Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Comfortable hotel close to local transport

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Easy, but safe access
Cons: The office reception room is not easy to reach with heavy cases
Location: Sea, city centre and rail and bus terminus are within walking distance, together with most of the city sights.
A "do it yourself" hotel within 10 minutes tram journey to city centre
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto, canada

DISPPOINTMENT

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: location was good
Cons: clean better and change some furniture
Location: close to the market
need new furniture and clean them properly, same with windows and washrooms no air conditioning and no options for fun, the windows have to be open but also lots of noise old furniture, need some attention to details
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JML from London

handy location for a 2 day visit to Helsinki

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Anonymous staff at the end of a phone line (we were outside reception hours) very helpful and it all worked easily. Clean. All basic kitchen kit there
Cons: cant think of anything.
Location: Short walk to market & to quay for boat trips. Excellent coffee shop nearby.Go to Suomelina Island. Orthodox and Christian Cathedrals, Ateneum. Walk.
Good central location. A lovely City for a short break. Easy to walk everywhere, but there is a tram No.4 near this hotel. Lots of public transport options if you need them. Expensive but we had been warned. Very good food labelling so anyone with special dietary requirments would find it easy to know what ingredients are used or to buy what they need. The long days make it possible to keep going to the point of exhaustion! We were lucky with 2 beautiful days thankfully not too hot but lovely sunshine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by graham from melbourne

Central location, good value for Helsinki

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Good access to public transport, supermarket, waterfront. It was a pleasure to find a clean and comfortable facility after reading some mixed reviews
Cons: Minor criticisms only eg new frying pan needed, no toaster. In contrast to our apt. the courtyard was looking uncared for and needed a good clean-up
Location: Near market square, easy access to ferries and sightseeing boats, near tramlines, bus routes.
Ten minutes walk to waterfront and market square. Easy access by tram No 4 or 4t from the central station. Our apartment on level 3 in Block B facing the courtyardwas was quiet, clean, spacious and well equipped. Bed comfortable. Linen clean. There is a supermarket only two or three minutes walk away. This clearly does not pretend to be a five star facility, and should not be judged as if it were: it offers utilitarian comfort. It aims to provide a basically clean self-contained home-away-from-home for independent travellers who want to cater for themselves, and does this well. We were there in early June before the height of the tourist season - it may not be as restful in mid summer. We would gladly stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Why to avoid hellston senate

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Furniture was very badly stained. Very much. In need of paint. Toilet made a shrill noise off and on day and night. Only stopped when you flushed it. The whole studio had a bad smell to it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Maria from Edmonton AB, Canada

Convenient and comfortable

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
My father and I really enjoyed our stay at Hellsten Senate. The location is very convenient and one bedroom suite is spacious with a great bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alysha Hudson from Edmonton, AB

Centrally Located

Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was slightly awkward because the lobby is more of an office and is only open during business hours. The staff was helpful but not overly friendly. The room was very spacious offering a living space, kitchen, bedroom and bathroom as well as a balcony. The kitchen had all the necessities in order to cook meals. The hotel room was clean but the staff doesn't come in to clean the rooms during your stay. The hotel also offered really great wifi connection. The best part of this hotel was that it was quick to get to all the major attractions and right off of a tram line. The location of the hotel was in a quiet area that felt safe but there are some stairs that you must use in order to get to the hotel and there were no face clothes. Another downside is no free breakfast. But they do offer luggage storage which is nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Val from Surrey U.K

Modern apartments providing all basic needs.

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: Clean modern facilities, spacious for two people with lots of storage areas,wardrobes etc.Well heated ,plenty of hot water,comfy beds.Nice outlook.
Cons: Kitchen very limited. Suitable for breakfast and snacks...maybe heating a microwave meal. Furniture essentials only. TV fixed to wall in corner!
Location: Lovely location ,quiet in Easter week. Interesting area buildings and sights with good tram service to centre+ easy walking to many attractions.
Was unable to contact by phone to arrange late check-in.Had to make two calls back to Expedia to make arrangements. They were very helpful and eventually all sorted. I thought this was an an unnecessary chore ,bearing in mind anything after 5pm was called a late check- in. We taxied from airport,if using public transport or walking be warned lots of cobbled paving and tramlines to make wheeling cases difficult. Overall we had a lovely week here, were very comfortable, warm and relaxed.We found lots to do within walking distance, used trams and buses easily.Had no problems with language as English widely spoken.Many signs with English translations. Although we never managed to pronounce anything correctly we wrote down place names and were treated with great patience. As a middle aged couple Helsinki and Hellsten Senate suited us well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice & spacious room but a bit far from station

Posted Apr 21, 2014
The room was nice and spacious but a bit far from train station. Staff was helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2014 on Hotels.com