Ratings based on 344 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sao Paulo, Brazil

Affordable

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Affordable
Cons: Cleanness outside the rooms
Location: 300ft from I-95 and Commercial blvd
Good location near I-95, close to Fort Lauderdale and very affordable
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Palm Beach, FL

Upgrade needed

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: The location, really close to I-95
Cons: The hotel needs upgrades, things are rusted, there are ants in the room, etc.
Location: Mainly fast food resturants.
This is hotel is in need of many upgrades. It is really a family oriented hotel. There were a lot of children left unattended all over the place. The walls are really thin, you can hear kids running up and down all over. The staff is pleasant and there are fast food places all around, which are good points if that is what you are looking for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from spring hill florida

Bed

Posted Jul 14, 2014
The hotel was awesome very kid friendly. Only issue was the bed was loud when you moved. My kids tossed and turned which means I got no sleep. Asked the hotel staff to move, they were very happy to do that. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Nice hotel for the price!

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive, very comfortable, pleasant staff
Cons: Hotter water!
Location: Nice location, close to the airport and eateries
We were visiting from Dallas, Texas we would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
hotel staff was great, especially maritxa. room was nice, but bed was a bit firm.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Please renovate this Hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: 21/2 Stars this a relic from the early nineties.
Cons: New furniture and linens an updated pool area,the air conditioning should be improved the room got too stuffy at times.
Location: the location was great, it should live up to money they charge, you are close by KFC, McDonald's expressways, gas stations, stores.
When I arrived the Front Desk Staff was very friendly, however when I got to the room there was a strong odor it smelled like urine, the maintenance guy arrived and told me that they had just shampooed the carpet however the smell did not go away, it got so bad I had to use my expensive perfume in order to counter act this smell, I was told by the front desk if I needed to change let them know but by that time I had unpacked and did not feel like moving. The final straw was on Saturday, I had hung the Please Clean My Room sign on the outside of the door, they did bring fresh towels which I had requested by asking the clerk at the Front desk but they did not clean my room, I was tempted not to leave a tip but they had cleaned the room the previous days. The Lobby and the pictures from the website will fool you everything is old from the bed linens to the furniture.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Experience

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Excellent customer service. Super helpful and nice! The pool was great. Once you go out there you will feel like you are somewhere else.
Cons: I would like to see fridges in all their rooms. I know they do have rooms with a fridge but not all of them
Location: I didn't know the area that well but I felt that it was center located. Not too many things to go around but you could drive everywhere
The whole experience at the Universal Palms hotel was very good. Especially if you can get a room looking to the pool. Once you are down at the pool, no matter where the hotel is located you feel like at a resort by the beach. I really liked it. The room was big enough for two people and luggages. The ladies who helped with the check-in at front desk, Pamela and Maritsa were amazing, very friendly and helpful. I would totally go back
1 out of 5
by I from boston

Awful

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Awful. They need need some serious upgrading. Very disappointed
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sean from Philadelphia

Better than average

Posted May 21, 2014
I don't like heights and they gave me a fifth floor room. Meaning I had to look five flights down to concrete everytime I left out the room. Thankfully they allowed us to change our room. Free drinks were good. Offered a morning buffet for a great price. Everything accessible from here. Rooms could use some improvements ( better carpets, better furniture condition)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Miguel from Houston, TX

Ft Lauderdale hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Front Desk attention (Maritxa was awesome)
Cons: Room bathroom needs some repairs
Location: Well location, easy to access
Nice hotel, good cleaning and front desk excellent attention