Ratings based on 909 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Portland Oregon

Renovations that never end

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: clean
Cons: about everything could use a lift
Location: garden down the street is nice
This is really the only affordable hotel in Hilo. But, its been under renovations now for years. I have stayed here a few times, and well...its ok..not great. but better than the one down the street. My advice to Vacationers...stay somewhere else if you want normal resort stuff..If you are just in town for the night on business..its the cleanest place in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UP of Mi

Great view from the Lanai,

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Location, pool and the grounds were beautiful.
Cons: Another chair or two. A table on the Lanai and a mirror in the bedroom area.
Location: Great restaurants and park within walking distance.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Coffee and water at the desk was very much appreciated. Even though there was a fire alarm episode the staff was calm and thoughtful. A special thanks to Cheryl, Allison and our night security man !!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Hotel Stay

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: It had rooms available
Cons: Price and full disclosure about percieved value
For above average price per-night, the hotel was disapointing. While the room was clean, the matresses and sheets were very old a not similar standard we see at other hotels in this price range. No fan or phone in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington DC

Good hotel close to the beach, nice wxperience

Posted Feb 22, 2015
At first you are kind of hesitant but in the end you loved everything about it. My stay in Naniloa was very good, they made me feel comfortable, they were good when I requested something.Beside that the hotel is under renovation everything else was pretty good. I will be back next year for sure.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Crisis Maagement

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: The hourly staff, such as house keeping were all very friendly and management could learn from them.
Cons: Get someone with people skills to manage.
Location: Beautiful location. The near-by park is a joy to walk in.
When we booked our room at this hotel we knew that they were going through renovations and certain amenities were not available, such as a restaurant and bar. What we found was a hotel run on crisis mode and understaffed. Any time you mention a problem they use the excuse that they are going renovations. Some idiot pulled the fire alarm when we were there early one night and a recording and an alarm came on to evacuate the building. All the guests did this and management had no contact with us during the entire ordeal. We found out it was a false alarm by a guest going into the hotel to see what the status was. When we went in, they were busy checking in new guests. This hotel has great potential, but not with this management team in charge. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom korea

깨끗하고 편안한 호텔..

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: 친절함, 깨끗함
Cons: 뜨거운 물이 공급이 안됨.
직원도 매우 친절하고 객실도 깨끗하고 가격에 비해서 매우 만족스러운 호텔입니다. 하지만 무선인터넷(와이파이)는 매우 약해서 거의 안 잡힘.. 우리나라가 와이파이는 짱인듯.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Friendly staff Hotel staff working hard with hotel upgrade construction on going.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

construction happening, noisy

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: friendly staff
There was a lot of construction happening; which came with it noise. The doors slammed at night which made a lot of noise. No WIFI in the rooms because of the construction. Wish I knew about this.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Good location. Easy to find

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Very dated
Hotel under renovation so may have affected rating. Very basic room. No extra chair for sitting and reading or visiting. Bed was comfortable. Adequate for overnight stay and travelling on next day
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Great location

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: Good location, easy to find
Cons: Room furniture. Desk could use a refinishing.
Location: Good central location.
The room was pretty basic. There were no lounge or easy chairs. You had to sit or lie on the bed to watch tv. Bed was very comfortable. Room and bathroom were spacious