Ratings based on 221 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Jim from Kent U.K.

Hotel close to town

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: The breakfast.
Cons: The whole decor and furniture.
Location: Carlisle centre quite close.
In need of a complete redecoration.The men's changing area was disgraceful.The furniture had all seen better days.The staff were OK and the breakfast great value but you would not recommend it it your friends.
2 out of 5
by DB from West Midlands

Hope the refurbishment is successful

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Lots
Location: Useful for travellers on M6 route.
Just a stopover close to the M6. Fair price but would not have paid more! The hotel is undergoing a refurbishment and looks like it was well over due! The whole place is very tired and rundown, we had mould on the bathroom ceiling but at least the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was very basic although bacon and sausage were of reasonable quality. Shame about the bread for the toast - the thinnest bread we have seen in a long time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, close to centre

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Cons: room cleaniness
basic facilities, only capsule coffee available room was not properly cleaned, dusty and used tights in the draw of the bedside table bathroom sink was dripping and smelled of cleaning products
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Peter W from London

quiet location

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel is slowly being refurbished and is improving with every visit, just hope this doesn't push the price up in future!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by KS from WEST YORKSHIRE

Very Run Down

Posted Dec 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Such a shame that this hotel is so run down. The carpets have been renewed, but it will take a bit more than that to sort this place out. It is in need of a desperate refurbishment. The hotel was generally clean. It was clear that the hotel was under staffed. The restaurant waiting times were unacceptable and the food wasn't good. I will not be staying here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by enncle from ncle

good for the price

Posted Dec 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
my partner and i stayed at the swallow for the 2nd time, hotel location a short taxi ride to centre. staff well only spoke to the hotels receptionist, friendly enogh, no probs checking in. rooms a little tired, bathrooms clean. didnt have breakfast even tho included in tne price, we had to depart early in the morning, but from what i can remmember from the previous stay was good, next time , if we stay again want to try the spa. would recommend to friends for price .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by AliA from Ayrshire

overnight stay

Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
On arrival the car park wasn't the best and the hotel isn't the most modern inside however, for the price I paid I wasn't expecting 5 star. Overall for a one night stay I was very happy with the hotel and the service and with free use of the pool and free breakfast included in the price I couldn't go wrong. If there was anything that let it down it would be that the mattress on the bed was like sleeping on concrete. If I have another meeting in carlisle I will be staying at the swallow hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by david from ambleside

commercial hotel.

Posted Dec 4, 2013
Pros: Quiet, warm,and near centre of city.
Cons: The hotel was somewhat tired, but not surprising with all the people staying. Still very comfortable The price was very acceptable.
Location: Only stayed for 1 night.
The hotel was clean, food good, staff very pleasant,nothing too much trouble.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by David Shields from Barrow in Furnes

Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
I booked 2 rooms at the swallow in Carlisle for Friday and Sat,as my daughter was at a event at the racecourse. On arrival the check in was very smooth no problems, however once we entered our room, it was very clear this hotel needed refurbishment. Before i booked on the web site, it said that refurbishment had taken place in 2012. This may ave been the case in some parts, but the room we had 141 was extremely shabby. The wallpaper was peeling away, there was no handles on the window which even though was double glazed let in lots of cold air. There were blisters on the wall down by the side of the bed, which on first sight looked like mould. On closer inspection it was wall filler, which had not been rubbed down and just painted over. The shower was only hot for one of us, once a second person had a shower it was luke warm at best. The breakfast on sat morning was good, however on the Sunday morning we had to wait for sections of food to come out some of it was cold, it was nothing like the day before. There had been a power cut a few hours before, but there did not seem to be much in way of order. People had to wait in lounge and had to enter dining room by name due to the amount of people waiting. This was caused by no power been available for people having a early breakfast, that i understand but not when some of the good is hot and others not. All in all i was extremely disappointed in this hotel, as i believed swallow hotels were of a high standard thats why i booked. For the money i payed it was not worth it, I would have had better value staying at the supposedly budget hotel 5 minutes down the road.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ian and wendy from cumbria

value for money gettaway

Posted Nov 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
overall very pleased. had read reviews before we went some good some not so good ,we had a couple of issues which we mentioned on departure ,we were in a room above the kitchen area and there were quite a lot of little black fly,s dont know how they were getting in maybe throu the extractor fan in bathroom , but ias i said on the whole very pleased with everything else Ian Harrison from cumbria But i would reccomend this hotel to friends