Ratings based on 428 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Winnipeg, Mb., Canada

Worst stay ever

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: It was clean enough. The employees we friendly.
Cons: Security, safety, not allowing drunks to party all in the hallway. Enforcing the rules (quiet by 10:00 P.M.),
Location: Not great if you want to go shopping at West Aces Mall or by any of the major outlets. Out of the way for dining too. Not a great location.
Our recent stay at the Howard Johnson in Fargo was by far our worst hotel experience to date. I travel constantly with business and also use hotels at least 3 times a year for personal vacation so I use hotels at least a dozen time a year. When we booked our room we were not informed that half the hotel was booked with people in town for a hockey tournament. These people were all booked in our area in the hotel, next door, across the hall and all the way down the hall. The first night, Friday, once the pool closed at 10:00 and the kids stopped running up and down the halls the parents took their turn. There were drunk people in the hallway until at least 3:00 A.M. They were yelling, laughing, swearing, using the ice machine every 10 minutes not giving any thought or concern for the other patrons in the hotel. Even when the staff asked them to quiet down it did not stop. On Saturday we considered moving to another hotel. We were only in town for a couple days and did not want to spend half our Saturday trying to find 2 rooms at another hotel. We thought there would be no way Friday night's escapades would be repeated. We couldn't have been more wrong. The partying was louder and lasted until 4:00 A.M. this time. I am currently in the process of trying to get a full refund from The Howard Johnson. I hope they do the right thing. This experience ruined our weekend! I would NOT recommend this hotel to any sane person who is just looking for a quiet, safe place to stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MN

Convenient location

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Clean room, nice staff. Indoor pool. Continental breakfast. Had a good experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom North Dakota

I would sleep in mu car before I would stay here

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: The food in the Restaurant was good and the waitress was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Cleaning, cleaning and cleaning. Security guards for safety, remodeling, new bedding and mattresses.
Location: The locating was great, Downtown and close to the event center. Nice little Restaurants around and you can walk down the Broadway 5 min. away.
The matrasses was old and the bedding was smelling, the bathroom was dirty and many thinks like the mirror and the faucet was broken. The noises in the hotel was going on all night long . People talking, Door slamming middle in the night at 2am. The swimming area was dirty, so I was not going swimming that all. I could not find a exciting room that all. Windows in the entered area are dirty. You would think it is foggy outside. I was glad to leave on the next day. I was sleeping in a lot of hotels in my life, some cheap motels for $25 was better than the room in this hotel for over $70. The Restaurant is right in the middle of a entre door and people walking constantly trough this little Restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Smack Dab in The Middle of Fargo

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Older clients, not the normal riff raff one encounters in many North Dakota inns.
Cons: everything was fine, for the price and location
Location: walking distance to many bars, restaurants and mental hospitals.
It was a dark and stormy night when I arrived, the staff was kind and courteous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was clean and comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Laura

Plan to stay again when we have more time

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very pleasantly surprised at the whole experience for such a reasonable price. We needed just a one-night stay, but will book this property again. Comfy beds, nice pool and hot tub area. Very decent breakfast, very friendly staff. Convenient to downtown area and park.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom l

Rooms clean and comfortable

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Older hotel would stay again. For price I was surprised how good the room was. Met our needs.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Never Again!!!

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Besides the FOUR times it took to actually get a keycard that would work on occasion, and the long hairs from a previous customer laying on the bathroom floor, and the peeling bathtub, door that you had to shove to get to close, lousy area, the smell in the hallways, ya it was perfect!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unfortunate choice

Posted Oct 20, 2014
This hotel was not what we expected. It was not clean and our toiletries were used. We also found some belongings of previous customers. It was not a good experience. The hotel staff was excellent and was friendly and helpful. They were polite and apologetic.