Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Arizona

Basicaly just a beachfront condo project

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: Views
Cons: everything else. Condition of rooms, add a vending machine, have the office open when you say it's going to be open.
Location: Good location, close to the little that there is to do here.
If you want peace and quiet this is the place. Right on the ocean although No Beach. It's all rocks. There is absolutely nothing to do here, no onsite food services, not even a vending machine. No real lobby, just a motel check in room. They have beautiful views of the ocean so if you want to sit on your patio and look at the ocean or read a book it's fine, otherwise it's boring as heck. Rooms appear to be 30 year old condo's in average condition. We would not go back and would not recommend this place. Office open only in the day not 24 hours. Supposed to open at 9AM but on our checkout day no one was there. We waited till 9:15 then had to run to get to the airport on time for flight which we almost missed. No excuse for not being open on posted hours. Warning: If you have an early flight, Make checkout arrangements the day Before You are supposed to leave. Also, Leave Early! Traffic to airport can be really bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Escondido, California

Best Place to stay!

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: Everything about this hotel was wonderful.
Cons: I can't think of one thing that needs improvement.
Location: Old Koloa town is just a short drive away with many shops and places to eat. Poipu beach is down the street.
Whaler's Cove was the most wonderful place to stay on Kauai. I have been to the Islands twelve times and this was by far the nicest place I have ever stayed. The view was outstanding, the staff very friendly and helpful, the condo was beautiful and the location was perfect to explore the island. Poipu beach was only a short drive away and we found the best snorkeling was right there. I could watch the turtles swim as I took my shower each morning! We will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Tokyo

絶景の家庭的コンドミニアム

Posted Aug 3, 2014
数あるカウアイ島のコンドミニアムの中でも珍しい独立系の施設。ウミガメが見える海辺の絶景の位置にあり、親切なマネジメントチームが丁寧にメンテナンスしてくれる館内は広々として非常に快適。館内にレストランやプライベートビーチはないが、徒歩圏内にビーチやショッピングセンター、レストランなど様々な施設がそろうので不自由はない。家族連れや二世帯旅行には最高の場所
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Location was wonderful, loved the turtles in the cove!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom gifu,japan

部屋からの眺望が素晴らしく、心が洗われ旅の目的が満足出来ました。

Posted Jul 3, 2014
シャワーの水圧が低くてスッキリした気分に成れなかった。日本人が利用する事を前提に、もう少し配慮してほしい。
5 out of 5
by Gabyfrom München

Oase zum Erholen in ruhiger Lage

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: Die Lage zum Meer und die Ruhe
Cons: Ein Fitnessraum wäre gut.
Location: In der sonnigen Poipu Region, ein Reitstall, Hotelrestaurants und ein Shoppingcenter mit einem Bioladen, in dem man seine Lebensmittel einkaufen kann.
Es war nicht das erste Mal, dass wir dieses Hotel für unsren Aufenthalt auf dieser Insel aussuchten und auch nicht das letzte Mal. Hier stimmt wirklich alles, die Lage, der Service und auch das Apartment war sehr harmonisch im polynesischen Stil eingerichtet. Wir fühlten uns richtig wohl und waren jeden Tag mit der Frage konfrontiert, die Insel zu erforschen und zu wandern oder uns auf dem Balkon auszustrecken, den Anblick und das Rauschen des Meeres zu genießen und etwas Leckeres zu kochen. Und täglich fiel uns diese Entscheidung schwer .... und die Insel ist wirklich sehr schön mit ihrer üppigigen Vegetation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by PKfrom Seattle

Lovely location on the water at Poipu

Posted May 2, 2014
Pros: The location was great for us!
Cons: A/C would be a very welcomed improvement!
This was our first time to Poipu - 4th to Kauai and otherwise we travel to one of the islands every year. Whaler Cove was mostly great - we stayed in unit 220 which is an ocean view, middle level. The unit itself was lovely - well appointed and equipped, and very well maintained! The bed was perfect. Our only knock on the 10 day stay was that there's no A/C so the windows really need to be open at night. The unit overlooks the pool and our first night and our second to last night there was a fair amount of activity at the pool well past 10 and then chatting on nearby lanais later. We get that folks are on vacation and hanging with friends - it wasn't a huge deal for us, just a minor issue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tomfrom New Mexico

Great ocean front unit.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: It's really a condo and has plenty of space and beautiful grounds, pool, and spa. The large window in the bath shower looked out on the water.
Cons: The stairs and upper level was done in an off white carpet and there were a few stains. This was the major flaw.
Location: I didn't think the drive to the west shore down that terrible road was worth it.
First of all, each unit is owned by different individuals and conditions can vary. This review is specific to #136. It is a 2 bedroom 2 1/2 bath ocean front condo. It is on the 3rd floor and the bedrooms and 2 baths are upstairs. It shows its age and could use some updating. There was daily room service. Overall it was very comfortable. The master bedroom also has a great ocean view. My girlfriend likes to sleep a little later than I do. I could go downstairs and use the kitchen and living room without bothering her. There is a full kitchen and 2 grills on the property which we used. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the pool area is fantastic and usually deserted. Another bonus is there is a sunset view from the lawn along the shore adjacent to the pool area. There is decent snorkeling adjacent to the property. We stayed here for 5 nights and then 2 nights at the Koa Kea. Although the KK is newer and beautiful, I enjoyed Whalers Cove much more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Insung

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2014 on Hotels.com