Ratings based on 442 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas

Short stay convenient

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Hotel is older but has the local charm. Good experience with a very nice staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver BC

No wifi, unable to use air con

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: Looked attractive and in a nice area close to the water.
Cons: Wifi and air con
Location: Need to drive into the town of Hilo, too far to walk if you are older.
Room and entrance area to hotel seemed attractive. Room was comfortable but had no internet at all and front desk was extremely unhelpful about this. Did not care when I said I would be writing a poor review on Expedia. We were unable to use the air con because it sounded like a freight train intermittently starting and stopping. Had to sleep with the door open and the very loud frog and people sounds coming in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Fine for a nite's sleep. Convenient location. Building is getting old & worn. Halls need a few decorative furnishings. Nice size room/private lanai.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

Old Hawaii at its best

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: Coqui frogs everywhere! It's nice to drift off to sleep to the sound.
Cons: I've stayed here multiple times, and every room I've had needs a new sliding glass door. You will sprain your back trying to get it open.
Location: After you hurt your back trying to get onto your balcony, head to the farmer's market for a quick massage, and then grab some fresh produce.
If you're looking for a typical post-card tourist trip to Hawaii, stay in Kona. Uncle Billy's Hilo embodies the Hawaii of yesteryear. If you want to experience what Hawaii was like before radical over development started destroying the islands, this is a great place to be.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom LosAngeles

Posted Oct 8, 2014
I will not recommend to any of my friend to stay there. Too old, too dirty, and no one care, I didn't even go use the pool. Printing boarding pass will charge $5.00 on credit card then plus by minutes.....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2014
this is a older hotel with few amenities, the room was clean for a old place, the hotel staff were nice., it was ok for what it is.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Left in the PAST!

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: The location in Helo was good, center court yard has potential. The free breakfast offered lots of variety. It was done well.
Cons: Everything
Location: On the ocean and there were some nice parks to walk through. Not close to shopping but we found a good restaurant nearby.
This would have been a great place to stay about 40 years ago BUT it has not been remodeled, or kept up. Nothing has been changed over the years.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Northern California

Needs to be torn down

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Never again..Old...dirty...hard beds...The staff was pleasant enough but they just don't have much to work with
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Old

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Needs urgently renovation. Problem with parking. Good location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by XYZfrom California

OK for a family with limited budget

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved sound of frogs at night and size of room, but not enough parking spaces for all hotel guests.