Ratings based on 402 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Coast

Great location, but some issues

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Lovely hotel, great location kind staff, nice, clean rooms, all great. However, there are some issues associated with this hotel that people should be aware of before booking. Make sure you check the events schedule for Indianapolis generally and Monument Circle specifically. If you're going to partake in the fun it will be fine for you, but if you're not and have to get up early in the morning, bring ear plugs because it can be very noisy outside your window when there's a big event in the Circle. No outside food or drink is allowed in your room. So no sipping a glass of wine at the end of the day unless you got it in the bar. The restaurant is very expensive; a chicken sandwich and fries was $20. Not including liquor, but including tip, which is added automatically for a party of 1. Again, no problem at all if you don't plan to eat there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not waste your time

Posted Sep 23, 2014
After check-in everything went downhill. The hotel facilities were in desperate need of an update. Staff was poorly trained of policies an procedures and could not answer questions or help. The wake-up call was even 30 minutes late. The chauvinistic and condescending nature of the door boys was the huge turn off. They were rude beyond belief. They enforced strange rules that were not published in any found literature, or the hotel website. I never was restricted from bringing food into a hotel room. I was surprised to see the one vending and one ice machine still worked, they looked ancient. I travel to this area for work quite often, and despite the desirable location, I rather pay twice the amount not to stay at this stuffy hotel. I couldn't wait to leave.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland OH

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location, Old World, elegant feeling.
Location: Close to everything you could want to see in Indy since it is in the very center of Downtown.
The valets that assisted us unloading our car at the entrance when I dropped off my passengers to return my rental car, were very helpful. The taxi arrangements were handled smoothly for our early morning departure. The location right on Monument Circle is iconic. I was anticipating a view of the Circle but was sadly disappointed looking at the side and roof of the bldg. next store. Although clean,the room itself felt crowded, the double beds more like twins. I felt the room rate was overpriced as well. We were only there for 14 hours so this may not be a fair assessment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Hotel right in Monument Circle

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The downtown location, big washroom.
Cons: If they can make it a bit more modern, brighter lighting, etc.
Location: Right inside Monument Circle so the location is perfect for downtown Indianapolis.
The Conrad and The Alexander were booked up for MotoGP weekend, so this was the third best option. It's right in the Monument Circle, so the night life and downtown access right outside the hotel door steps. It's an older fancy hotel and for some reason the price was really cheap for MotoGP weekend in August. The only bad thing was the parking. They have to valet the car and it's expensive. It's better to find nearby parking garages and park yourself over night for a lot cheaper.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Location on the Circle

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Columbia Club right in the middle of downtown activities. MotoGP and motorcycles on Meridian provided ample entertainment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Bend, IN

Great Old School Hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Location: Great restaurants, spa, nightlife. Everything is in walking distancel.
This boutique hotel has great older architecture but has updated rooms. Great staff, excellent level of service. We would definitely stay here again. Excellent location right on Monument Circle in the heart of downtown Indianapolis
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from terre haute in

Not a 4 star hotel l'm very disappointed

Posted Jul 28, 2014
The room was small.and old looking .not enough towels for four adults we had to call for more no creamer in the room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Spanky Stephens from Texas

What an Experienc!!

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
This wonderful hotel was such a great experience as everyone knew your name no matter where you were in the hotel. It an older hotel about to remodle it's rooms. I can't wait to go back and stay there again. Little more expensive but they make you feel wanted and will do anything for you within reason. Enjoy it if you get the chance to..
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from missouri

Bad

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Bad room out dated room was very hot service was ok need to up date rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com