Ratings based on 790 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Faye from santa Monica, CA

Nice Place to StAY

Posted Apr 13, 2014
The staff were very helpful. They sent us new bedclothes during the night after my granddaugther got sick and they let my son park in the garage for a few hours while he visited us. The iHop next door was friendly and had good breakfasts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carcy from Bay area, California

Comfortable location--easy drive to shop and beach

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Convenient location since we were going to a volley tournament the next day.
Cons: Include breakfast in the price.
The desk receptionist was very friendly as were the various housecleaners we encountered. The hotel rooms are the wash and wear style of no carpets, which I understand, but think it feels very utilitarian. The bed was comfortable and we liked the shower. I thought the price was a bit high, and would have felt much better about it if breakfast was included at the IHOP on the first floor of the building. They gave us a coupon for 20% off lunch or dinner, but honestly, who would go to Santa Monica to have lunch or dinner at IHOP?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Less than a 3 star

Posted Mar 14, 2014
I was expecting a cleaner more up to date facility in San Monica. The staff was sparse and had little info to share. The location was awful. It was far from the ocean and little access to tourist tours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, modern and friendly

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: free parking, updated rooms and cleanliness
Cons: It would be nice to have a morning coffee (free) near the front desk. Breakfast at IHOP included would also be a nice bonus
Location: St. Monica is beautiful. Malibu is about a 45min drive up the coast. Rental car needed to get to most sites in the area.
Hotel has been recently updated and was very clean. I was overall very happy with my stay and happy with the accomodations which were above my expectation for the price. Free parking was a bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Santa Monica CA

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Cons: Carpet in room
Location: Very convenient to west LA
Friendly staff. Easy internet access. Comfortable room. Reasonable rate.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by savoir2000 from Chicago, IL

Not my first choice next time...

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: The staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was really quite nice.
Cons: More counter space in bathroom. Consider removing carpet from entire facility - you would be an industry leader in the U.S.!
Location: The beach is not too far and there is shopping nearby.
I stayed here for two nights the first weekend in March 2014. I arrived around 9pm and I was first struck by a bad odor in the main lobby and then another bad odor in the lobby on the 2nd floor. It just smelled like the area needed to be cleaned. I was getting concerned until I reached my room and I was happy to find that the room was actually quite nice. Also, there was no carpet in the room - not sure if what was there was a laminate or not, but it was great not to worry about what might be hidden in dark carpet! Also, the environmental controls worked perfectly. I travel a fair amount and find that even in 4/5 star hotels you sometimes have an issue controlling the temp in a room. Only complaint on the room itself - there was very little counter space in the bathroom. I am happy to say, however, that the next morning when I left my room the smell was gone from the hallway and from the main lobby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JERRY from retired engineer

UCLA Hospital.

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: very clean, fairly quiet, good parking
Cons: lower rates
Location: many touristy attractions and business in the area
convenient to hospital otherwise nothing remarkable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Irene from El Cerrito

Newly renovated hotel. Convenient location

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Convenient location; reasonable price; convenient parking
Cons: Our room faced Santa Monica Blvd. and the traffic noise was quite loud. The double-pane windows helped reduce noise considerably.
Location: The location was perfect for visiting relatives - the reason for out stay.
Recently renovated. Everything was new and clean and worked well. We especially liked the convenient location to where we had to go. The iHop restaurant downstairs was a good place for breakfast. Parking in the basement was a real plus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by V from Sacramento,ca

Really great stay! The hotel was just updated --

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Hotel updated recently.. Looks great! Staff was really helpful Great location - 1.6 miles to the beach!
3 out of 5
by ss from toronto

Under renovation Over priced

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Shabby looking . not much of a hotel more like a motel .