Ratings based on 399 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland OH

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location, Old World, elegant feeling.
Location: Close to everything you could want to see in Indy since it is in the very center of Downtown.
The valets that assisted us unloading our car at the entrance when I dropped off my passengers to return my rental car, were very helpful. The taxi arrangements were handled smoothly for our early morning departure. The location right on Monument Circle is iconic. I was anticipating a view of the Circle but was sadly disappointed looking at the side and roof of the bldg. next store. Although clean,the room itself felt crowded, the double beds more like twins. I felt the room rate was overpriced as well. We were only there for 14 hours so this may not be a fair assessment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Hotel right in Monument Circle

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The downtown location, big washroom.
Cons: If they can make it a bit more modern, brighter lighting, etc.
Location: Right inside Monument Circle so the location is perfect for downtown Indianapolis.
The Conrad and The Alexander were booked up for MotoGP weekend, so this was the third best option. It's right in the Monument Circle, so the night life and downtown access right outside the hotel door steps. It's an older fancy hotel and for some reason the price was really cheap for MotoGP weekend in August. The only bad thing was the parking. They have to valet the car and it's expensive. It's better to find nearby parking garages and park yourself over night for a lot cheaper.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Location on the Circle

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Columbia Club right in the middle of downtown activities. MotoGP and motorcycles on Meridian provided ample entertainment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Bend, IN

Great Old School Hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Location: Great restaurants, spa, nightlife. Everything is in walking distancel.
This boutique hotel has great older architecture but has updated rooms. Great staff, excellent level of service. We would definitely stay here again. Excellent location right on Monument Circle in the heart of downtown Indianapolis
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from terre haute in

Not a 4 star hotel l'm very disappointed

Posted Jul 28, 2014
The room was small.and old looking .not enough towels for four adults we had to call for more no creamer in the room
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from missouri

Bad

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Bad room out dated room was very hot service was ok need to up date rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by KLS65 from Brookville, Indiana

Disappointing

Posted May 17, 2014
We have stayed in several historic hotels in the past 5 years. This was a disappointing stay in most aspects for us. Pros: the staff that we encountered were all very friendly, professional, and engaging. The location is great, being right downtown, within walking distance to downtown activities, restaurants, and bars. Cons: this beautiful establishment is in desperate need of updates, painting, and cleaning. The walls are very thin so you hear the folks in adjoining rooms and the hallway. The hot water situation was frustrating as it fluctuates whenever toilets (in room and elsewhere) are flushed. The cleanliness was not great but may also be due to the age of the hotel and incredible need for renovations and updates. The heating/ cooling was difficult to regulate. Our room was small and the bathroom was VERY small. There is very little shelf space to your toiletries on. It saddens me to write a negative review for an establishment in a city we love to visit several times a year.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2014 by Katie, Hotel Management
Dear KLS65 - Thank you for your kind remarks about the Club Staff. The Club is in a really great location for our Members and guests. The Club House is 90 years old and we are celebrating 125 years of existence this year! The Club is perfectly located near all big attractions with easy access to transportation. I am sorry to hear that your experience was not what you expected. Here at the Club we strive for a wonderful guest experience. Being a property that is 90 years old ...there is much maintenance that is put in to be sure our members and guests are satisfied. I want to let you know that all of your concerns in regards to your "cons" are being addressed with my management team. For future reference at the Club we have 12 different room types and all of our rooms vary in size, not all of our bathrooms are as small as you experienced; however I understand this is not what we have accustomed ourselves with today...but this is what it was like 90 years ago at the Club. We are currently working on improving our property for better member and guest experience. Thank you for your comments they are much appreciated. Katie - Director of Room Sales and Front Office
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gary from San Antonio, TX

Rooms a little small, but lots of history.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff throughout the Hotel.
Location: Best location in downtown Indy.
Thought the rooms were small, however the rest of the Hotel was amazing and we saw several pieces of American history throughout the lobby and Hotel rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2014 by Katie, Hotel Management
Dear Gary, Thank you for your review of the Club. We do very much appreciate it because we are a hidden gem. Some of our rooms are smaller than others, pending on the location and room type you booked may be a factor as to what room you received. I am happy you were able to experience the rich history in the club! Come back and visit us soon, Katie - Director of Room Sales and Front Office
2 out of 5
by Cyn from Oak Park, IL

Not worth the cost

Posted Apr 13, 2014
I chose this hotel for the location despite what other reviewers had written. I should have believed what I read. The hotel is old and charming which is perfectly fine for common areas but the room was antiquated and rather nasty. For the location and the cost, I would expect much more.