Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Maaz from Toronto

for the price this hotel is horrible

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything customer service to hospitality
washroom curtains were dirty, the dirtiest washroom I have ever been to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by corinne from fort saint john B.C.

very nice it was close to where i had to go

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: it was close to where i had to go and all the people where friendly room was clead and very comfortable
Location: shopping and hospitals are very near close by industryl area and highway16
it was very peacefull and awesome and very friendly workers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

good place to lay your head but no frills

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Room comfortable and quiet.
Cons: General entrance area dingy
Location: Good location re access to major roads
room surprisingly quiet despite the busy local. Very comfortable. Breakfast good with friendly waitress. Front desk not so friendly even a tad chaotic. Hotel environs sub par. Hint of cigarette smoke throughout.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was still under construction the Hotel itself,

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: none
Cons: Cooling system has to change all the places.
On that night it was terribly hot at night so it was so uncomfortable to sleep. I have never had such situation in the hotel of 3 stars. The people are kind enough to try to please us but it was different the problem that hotel has.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robyn from Botha AB

Close to Rexall Place

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Although undergoing major exterior construction the hotel was very nice for the short amount of time we were there. Location is great. But very smoky smelling at night.
2 out of 5
by Cami from Saint John, NB

Hotel was under construction.

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: I had a comfortable sleep.
Cons: More communication with the hotel so we could be more informed.
Location: Location seem to be in a rough neighborhood. Was nothing to do near by. Anyway we traveled cost from $25 to $65 to go by cab.
Did not know hotel was under construction. Would not have booked if I had known. Staff were slow to address issues. Breakfast was not included as was indicated on the website. Hotel seemed to be located in a bit of a rough neighborhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Luc from Canmore

Bad feeling at 1st

Posted May 20, 2014
We were there for Luke Bryan concert. When we got there we regretted our booking but once in the hotel, the staff were lovely. The rooms are awesome for the price; very comfortable bed. At night they have a pub, the food is nothing fancy but once again very decent for the price! Thank you Sands hotel staff! Good luck in the future and with the renovations. Luc
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sara from Edson, AB

Close to Rexall

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: Conveniently located near Rexall
Cons: The shower was awful...either super hot water or super cold water, which fluctuated through out the shower. No happy medium.
Location: Close to Northlands and Rexall.
This hotel is walking distance from Rexall and is why we picked it. It's not great, it's not horrible. I would stay again, but not for a nice trip, just for the convenience. We stayed there while going to a concert. The beds were comfortable enough and the rooms were clean enough. The bathroom could use an upgrade, and also the elevator. There were some very loud guests on our floor at 3:00 am, but it was to be expected considering a lot of people probably did stay there for the concert, and had just gotten back from the bar. The front desk staff wasn't overly friendly, but they were efficient.
2 out of 5
by Al from Halifax, NS

OK hotel in a dodgy area

Posted May 13, 2014
Cons: Lots
It was okay. The room was relatively small. 2nd floor is no smoking, but first floor's is... so smoke was creeping up to the 2nd floor. Ice machine didn't work. Outdoor was under construction.
1 out of 5
by ABA Hair Show from Edmonton

WORST HOTEL EXPERIENCE EVER!!!

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: Close to Expo Centre
Cons: EVERYTHING!!!!!!
Location: Close to Expo Centre and Rexall Centre
I'll try to keep it brief . . . Exterior half under construction with a mess all around, looked like a war ravished zone. Not a nice area of town. Elevator worked "sometimes". Was there for three nights - no maid service showed on day two. Was told a specific maid service request was required or else no-one comes. Therefore towels, washcloths, coffee not replaced/refreshed. Asked for fresh towels and coffee. Was told the coffee could not be refilled! But the guy gave in and said since I voiced a complaint - he would give me complimentary coffee?!!??! So the next morning we put a maid request sign on the door - still no service. We were told our beds weren't completely free of personal items so they won't touch them. One of our companion rooms experienced an issue with the toilet not flushing - they were told to come down to the front desk and get a plunger! Went to get ice and the machine was out. We were handed an ice bucket and told to go to the bar and ask the bar-tender for ice (we were in our PJ'S!) Customer is NOT #1 with these guys! They have absolutely no idea about hospitality! DON'T BOOK HERE!