Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kent Otaunyfrom Tokyo, Japan

Great garden and quiet environment

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was impressed at the beautiful, historical Japanese garden, and the quiet environment in the Hakone mountains. Enjoyed staying with my wife. Althought spacious, this hotel seems not to have been renovated for years. The air conditioner works well; however, it is hard to control (i.e., either too warm or too cool.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom SEOUL

한적한 위치에 있어서 조용하게 보낼수 있으며 바로 앞에 유넷상이 있어서 편리

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: 조용하고 한적한 분위기
Cons: 예약을 받았으면 고객에 대한 정보는 제대로 파악해야 하는게 당연한데 일정을 몰라서 2일이라 알고 있었으며 수정했다고는 하나 신경을 쓰게 만든점은 개선해야 할점입니다.
일단 익스피디아 와 커뮤니케이션이 제대로 되지 않은거 같아서 처음에 1박을 묵는것을 2박으로 알아들어서 난감했으며 왜 인지 모르겠지만 체크아웃시 목욕세 목적으로 일인당 150엔. 즉 300엔을 청구해서 난감했다는걸 빼면 방도 넓었고 외곽에 위치했다지만 바로 앞에 24시간 편의점이 있었던건 상당히 유리한 위치에 있었습니다.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom tokyo

Good access to all attraction sites

Posted Jul 3, 2014
We only needed a place to stay for one night and Kowakien was more than adequate. You can get almost all the buses from outside the hotel, so you're in easy reach of all of Hakone's main attractions. The hotel itself has a beautiful garden and onsen. The ascetics of the hotel could do with a renovation as it's very dated but it was clean and our room was spacious (small twin). Equally the staff were very pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by 도톨스러브from 대한민국

넓은 객실

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
체크인은 정확히 2시에 해주었지만 키를 받아들고 방으로 가보니 스위트룸같이 넓은 객실로 업그레이드를 해주어서 좋았다. 3층에 있는 온천은 아담했지만 운치있고 좋았다. 비가 너무 많이 와서 버스와 기차가 끊겨버려서 택시를 타고 가야했는데 체크아웃때 말을 해주지 않아서 버스정류장에서 한참을 기다리다가 현지관공서 사람이 알려줘서 다시 호텔로 들어와서 택시를 기다리다가 탄건 아쉽다. 체크아웃때 말해줬으면 비내리는 길에서 기다리지 않았을텐데..
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Stevefrom New Zealand

Great location and large hotel in Hakone

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
This a large hotel facility in a great location in Hakone. Beautiful gardens. Quiet, lovely views, indoor and outdoor onsen, close to train station, bus stop right outside, Family Mart 1 minute walk away and close to Gora and other restaurants. Free car parking on site. Nice rooms. Clean. Good facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Large, well kept Hotel in the middle of Hakone

Posted May 18, 2014
Nice, well kept hotel. The onsen at the hotel was a nice experience, their massage parlour was actually cheap (relatively, 6300 yen for 1 hour massage) but their restaurants are ridiculously expensive. Cheaper to cross the street to the Family Mart or go to the food court at Yunessen spa (also across the street). Most hotels in Hakone were very expensive when we traveled so I don't know if we got a deal vs other hotels. This one has a nice garden and is easily accessible with the hakone pass.
3 out of 5
by Nicolefrom Canberra

Hotel in a good location

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: Bus dropped us right to the door. Was a good location. There was a FamilyMart convenience shop super close by. Had beautiful gardens.
Cons: Bathroom needed a massive overhaul and to to cleaned. The rest of the room from a cleanliness aspect was good.
Hi The hotel was ok. We booked 2 non-smoking rooms but were allocated to smoking rooms. We spoke to the staff who immediately offered to deodorise it as there were no other rooms available and they would move us the following day. We asked if there was no alternative and they managed to find a family room. We decided to stay there for the 3 nights rather than move. It was huge and very comfortable. The facilities were good at the hotel. The bathroom was very disappointing. There was long black hair hanging from the shower and it looked as if everything needed a good scrub. It seemed very expensive for what you got. However, it is hard to comment fairly since we never actually saw the rooms we had paid for. We had originally booked a garden view on the 6th floor but with the room change we were on the ground floor with pipes and some sort of machinery which gave off a constant sound. Though it was not loud enough to keep us awake.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by JY1969

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com