Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Sean from Reading

Southampton hotel review

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Staff, cleanliness
Cons: Comfort and resteraunt food.
Location: Good location for town and cruise ships
I booked this hotel as generally my experience with Holiday Inn hotels has always been positive. Location for town and cruise ships, Excellent Car park - large no issues finding a space, extra charge £7 for the day and no extra charge when we left the car to do some shopping in the afternoon, so positive. Staff at reception- Excellent , staff were very helpful and courteous. Booked in for and evening meal- seating was basic, felt like I was in a travelodge and it was noisier than I would like, but for a one night stay it was fine. Food was average to poor , slightly burnt burger and fries were awful. My wife ordered pork and mash meal they got the order wrong. Everything seemed a bit hectic and unorganised. Bedroom 405 , looked fine and was clean so it looked like it would be perfect for a good nights sleep, unfortunatly it was the worst nights sleep we ever had, the mattress needed changing as we both kept rolling to the centre of the bed. Bathroom was old fashioned but was clean and the shower was okay. Evening drinks in the bar, slightly noisy for us but okay, seating wasn't great so we only had one drink in bar, I expected a bit more comfort. Breakfast- altough chaotic the food was of a good standard and clean. In summary the hotels is okay, but not particularly comfortable, the bar and restaurants would be more at home at a motorway services than a hotel. For £99 I don't expect the Ritz but I am disappointed.
3 out of 5
by Hugh from Mere, Wiltshire, UK

Not Worth Repeating

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Absolutely nothing.
Cons: Everything!
Location: There's a smarter hotel immediately across the street. If I hadn't pre-paid, I think I'd have moved there instead.
This branch of Holiday Inn is a huge disappointment - reminds me of hotels behind the Iron Curtain in the bad old days. Demolition and rebuilding would help. However, the really low point was the appalling service in the restaurant at dinner - we waited 1/2 hour for our main course. This was because the hotel had a coach party of 50+ people and gave priority to laying out their buffet dinner in preference to executing orders from individual diners.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by SUN from LONDON

GREAT

Posted Feb 18, 2014
GREAT. Locating at harbor, just near sea. GOOD VIEW, can see docks and ships from room windows. Just essential facilities in room. Staffs are great, friendly, and helpful.
1 out of 5
by Aaron from Shanghai

No good at all

Posted Feb 7, 2014
really poor do not stay at this hotel! Room is small, decoration is poor and you need take extra care for their breakfast voucher that was recommended by their staff. overall poor experience and do not come. Next time' come to the opposite hotel as it seems quite nice.
2 out of 5
by tracie from whiteley, hants

Good location pity about the hotel!

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Good location for main Southampton and cruise ships. Very dated hotel with it in dire need of a overhaul. Was there on New Year's Eve and all we heard till 4.30am was music from the night club close to the hotel. In the morning the receptionist had a face on her as long as next week but definately didn't want to be at work, and it showed. Not even a hello, did you enjoy your stay etc. Won't be staying again and won't recommend either.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Debbie from Hartlepool

great location, overlooking the water.

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: friendly staff, clean rooms and lovely breakfast
Cons: free parking would be good, and some parts of the deoration are poorly finished(showing signs of age)
Location: close to shopping centre and docks,passenger ferry to Isle of Wight, and Southampton boat show(when its on) also lots of nearby pubs
our 2nd stay in Holiday Inn Southampton, great location for our trip for a Sunseeker Exprience on a powerboat.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Practicle location for cruise boarding

Posted Sep 23, 2013
Pros: The location is hard to beat for easy access to cruise docking facilities & major land transportation sys & its reasonable pricing. The pool is a plus
Cons: The hotel is deceiving by its worn down facilities, there are no personal safety box in the room, their restaurant prices are excessive.
Location: see above comments
The hotel is well located for traveler going on a cruise, the hotel is close ( walking distance) to cruise ship docks, the train station & the National Express Coach Station. The hotel is also very close( walking distance) to the historic Southampton district where there are a good variety of pubs, restaurants, museums and the West Quay Mall & shopping center.
2 out of 5
by World Traveler from RI

No More Holiday Inn for Me

Posted Sep 13, 2013
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Allow free early check in on a first come first served basis like most hotels. The goodwill created by this will encourage repeat travelers.
Location: Not much. It is just convenient to the cruise ship.
We recently spent a night at this Holiday Inn on our way to pick up a Baltic Cruise. After being up all night on an international flight we requested early check in. We were told we could have it for an additional 20 pounds. Of course, we paid it as we were exhausted but in all our times traveling we have NEVER been charged for early check in. If a room is available we have always been readily accommodated. I think the charge for this was opportunistic and I will never stay at any of their hotels again. I will return to the Marriott and others who gladly accommodate exhausted travelers when possible. The room was over priced and the staff was less than helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Alan from Vancouver, BC

University visit

Posted Mar 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent