Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Fortunately, I won't judge Portugal by this hotel.

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Great location. There was one older gentlemen who worked there who actually was nice.
Cons: The decor, the rooms, the staff attitude.
Location: Walking distance from Marquis de Pombal Square. Can get to many places through the Metro or the buses from there.
Sometimes I forget the star rating in Europe relates to the price as opposed to the quality of the hotel. I wish I had remembered that when staying at this hotel. While the outside looked a bit outdated, I still had high hopes for the inside. Normally, I have found Portugal and those in the hospitality business quite spectacular. That was not the case here. When checking in, the person at the front desk did not come off as friendly, but that did not bother me. However, he asked for our passports, which we complied. But then he told us that after we went upstairs to be shown our room, we would have to come back down to retrieve the passports. Strange, but ok. When I went down, I went to the desk and was given a "what do you want?" reception (In fact, I was actually told that on one occasion). This occurred quite often there. Despite their negativity and rudeness, I stayed positive and polite. However, it did not rub off on them with the exception of one older gentleman who was quite hospitable. I am sorry, but if that is your attitude, may I suggest another line of work. Also, if something is written down in your service book, don't act insulted if it asked from you. For example, it says call the front desk for a taxi. Don't get upset when someone asks for a taxi. The book said there is wifi in all rooms. Incorrect, sir. Speaking of the rooms: the floors were stained and filthy, gum was left on the balcony railing and the rooms were not very soundproof.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jazzy from London

Nice one

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Good hotel and will recommend to stay. Clean, conveniently located, and also friendly staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bedroom needs lick paint hopefully same colour.

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: Buffet breakfast was good.
Cons: Rooms needs decorating
Location: Was close to the Metro 10mins walk.
Rooms was bit of let down for a 4 star hotel. I had to change my room, even the room we got transfered too was not too great. I wouldn't recommend this Hotel for 3star.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Hasan from Toronto-Canada

it is OK

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed there 4 nights, nice neighbourhood, easy access to Metro, clean rooms but the hotel needs a major renovation, especially sound proofing ! Breakfast is above avarage. front desk was helpful. When I ask them to change the room due to noise next room they found a quiter one quickly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

uneventful

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Cons: Hotel staff did not offer to aid / bring luggage to room upon arrival.
We parked our car in the hotel parking. In the morning when we were leaving, we found our car squeezed in between others, making it extrely hard to get out, finally only backing up all the way down a steep narrow ramp we were able to make it out of the holtel's parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Honza

Very good

Posted May 16, 2013
Pros: Great location, nice staff
Cons: Wi-fi signal in rooms very low
Location: Very close to both the airport and city center
Reading some previous reviews, I was a little worried, but everything turned out to be great. Room was clean, staff very nice and helpful, we had no problem whatsoever, and will be staying there next time we come to town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nowhere near four star

Posted Apr 29, 2013
Pros: Friendly helpful front desk staff.
Cons: Very dated, dreadful wifi strength, filthy carpet.
Location: Absolutely nothing of interest in immediate vicinity.
Very tired and dated. Location good for metro but nothing to do in the area itself - no restaurants, coffee shops, sights. Wifi connection dreadful. Carpet filthy. Poor room service. Minibar not replenished. Tea and coffee not replenished. Not a four star hotel by any means.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

cheap and dated

Posted Mar 29, 2013
No frills hotel but price reflects this. Not a place for a romantic getaway but good location. Not a 4 star more of a 3.
2 out of 5
by Sea13reeze from London, UK

Not Four Star

Posted Feb 6, 2013
Pros: Free Wi-Fi
Cons: Shabby, tired room and hotel in general
Location: Fantastic location by Marques do Pombal
the whole hotel needs a refurb and did not seem like a four star hotel - more like 2*. I would like to say that just because a hotel offers 'free' wi-fi should not be grounds to call this a four star hotel. - please be aware of this expedia. The room was shabby and there was an awful smell in the bathroom. The best thing was breakfast - though a lot of the food was uncovered