Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from here

Just what I needed

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location; absolutely ideal for my purpose, right on the moor with Bellever Forest and the visitor centre just minutes away
Cons: Shower takes a bit to get up to temperature but I was on holiday so in no hurry.
Location: At the heart of the moor and all that offers with ready access to larger towns if needed
From the minute I arrived till the minute I left I was made to feel very welcome and as if no request would be too much. It was a spur of the moment booking and perhaps a happy coincidence that it suited me and my particular interests rather well. I loved the traditional interior of the bar, my room was clean, comfortable and sufficiently well appointed for my needs. I'm funny with food but found I was actually spoiled for choice for evening meals and actually appreciated being able to eat (and drink) in the same place I would sleep in. Yes I've had better / cheaper but then I've also paid a whole lot more for lesser quality. And thought the chips were great. Breakfast was more than adequate to fuel what was some very active days without the need to resort to snacks throughout the day I loved the family atmosphere where I felt more like a visiting relative than a paying guest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peter from Bristol

East Dart Hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2015 on Hotels
We have visited Postbridge and Dartmoor many times over the years and this is our first stay at the East Dart Hotel. It was a wonderful five days made more so by the friendliness of the owners Paul and Rosie. The breakfasts were superb and all cooked using meat and eggs from local farms. Cannot find any fault with this hotel. Wall to wall sunshine for five days was also a bonus for Dartmoor. Many thanks to you both.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by David from Northampton

What an amazing place & amazing people

Posted Dec 17, 2014 on Hotels
I was heading down to Dartmoor to do my Mountain Training Hills Skills Course. As soon as I walked into the hotel I felt welcome.Paul & Rosie and the rest of the staff could not do enough to help and my stay very enjoyable. The food was great, the beer was awesome and the locals friendly :-) I had an amazing 3 night stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by AJ

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rick from Canada

Outstanding Service

Posted Jul 29, 2014 on Hotels
Paul and Rosie made me so welcome and I enjoyed my stay with them. Rosie was always trying to get me to eat more for breakfast!! One night out of the 5 that I was there, I arrived after the kitchen was closed. Paul made me a sandwich. If you need a great place with down home service, I recommend staying there. This hotel should be higher in the ratings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by KR from London

Pleasant stay in a quiet place on Dartmoor

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels
I had had a meal here before and decided to stay a few nights while visiting relatives nearby. It was just what I wanted - reasonable food, quiet, Wifi !, and hospitable. Many Thanks
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

A remote hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is on Dartmoor about 10 miles from Princetown. It was ideal for what I wanted. It seems a little rundown but the owners are charming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Gwyn Roberts from Swansea

Excellent location in beautiful countryside

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels
The owners looked after us like we were a king and queen. They were very hospitable. We enjoyed the food and the ale too. The ron we had was the four poster room and this was well appointed considering that this is a country pub. It would have been nice to have a shower cubicle in the bathroom, but the shower head above the bath was acceptable. We loved this place and will consider going back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Food critic. from The North.

OK, but ask what food is home-made first.

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Pros: breakfast and 'home-made' apple pie.
Cons: main meals. Not even freshly made chips and mashed potato - is that a crime?
Location: Great location, absolutely beautiful.
The pub itself was what you would expect from a traditional English pub. The food was very average, the chips which are difficult to get wrong were hard. The food was bought in microwaved food, which is only ever going to be average at best. Saying that we asked what home-made puddings they had - apple pie and that was lovely. Instead of micro food, they should have less choice but home made quality food and they would be full all year around. The breakfast was good, the rooms were just ok. The accommodation did what it said on the tin, but for the same price The Hilton in Bristol was in a different league. Maybe not to compare the two. The food is the main obstacle to a better experience. There was only one choice of red and white wine, surely not in a pub. Think of the mark up on bottle of decent wine?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Prima doorgangshotel

Posted Aug 4, 2013
In het verlaten Dartmoor liggen de hotels niet voor het oprapen. Het East Dart Hotel vonden we een gemoedelijk hotel met de uitstraling die past bij een hotel in een dergelijk gebied. De kamers vonden we voldoende tot goed. Shampoo miste in de douche, maar dat hadden we toch zelf bij ons. Wifi was alleen in het restaurant beschikbaar wat voor ons minder prettig was, maar niet onoverkomelijk. Het ontbijt was prima, zoals ook het eten in het restaurant (wel op z'n Engels vet). Mooi plekje in Dartmoor, direct om de hoek gelegenheid tot korte wandelingen (vanaf het riviertje) en op een paar minuten lopen de bushalte.