Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Bathoom was very small and toilet a sink were constantly clogged. Our room wasn't cleaned daily even when we requested! We ran out of cups and towels. The desk staff was ice and helpful. We have stayed here in the past but we probably won't stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Creede, CO

Unexpected surprise

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: The loft, the freezer in the fridge and the breakfast room
Location: North of town and would be closer to the ski area. but easy to get to town as well.
Check-in was fast and the staff was very friendly. Our room was right by the office and on ground level. I opened the door and saw only one bed. Then I noticed a staircase that lead up to a loft with the other bed which was great for privacy, we had our son with us. There was a fridge with a good freezer, a microwave and a little table. The continental breakfast was a surprise also with waffles, cereal, orange and cranberry juices blueberry muffins and nice fresh bagels all in a nice comfortable, sunny breakfast room. This hotel is on the north end of town, we though we'd passed it, but it was easy to see when we got there and being up there was easy in and out, no traffic, and nice a quiet. We will stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Did not realize that the hotel had full time residents, and not very clean. my purse got stolen at the hotel also. So I will not be going back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Won't return

Posted Nov 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Heater didn't work. Toilet was clogged. TV remote didn't work. Ok for a bed to sleep in but not a good place for more than one night. Needs work.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Durango NM

Unhappy with services

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: The bed was comfortable.
Cons: Coffee in the room, blow dryer, clock bedside!
Location: Iron Horse is a little out of town but there are various places to eat. We got there in the evening, so didn't do much else, we were passing through.
This room had no coffee maker in the room. No blow dryer, and you had to walk out across the parking lot to get your cold continental breakfast. Oh, the did not even have a clock in the room! Very disappointed in this room! We will not be staying with Iron Horse Inn again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Not great but economical

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: You can park close to the room making it easy to unload.
Cons: Air conditioner - too loud and does not reach loft.
Location: The location is a little far from Durango - can’t walk to nearby shops and convenience stores.
The hotel is a little old. bathroom is old and small. Loft room is a little hot. Air conditioner is loud. The pool is nice and clean. I like the fact that you can park your car close to the room so it is easier to unload a traveling family. Vending machine didnt work.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2014
It was clean and if you're into the steam train the Durango Silverton it actually goes right behind the hotel rooms and that was why we stayed there
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Aurora, CO

Disappointment with the Iron Horse.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
I was very disappointed that they refused to give me a receipt. I needed a receipt because I was on a business trip. I need that for reimbursement. I won't make anymore reservations through Expedia if this is corporate policy. The person that told me this was working the morning of the 30th. He was in his late 20's. I had no cable guide or privacy sign. The internet was only available in the lobby. That is not acceptable in this day and age. I will be staying at the comfort inn my next business trip to Durango, Colorado.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location to city and silverton-durango train

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Spent a great 4th in Durango, shuttle was handy way to downtown with 4th traffic and picks up at hotel. Great view of sil/dur train which goes by hotel.