Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Julie from Milwaukee

No ghosts, but no heat either!

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels
Upon arrival with a reservation for a "Deluxe Room", it took staff an hour (4pm on a Friday) to locate an acceptable room for us. It was dark outside & dark inside (we had to ask for the hallway, stairway lights to be turned on). During the weekend that we stayed there, the public areas (sitting, dining, front entry and check-in areas) were unreasonably COLD. In fact, we complained to Randy, the all-purpose staff person on Sunday @ 11:00 am that the Dining Room was too cold, but he came out of the kitchen, shrugged & the thermostat remained at 61 degrees! It has the potential to be a grand historic hotel, but needs up-dating, heat, lights and a staff that can recognize this as well as provide some semblance of customer service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Rundown hotel with inattentive staff

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: It was in the town where I was attending a party
Cons: Everything.
Location: Near the lake, a bowling alley and some good restaurants in Kewaunee
This is one of the few hotels in the area so I was more or less stuck staying here for a nearby event. While the room and hotel were more or less clean, it is very clearly run-down with poor signage and staff who weren't paying attention to the front desk. The only nice thing about the bathroom was that the water was hot - I've never seen a hair dryer so old! I couldn't find an outlet in the bathroom either. I was terrified I'd burn the place down ironing my dress.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dominique from Wauwatosa, WI

Time Travel in Hotel Stay

Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels
This was the most interesting adventure in "Hotel Stays" ever!! Truly unique! It was literally like stepping back in time. New mattresses and working TVs might be nice when they can be afforded, but in a way these things almost added to the charm and eeriness of the stay. (We were informed that new windows are in the budget for 2015). I do believe we may have been the only people in the building the night we stayed - super cool in my opinion - you could have heard a pin drop - our a ghost shuffle? We will return:)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Elizabeth from Oconomowoc, WI

Musty and dusty

Posted Dec 20, 2014 on Hotels
This was our third time staying at this hotel and we were very disappointed. The room smelled musty and dirty. The beds were poorly made and the bed linens smelled so stale and dusty, I got a sinus headache. The sink did not drain. We arrived late after a Monday night Packer game, so didn't have an option to try a different hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kaye from Blue Mound

What a great stay!

Posted Dec 17, 2014 on Hotels
We had a fabulous stay at the Karsten. My brother,sister, and I were all in town to celebrate my dad's 90th birthday and the staff could not have been any friendlier or helpful, they even had the chef prepare a special birthday lunch for us on Sunday (and it was deeeeeeee-lish!!!) We are looking forward to our next visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

First class operation!

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: Antiques, atmosphere, staff.
Location: Green Bay, Door County, Lambeau Field, Lake Michigan.
We stayed here 2 nights for a Packers game, 30 minutes from Lambeau and cheapest price in the area. Classic 100+ year old hotel nicely updated with modern amenities and wifi. Nice antiques throughout, hotel bar/grille, and free breakfast. Very friendly staff and they even mailed me an item that I left in the room. If you are expecting the Ritz Carlton, stay at the Ritz Carlton. If you want a great classic hotel in a friendly small town on Lake Michigan, this is the place. I would not hesitate to stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

One night stay

Posted Nov 15, 2014 on Hotels
A little noisy at night. The bathroom was large and clean, but there was a large bug in it at night. Also, there was no hot water the next morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

a gem in the rough--needs polish!

Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels
the historical significance and charm of this hotel needs to be exploited by the management. there is so much that could give this place a "wow" factor when people stay here. the lobby has such potential, and it felt like a storage locker. rooms were adequate, not sure if the price was inflated due to the weekend. nice getaway spot, though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute town..wonderful hotel

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Lovely hotel to stay at Made our Green Bay packer game memorable