Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JML from London

handy location for a 2 day visit to Helsinki

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Anonymous staff at the end of a phone line (we were outside reception hours) very helpful and it all worked easily. Clean. All basic kitchen kit there
Cons: cant think of anything.
Location: Short walk to market & to quay for boat trips. Excellent coffee shop nearby.Go to Suomelina Island. Orthodox and Christian Cathedrals, Ateneum. Walk.
Good central location. A lovely City for a short break. Easy to walk everywhere, but there is a tram No.4 near this hotel. Lots of public transport options if you need them. Expensive but we had been warned. Very good food labelling so anyone with special dietary requirments would find it easy to know what ingredients are used or to buy what they need. The long days make it possible to keep going to the point of exhaustion! We were lucky with 2 beautiful days thankfully not too hot but lovely sunshine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by graham from melbourne

Central location, good value for Helsinki

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Good access to public transport, supermarket, waterfront. It was a pleasure to find a clean and comfortable facility after reading some mixed reviews
Cons: Minor criticisms only eg new frying pan needed, no toaster. In contrast to our apt. the courtyard was looking uncared for and needed a good clean-up
Location: Near market square, easy access to ferries and sightseeing boats, near tramlines, bus routes.
Ten minutes walk to waterfront and market square. Easy access by tram No 4 or 4t from the central station. Our apartment on level 3 in Block B facing the courtyardwas was quiet, clean, spacious and well equipped. Bed comfortable. Linen clean. There is a supermarket only two or three minutes walk away. This clearly does not pretend to be a five star facility, and should not be judged as if it were: it offers utilitarian comfort. It aims to provide a basically clean self-contained home-away-from-home for independent travellers who want to cater for themselves, and does this well. We were there in early June before the height of the tourist season - it may not be as restful in mid summer. We would gladly stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Why to avoid hellston senate

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Furniture was very badly stained. Very much. In need of paint. Toilet made a shrill noise off and on day and night. Only stopped when you flushed it. The whole studio had a bad smell to it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Val from Surrey U.K

Modern apartments providing all basic needs.

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: Clean modern facilities, spacious for two people with lots of storage areas,wardrobes etc.Well heated ,plenty of hot water,comfy beds.Nice outlook.
Cons: Kitchen very limited. Suitable for breakfast and snacks...maybe heating a microwave meal. Furniture essentials only. TV fixed to wall in corner!
Location: Lovely location ,quiet in Easter week. Interesting area buildings and sights with good tram service to centre+ easy walking to many attractions.
Was unable to contact by phone to arrange late check-in.Had to make two calls back to Expedia to make arrangements. They were very helpful and eventually all sorted. I thought this was an an unnecessary chore ,bearing in mind anything after 5pm was called a late check- in. We taxied from airport,if using public transport or walking be warned lots of cobbled paving and tramlines to make wheeling cases difficult. Overall we had a lovely week here, were very comfortable, warm and relaxed.We found lots to do within walking distance, used trams and buses easily.Had no problems with language as English widely spoken.Many signs with English translations. Although we never managed to pronounce anything correctly we wrote down place names and were treated with great patience. As a middle aged couple Helsinki and Hellsten Senate suited us well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice & spacious room but a bit far from station

Posted Apr 21, 2014
The room was nice and spacious but a bit far from train station. Staff was helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jess from Canada

Living on your own

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Has everything you need for your stay.
Cons: Could have more direction on how to check out. Since there arnt staff around a lot of the time
Location: Not a whole near by, but there is a little store and the viking line near by if you want to get on it. And it is easy enough to walk to the city.
Good place to stay for a longer period of time. Fully furnished and great little kitchen with everything you need.
3 out of 5
by Maciek from Wrocław, Poland

OK economy hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: Staff pleasant. Good location.
Cons: Update furniture and ensure timely repairs
Location: Walking distance to the Viking Lines terminal. Also there is a really nice restaurant near by called Jailbird which is located in an old jail house.
This is a typical hotel for tourists who don't expect a lot. We checked in after normal reception operating hours which I believe end at 5 p.m.. Early that day we were sent a code via SMS so we could open the main door. Getting room keys was actually fun as we were given instructions over the phone (by receptionist on duty) and had to magnetize key cards ourselves. Room was fairly clean but dated. Arm chairs did not match. TV stand was really wobbly so one had to be very careful when moving it from the living room to the bed room (there was one TV set with a long cord so it could be moved from room to room). Shower door did not close completely as it seemed like one panel was missing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Location is good, not too close to city centre but a tram stop is just around the corner. Room was comfortable but it seems that they just changed bed linen and towels, forgetting about dusting or vacuum. Sauna was small, good for two people, maybe three.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kevin from Canberra

Spacious self catering apartment close

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location, spatious self catering apartment with super marker very nearby. Cooking facilities are basic but adequate. Rooms are nice and warm. Situated in peaceful location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jh from South Korea

Good hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Good hotel. Hotel staff was friendly, room clean. but no coffee & tea and little cold When we arrive room, kitchen bulb doesn't work so we told staff but didn't fix until we leave. i used sauna, door is not close. But Nice trip, thanks