Ratings based on 462 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MN

Good stay

Posted May 10, 2015
Staff was amazing, very friendly. Hotel room was clean, basic looking room. No complaints. Great location to downtown.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Phoenix

Bait and Swith

Posted May 5, 2015
They took a CC at check in and charged it , but when i checked out the receipt showed a balance due. Two days later when I ended my trip and was working on expenses , I noticed they had charged my bank account as well, information provided during online reservation to hold room. When I called the person who answered, hung up on me, when I called back they admitted to doing so, then later denied. This hotel employee, Kaley, hung up on me , refused to allow me to speak with GM and then just transferred me to a voice mail. Will never stay here again and you can not trust these people with you personal information
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

perfect location

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: would like a microwave and fridge in room and updated bathroom.
Location: great location next to the civic centre and lots of restaurants to walk to.
Was right where we wanted to be - not room to park on lot due to extra activities taking place at the hotel. Quiet stay considering what was all going on. the beds were comfortable. Rooms a little outdated but clean.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ericfrom Sunburg

Fargo HJ

Posted Feb 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
Kids running in the halls until 2 am. Mornings reminded me of a prison movie when you hear all of the cell doors slam.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fargo Howard Johnson's downtown.

Posted Feb 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
Too old and run down. Needs a complete makeover.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Hannah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kevinfrom Grand Forks, ND

O.K.

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
This was not the best, nor the worst, hotel. It was just eh. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. We ate in the restaurant and it was good and reasonable priced. The free breakfast was not good at all. The pool was a little on the chilly side and a bit murky. There were TONS of kids and adults swimming though. The hotel does not have an elevator, so if you need one, do not book here. Or ask to be put on the first floor. This hotel is good if you just want a place to sleep and have other things to do in downtown Fargo. It is walking distance to Broadway (I went to see a band at Dempsey's) and close to some other attractions. My room did have a refidgerator and microwave, which was nice. This review may be a bit ambivelant, but I can't really say too many good, or bad, things about the hotel. It's just kinda there. We booked on Hotels.com and with taxes and fees paid almost $100. I don't feel it was a good value but I don't think hotels are a good value period. Even the worst one is expensive. Anyway, this hotel is ok if you're not going to spend a ton of time in your room or at the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Grand Forks, ND

Two Room Suite Not so Sweet

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: The bed was very comfortable. It is downtown in Fargo so close enough to walk to places if the weather is good. Fine if you can get the room cheap.
Cons: Mark off that you have cleaned each room every day. Update the furniture and decoration. Get the phone fixed so it is next to the bed.
Location: Very cold when we stayed so you had to drive everywhere. Very close to everything downtown Fargo has to offer which is a lot.
We were told we had a two room suite, sounds nice doesn't it? The room is completely outdated with big empty spaces, broken down furniture, few pictures on the walls. Spent two hours getting the cable to work on one of the tvs. The walls have dents and cracks like it had seen much better days. The furniture literally is falling apart with dressers having broken out backs, and bent in the middle like too much weight was on them. The office chair did not sit up straight the other chair in the room had the bottom falling out. The pull out sofa wall had no decoration just black streaks across the walls. The bed in the bedroom is right next to the wall heater that runs nonstop so either too hot or too cold and never a good temperature through the night. There is a big open empty floor space that looks large enough for a second bed and a broken down wall unit with drawers along the other wall. The phone in the bedroom was cordless, one problem the plugin is across the room so you have to leave it sitting in the middle of the floor to be plugged in and attached to the landline. We left the room at noon on the second day and got back at 8:45 at night. Our room was not touched; the front desk girl took our trash and brought us clean towels leaving the dirty towels in a pile and no new soaps/shampoos. Ice machine leaked all over the floor leaving a puddle to walk through.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Got the job done

Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Hotels.com
We needed to be close to the hospital, so this got the job done. Overall our room was very clean. The cable did not work for entire first night we were there. Rooms were pretty outdated. I would definitely have chosen somewhere else, had I not needed to be close to Sanford on Broadway.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by chadfrom Winnipeg

convenient, but needs a MAKE OVER, BAD.

Posted Feb 15, 2015 on Hotels.com
First room we had there was used crewing tobacco package Inbetween our mattress and. Box spring. Moved us to another room no problem . The room was basic, there was rusting fixtures and towel holders in the bathroom. It just felt dirty , old and in need of a Reno for sure. They have a nice location , I don't know why they can't fix this place up. Until they do, I'll just pay the extra 30 anight and goto to the nearby Radisson. Time for a Make over!!!!