Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Steve from NC

America's Stay??? Not this American- never again!

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: Free parking is the only positive I can come up with.
Cons: Everything! Uncomfortable bedding, no soundproofing between rooms, sparse towels and toilet paper. "Breakfast" was cold coffee & a stale bun- wrapped
Location: Close to casino and Harpers Ferry historic area.
This was a last minute booking- thankfully, for one night only. The one night resulted in not one minute of sleep. First & biggest reason: loud people in room next to ours talked and partied all night. I tried to call front desk, but the room phone was disconnected. When I used my cell phone, there was no answer. The bedding consisted of plastic sheeting (probably to control bed bugs), very uncomfortable. The basic bathroom necessities- toilet paper & towels- were sparse & scarce. After a long, terrible night, I couldn't wait to get to lobby for a cup of coffee. The coffee was stone cold, the " breakfast" was a plastic wrapped honey bun- like comes from $1.00 store. Tried to find a manager to voice my complaints, but no one around. Ok. For $100+ per night, I expected nothing but a nights rest & a cup of hot coffee in the a.m. Unfortunately, I got neither. I plan on writing a letter to corporate about my experience at this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sam from Herndon, VA

Cheap and close to casino

Posted Feb 10, 2014
It was allright overall. Affordable I should say.
3 out of 5
by Zee from WV

Across from Race Track/Casino

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Pros: Price. Offer of free continental breakfast - but there is a 24-hour Diner right next door for a more substantial breakfast or meal.
Cons: A makeover of the rooms with newer linens and towels, replace the carpets.
Location: Race Track. Casino. National Historical Park.
Probably one the cheapest hotels in the area, and it's located across from the Casino and Race Track. If you're looking for 'cheap' this is okay. But the linens and towels are frayed, only one hanger, carpet was stained, and they wanted to tie up $100 from my credit card for 'incidentals'. I don't think there was anything in that room that I would bother taking - not that I normally would anyway. So if you're looking for low cost, this is it; but if you're looking for a more high-end stay in Charles Town, go elsewhere.
2 out of 5
by Tom from Pennsylvania

Posted Dec 21, 2013
Pros: was fairly clean
Cons: hotel needs lots of maintenance performed
Stayed at this same hotel 10 years ago was a fairly decent facility. Has gone way down hill since then, my room had ceiling damage, looked like someone kicked door in and they just nailed it back together. Was supposed to be non smoking room and bed linens stunk off smoke. Only 2 out of 4 lights in room worked, toilet seat was in severe need of replacement . Staff very unfriendly , acted like they were doing you a favor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2013
Pros: It was convenient to shopping and casino.
Location: The location is good for casino and to grab a bite.
1 out of 5
by Scott from Virginia

Close to track and that's it

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: Positive: Close to Charles Town race track. Can walk to all night Diner across the parking lot.
Cons: Fix the lighting. Put some furniture in there that didn't look like it went through a tornado
Location: Good location. Across the street from the Casino and race track. Walk to a couple of food options.
Positive: Close to Charles Town race track. Can walk to all night Diner across the parking lot. Negatives: Had to "put the shoulder" to the door to open it. Furniture all banged up. 2 lights and 1 light switch did not work. Had a 2nd door on interior creating a useless "foyer" couldn't figure out its purpose. Looked like last update was around 1950. Price high for what it was.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GOOD VALUE, NICE STAFF

Posted Aug 24, 2013
Pros: CLOSE TO THE FLEA MARKET
Cons: NEW FURNITURE
Location: FLEA MARKET
OLD FURNITURE BUT CLEAN, I WOULD STAY THERE AGAIN.
2 out of 5
by Brenda from Washington DC

Hotel in West VA (next to Casino) Hollywood...

Posted Aug 20, 2013
Pros: The price...you get what you pay for...
Cons: Over haul the place, even some painting, brighting up the rooms, and that air conditionor blows right in your face as you sleep on the bed.
Location: The location near the casino.
We arrived at 3:30pm (check in 2:00pm) went to our room to put our things in it and the room was dirty, bed wasn't made, trash not empty, the pillows were gross, and it smelled. The lady downstairs said the cleaning crew has been there yet (why is check in at 2:00pm)??? The funiture is old and broken, I didn't want to sit in the chairs by the table. needless to say we will never stay there again.
1 out of 5
by unsatisfied

Don't Stay Here!

Posted Aug 5, 2013
Pros: Not much
The management is rude and don't trust their customers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Linda from VA

Close to Casino, reasonable rates for room cond.

Posted Jun 22, 2013
Pros: Reasonable rates
Cons: Bed, cleanliness.
Location: Charles Town, WVA raceway and casino.
Room was ok. for the price. Bed very uncomfortable. Like I said you get what you pay for. Its ok to stay at overnight.