ever!!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sebastopol, CA

Worse than "safari" conditions

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: It was relatively cheap.
Cons: Raze it and put up a Chili's or something. :-)
Ugly 1950s room, light switch didn't work, questionable schmutz on bathroom floor, tiny towels. Actually kind of afraid to touch anything in the room, and if I knew how to levitate, would have done so over the toilet rather than sit on it. They put us in a room right next door to some partiers, when many rooms were vacant that weren't adjoining occupied rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Check all the appliances!

Posted Jan 7, 2015 on Hotels
Had let the front desk know that the room did not have a coffee maker. And when I checked out, I still did not have that coffee maker!