Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Location was wonderful, loved the turtles in the cove!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by PK from Seattle

Lovely location on the water at Poipu

Posted May 2, 2014
Pros: The location was great for us!
Cons: A/C would be a very welcomed improvement!
This was our first time to Poipu - 4th to Kauai and otherwise we travel to one of the islands every year. Whaler Cove was mostly great - we stayed in unit 220 which is an ocean view, middle level. The unit itself was lovely - well appointed and equipped, and very well maintained! The bed was perfect. Our only knock on the 10 day stay was that there's no A/C so the windows really need to be open at night. The unit overlooks the pool and our first night and our second to last night there was a fair amount of activity at the pool well past 10 and then chatting on nearby lanais later. We get that folks are on vacation and hanging with friends - it wasn't a huge deal for us, just a minor issue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from New Mexico

Great ocean front unit.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: It's really a condo and has plenty of space and beautiful grounds, pool, and spa. The large window in the bath shower looked out on the water.
Cons: The stairs and upper level was done in an off white carpet and there were a few stains. This was the major flaw.
Location: I didn't think the drive to the west shore down that terrible road was worth it.
First of all, each unit is owned by different individuals and conditions can vary. This review is specific to #136. It is a 2 bedroom 2 1/2 bath ocean front condo. It is on the 3rd floor and the bedrooms and 2 baths are upstairs. It shows its age and could use some updating. There was daily room service. Overall it was very comfortable. The master bedroom also has a great ocean view. My girlfriend likes to sleep a little later than I do. I could go downstairs and use the kitchen and living room without bothering her. There is a full kitchen and 2 grills on the property which we used. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the pool area is fantastic and usually deserted. Another bonus is there is a sunset view from the lawn along the shore adjacent to the pool area. There is decent snorkeling adjacent to the property. We stayed here for 5 nights and then 2 nights at the Koa Kea. Although the KK is newer and beautiful, I enjoyed Whalers Cove much more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Insung

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Trent from Mukilteo, WA

Great, quiet retreat in Kauai

Posted Mar 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall, our experience at this property was nothing short of outstanding. We've stayed in many condos in Hawaii over the years, and this ranks up there with the best - possibly, it was the best - for a number of reasons: Up-to-date furnishings; quiet location; stunning views of the ocean from every room; spacious rooms; extremely well appointed kitchen (not a single gadget was needed that it didn't have); quiet, peaceful location; very friendly and helpful staff. We've been to the Kapalua Villas on Maui many times, with each being different depending on the condition of the rooms - very inconsistent. Whaler's Cove is decidedly better in my opinion, particularly considering the price, on par with entry-level condos in Kapalua. We were in #210, kudos to the staff and the unit's owner for taking an obvious pride in the property and making all the appointments for a super relaxing, enjoyable stay possible. The location: it's not on a beach, but a rocky coastline. If you want to be on a beach in Hawaii, be prepared to be elbow to elbow with other condos and hotels - a la Poipu or Kaanapali Maui. We are past that, appreciating instead the exquisite views and peacefulness a property like this one offers. If we wanted the beach, it was a 5 minute drive. I've been to Hawaii probably close to 30 times over the years, this ranks up there with the best experiences I have had. 5 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from Sydney, Australia

Brilliant ocean front location

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: Location, location, location ...
Cons: Highly complex & comprehensive assortment of light & dimmer switches in each room (modern-day conveniences?) could be condensed and made easier to use
Location: Easy drive to local beaches, Waimea Canyon, Hanapepe and Old Koloa Town. Only 30 minutes from the airport, so convenient upon arrival on Kauai.
Modern condominium in delightful ocean front location on south coast of Kauai. Beautiful swimming pool directly on the ocean front. Expensive splurge for three days, but well worth it. Easy 5-minute walk to the modern but tastefully Hawaiian-style shopping centre of Kukui'ula, with several good restaurant choices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Eric

Awesome surf view

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Pros: View and location. Great pool. Good for families or couples.
Cons: Rooms starting to look a little dated.
Location: Beach, restaurants, swim, surf.
Perfect location, close to restaurants but still quiet and serene. Our view was nothing but breaking surf and palm trees. Lovely pool on the edge of the ocean. Worth the price but not too high end. Condo itself was nothing fancy and could even use an update but overall just what we were looking for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended condo

Posted Aug 17, 2013
Overall excellent. Our family had a very nice stay here. Patio directly overlooked the ocean over rocky shoreline; stars were fabulous; the pool/hot tub/grilling all excellent. Rooms were modern and well decorated. Good restaurants/retail are nearby. Runners will find good trails one block away. If you need to be directly on a sandy beach for swimming or so kids can play in the sand, I'd pick a hotel closer to Poipu Beach, but otherwise this is an excellent place! Poipu Beach is just a 5 minute drive when you need it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Libby from Phila, PA

Kaua'i and Whaler's Cove were Perfect Together

Posted Jun 14, 2013
We don't know if just being on the island of Kaua'i made everything perfect; but staying at Whaler's Cove sealed the deal! Our family of five stayed for a week. Our boys are 18, 20, 22 yrs old and we are a very active family. Our location was great on the island because we could explore the many different parts of Kaua'i easily. We left for the day on an "adventure" and returned to our condo around dinner time. If we were going out to eat, we could walk to a shopping mall area with plenty of restaurants. If we ate in, we could grill or order out. Either way, we usually stopped by the pool for a quick swim or cocktail in the hot tub. Beautiful pool area! And what a finish to a physically exhausted body due to the activities available on the island. Our condo inside was decorated with a Polynesian feel and was very clean and accommodating. The staff provided just about anything we needed with a super friendly attitude. No beach access; but it made this stay quiet and private. A beach was right around the corner anyway. We didn't miss it. Sounds too good... but our stay was "perfect".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for family.

Posted Apr 15, 2013
Very spacious, great by the ocean. Plenty of room to spread out.