Ratings based on 1,305 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas. TX

Friendly staff. Relaxed atmosphere. Great view

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Wonderful time. Beautiful location. Reasonable price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Montgomery, TX

Commodore On The Beach Review

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness, location, close to lots of Galveston touristy activity. Charming brick walls. And the views from the balcony!
Cons: Microwave/frig, more luggage carts. Cushioned chairs in room to replace hard back; a dinette table and/or desk
Location: Pleasure Pier, the downtown Strand, many restaurants, beaches, Moody Gardens, etc.
Started a bit on wrong foot as the exterior in the back was not elegant and parking initially looked unsafe. And the staff had my reservation down for the wrong month (9/23-9/25) even though the Expedia reservation showed correctly as 1/23-1/25. I was able to show my confirmation so the staff quickly corrected the error with no extra charge consequence. Though surprised that some room amenities normally offered today in most hotels were not included (no frig, microwave, dinette table / desk, more breakfast food, etc), we decided for the price for the location that those were minor issues. The room was actually quaint/charming with the brick wall, and the view was gorgeous! Very clean also. Traffic a bit noisy, but no fault of the hotel. Bottom line, if you want luxury, this is not the place. But if wanting a good location and comfortable place at low cost with a stunning view, this is the place. After all, with so much to do in Galveston, one would not be spending a lot of time in the hotel room during his/her stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Arkansas

Run down and dirty

Posted Jan 21, 2015
There was hair on the toilet. There was hair in the sink and one of the bath towels was dirty. Place was in serious need of renovation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

trip 2015

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: beautiful view
Cons: heating staff be more pleasent
Location: galvaston texas
room was too cold staff sent cab away saying we werent there. we were waiting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas

Great for a pre-cruise stay of a night or two

Posted Jan 19, 2015
It's on the island and right across the street from the beach. I'm not certain, but it looked like every room had a view of the water and there was plenty of parking (once you realized there was a second lot). The decor wasn't the most modern, but everything was clean, the beds were comfortable and every staff member I spoke to was more than pleasant (especially Randy). We were allowed to check in two hours early (which isn't uncommon elsewhere, but it seems to be very abnormal for Galveston, at least in my experience). The breakfast was fairly normal for a continental breakfast with coffee available in the lobby 24 hours a day. The only real downside for me was that the television got only three channels (one of which was the Galveston information channel) so I couldn't watch the football game. On the bright side that forced us to leave the room and go find something to do when we probably wouldn't have otherwise. All in all, I have no real reason to look for anywhere else the next time we're in town prior to departing on a cruise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom louisiana

Price matches the hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: Price
Cons: Better beds
Location: Good location
This hotel was ok. We got it for a very cheap price, so overall I am satisfied, even though we had ants eating candy from previous renter.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom texas

hum

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: pool good but needs heat for winter. Close to beach. Does have parking for cruises
Cons: Bathrooms need to be updated. No coffee pot or fridge. Older Motel
Little disappointed. Good location but motel needs update and a better breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston Tx

Nice Hotel near the beach

Posted Jan 9, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay! All rooms have a great view of the beach! Love the patios! We will definitely stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Centrally located on the Seawall and just a short drive to the Strand, with a nice restaurant next door and nice views of the beach just what we wanted.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom neb

Nice view but no basic fridge and microwave

Posted Jan 4, 2015
There is no microwave or fridge or coffee in room. Very inconvienient! It had a great view but the heater made a buzzing noise all night