Ratings based on 217 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tuppers from London

Beautiful riad, perfectly placed

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: It was so calm and peaceful - lovely to retreat to after a busy day in the souks! Fatia and Anis are lovely hosts, and the building is just lovely.
Cons: The doors to the bathroom are saloon-style, with gaps at the top and bottom, so you do need to be good enough friends to not mind hearing each other!
Location: We walked to Jmaa el Fna within 10 minutes each day, and the location is also ideal for exploring the Saadian Tombs and surrounding area.
A friend and I stayed here for 4 nights in early June 2014, and would absolutely recommend the riad and the city to everyone we know (and everyone we don't!). We had the Rabat room (each room is named after a Moroccan city) on the first floor, and it was beautiful! The riad is located in the south-west of the medina, near the Koutoubia minaret (we used it as our point of reference when we went out - you can see it from most places in the city!). It's off the main road, down a lovely twisty alley, which means it's beautifully quiet. It took us less than 10 minutes to walk to Jmaa el Fna, so was really an ideal location for us to make our forays into the bustling square and souks - we knew we could retreat if needed (though we never did!). Fatia and Anis are wonderful, friendly hosts - although we didn't need to ask many questions, they always had an answer, and we know that other guests arranged trips and had their own questions answered too! We loved our time in Marrakech, and in Riad Dar Mimouna, and will most certainly be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mujahid

Friendly Stay

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: -friendliness -location -atmosphere -freedom
Cons: - WiFi strength
Location: Lots nearby, especially the square plenty of places to eat and explore
had a wonderful experience staying at this hotel. staff were very friendly and welcoming. literally had the freedom of the whole place including lounge and roof terrace. WiFi was not great in the room itself but problem was solved by creating my own hotspot, otherwise it was good in other areas. breakfast was good too and staff helpful with timings if requested. would definitely go back and stay one day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steven from London

Great Riad, close to the main square

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: Proximity to the main square, lovely roof terrace - and do try the Hammam! Don't leave it to the last day like us!
Cons: Maybe a little variety at breakfast - I liked it but (almost) the same every day could get a bit boring if on a longer stay!
The Riad itself is tucked away down a little alley - I was a bit worried at first but as soon as you go through the door you're in another world. Our room was very comfortable, and the staff (via email prior to arrival) did their best to accommodate my long frame - I requested the room(s) with the longest / widest beds. They were also only too pleased to sort out pick ups and drop offs from the airport. Miryam and Amis get special mention, both looked after the hotel and us extremely well and were very friendly and welcoming - they are a credit to the hotel and to Marrakech!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jill n Gerard from London and Inverness

Beautiful Riad

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: Beautiful building, conveniently located and very obliging staff
Cons: Not much!
Location: Souks, Restaurants and The Grand Hotel Tazi for the evening cocktails!
Great building, very pleasant and helpful staff and nicely located within a 10-minute walk from Koutibia and the place Jemma el-Fna. Great tour of the Ozoud Cascades and an all-round wonderful first experience of Marrakech. Many thanks to Fatia, Younis, Anis, Miriam and Fatima J n G (UK)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from Australia

Excellent place to stay

Posted May 20, 2014
Location: Great location, close to the main mosque and markets
Arriving at 11pm, I was met by the airport by a driver organised by the Riad. The driver took me all the way to the door of the Riad, which is through some back alleys. It is definitely recommended to have the driver take you to the door, as it would be almost impossible to find the hotel the first time. I was so pleased when I walked through the door into a sanctuary after 11 hours of travelling/transiting. The room was clean, the wifi worked (well for Moroccan standards) and it was just a very pleasant experience. I would recommend this place to others and would consider staying here again if I were to return to Marrakech.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place...

Posted May 19, 2014
Really enjoyed my time here - it's very traditional, well looked after, clean, tidy, staff were all friendly, helpful and nice, couldn't really ask for much more. It's located conveniently within the Medina, 5-10 min walk from the main square (Jeema El Fna) and despite some reviews claiming otherwise, I found it easy enough to find (with a bit of prior research!) In the unlikely event that I return to Marrakech (there's not much to see or experience in the city, I'd say you need 3 days maximum to get a good feel for the place and then it's likely you'll want to move on to pastures new), then I'd certainly be happy to return to this Riad. I read countless reviews prior to booking this place and I have no complaints at all. I'd happily recommend this place to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sue from Devon, England

In the heart of the old city

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: The calm after the liveliness of the city. The central location. The breakfast on the roof terrace. The helpful Staff.
Cons: Perhaps offering light meals, and making it clear that teas and refreshments can be served if you ask.
Location: See above
From hearing the call to prayer, to immersing ourselves in the medina, souks and the bustling world of the Djemaa el-Fna, we explored the different cultural world of Marrakech, and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The extremes of the working tanneries to the tranquil beauty of the riads, and possibly the best restaurant ever, with Ksar Es Saoussan. Then escaping the mad activity of the city for the stunning scenery of the High Atlas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by 30th Birthday from Sussex UK

Riad in Marrakech must do.

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: Fab location. Great staff. Clean and cool.
Cons: If anything was changed you would loose the feel and point of being in a riad.
Location: Everything is on your doorstep and we walked everywhere apart from a day trip to the mountains.
From the airport the riad was easy to find with the airport bus driver pointing us the right way. The room was always well kept and cool even in the hottest parts of the day along with the rest of the riad. It is very well placed for exploring town and the staff are very happy to help with day setting up any day trips. We loved it and would return very happily.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by anntbs1 from England

Just perfect for a short break

Posted May 2, 2014
Pros: beautiful rooms with friendly helpful staff
Location: walking distance from some of the main site of the city, close the city walls and tourist attractions
Booked this on the basis of the reviews across various websites and was not disappointed. Clean comfortable and in a great location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan from Kent UK

Peaceful oasis of calm in the streets of Marrakech

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Lots! It was charming, peaceful, and welcoming. The staff were really helpful and accommodating, and the location was perfect.
Cons: The shower was poor but Morocco is in a third world country so who cares!
Location: It is a short walk to the Djeema El Fnar and the hotel offers excursions to many exotic and interesting places.
We had read about the bustling and intimidating streets of Marrakech so with a sense of nervous trepidation we climbed out of our taxi in the busting back streets of Medina, the ancient walled city of Marrakech. As Moroccan first-timers we were immediately nervous and suspicious of strangers and we briskly walked down the narrow alley ways to our Riad. When the doors opened we were warmly welcomed and were shown to our room which was a charming and beautiful place. We had a fantastic time in Marrakech and actually contrary to the reports we had read online and in travel guides we found Marrakech to be busting, yes, but friendly, vibrant and enchanting. In our few days in the city we failed miserably at a few bartering encounters and succeeded at a few too. Probably we were generally a few quid down on our exchanges but we entered into the spirit of the whole experience and had an amazing time. The Riad itself was simply enchanting and the staff were helpful and attentive. There was no luxury here, the shower took an age to warm up and the Islamic prayers booming from the local Mosque at 5 am may annoy visitors used to 5 star resorts but if you want to experience Marrakech from the heart of the old city and soak up the North African charm then book this Riad. I would whole heartedly recommend a stay here.