Ratings based on 380 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Cyn from Oak Park, IL

Not worth the cost

Posted Apr 13, 2014
I chose this hotel for the location despite what other reviewers had written. I should have believed what I read. The hotel is old and charming which is perfectly fine for common areas but the room was antiquated and rather nasty. For the location and the cost, I would expect much more.
2 out of 5
by Kirby from Plymouth MI

Close to action in downtown Indianapolis

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: Staff and lobby area impressive, and location
Cons: Update rooms, add quality linens and towels.
Location: Tons to do, downtown Indy
Old hotel which is fine but room we stayed in was not updated in many years. bathroom was something out of the 50"s. fixtures rusted, falling off walls, towels were something out of a Motel 6, and cleanliness was poor. Definitely not worth the price too many options. Rest of hotel was impressive but rooms did not fit with overall ambiance. They are a club and not an hotel but they still rent rooms that leave much to be desired at this price point, $800 for 3 nights. Definitely would discourage anyone I know from staying there.
3 out of 5
by Jon from Fargo, ND

Way Too Expensive For What You Get

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: It has a great historical flavor. It's position in a great part of town. The service from the staff is impeccable.
Cons: The price is way off. The beds need attention, as well as the shower (no water pressure). Also, the Internet service is turtle slow.
Location: Great location. Walking distance to the convention center…though it is about a 10 minute walk. Nice little bars and restaurants nearby.
The hotel was just fine for my needs. I wanted to be within walking distance of the convention center, but all of the connected hotels were booked. I will say, from a historic viewpoint, the Columbia Club is very cool. It has quaint little nuances that you would never find with a chain hotel built within the last 20 years. That being said, paying nearly $250 for a one night's stay, I have a certain level of expectations that need to be met. One - a comfortable bed. This hotel was built in the 1880s. I think the beds are from the same era. If not the bed, certainly the lumpy pillows. I'm not picky about beds normally, but I had an awful night's sleep because of it. Also, the rooms are small. I don't need a lot of room, but something about paying a premium price for a room makes me think there will be a premium product. There wasn't.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

"The Club" is past it's prime

Posted Feb 27, 2014
" No hats in the club, sir" is the first think I'm told when I enter this dungeon of a "hotel." Never will be back. They have signs with a dress code posted on it and it's a horrible place to take your kids. Also, the tv in the room was about a 24" flat screen that couldn't project the volume all the way to the bed..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not care for.

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Too much money for the room. Paint falling off the ceiling. Out dated
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elise and Billy from Cincinnati Ohio

beautiful old hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2014
it was a very gorgeous hotel the bed for comfy and it was close to everything I walked to the stadium for the game and since it was Christmas time the circles lit up and I could see it from my room it was gorgeous
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bruce from U.K.

Pleasant hotel with character and great location

Posted Dec 17, 2013
Great central location in easy reach of theatres, bars, restaurants and the convention centre. Old building with some character differentiating it from the general soulless mainstream. Comfortable rooms, generally pleasant staff, would recommend it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dissatisfied

Expensive for what you get

Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff was very nice and the room was clean but that is where it ends. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, the heat didn't work well, the shower head was poor, and the TV was small. This should have been a $100.00 or less room not a $200.00 a night room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Herman De Nunzio from Santa Barbara, CA

Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
A bit stuffy, but that is what made it very nice. I'll stay there again.