Ratings based on 309 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Absolutely LOVED Jewel Runaway Bay

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Absolutely Everything!
Cons: I would only suggest having someone at the tour desk with the same friendly attitude as everyone else on staff.
Location: We never left the resort because we were so happy right there!
My boyfriend and I spent a week at Jewel Runaway Bay and LOVED every minute. We originally planned to take a day trip away from the resort but there was so much to do we never left. The staff was amazing! Nearly everyone was incredibly friendly and helpful. Only the woman at the tour desk seemed unhappy with her job and was unfriendly... but she hardly put a damper on our vacation. The food at all the restaurants was so incredible that I'm sure we each gained 5 happy pounds. I must give special props to the Platinum restaurant for their service and the awesome food presentation... way beyond our expectations! We had an upgraded room and the frig was full was champagne, wine, beer, soft drinks & bottled water. Every day a staff person came by to restock... and remember its ALL INCLUSIVE!! Our room was very large, clean and had a perfect view of the ocean. We were there the last week of May 2015 and the weather was a delightful 85-degrees, only 5 drops of rain on one day, the ocean was warm and our suntans are great. I cannot say enough wonderful things about Jewel Runaway Bay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Great beach and excellent restaurants

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: Smaller size of the complex yet many nice restaurants with pleasant atmosphere.
Cons: Room temp and fan speed control need to work together. Golf course and caddie experience need improvement.
Location: We did not take any excursions or leave the Jewel property. Location was 1 hour 15 minutes from the airport but the bus ride and sights were good.
We stayed at Jewel Runaway Bay for 5 nights in May with 3 young grandkids and 9 adults. Everyone enjoyed the many water activities including the new waterpark, 3 pools and the private pool in front of one of our rooms. Beach was nice and there was good snorkeling easily reachable form the beach. Staff members were generally all very helpful and friendly. Rooms were comfortable except A/C fan control did not allow continuous on fan along with temperature control (we like white noise from fan running at night). Food was abundant and lots of good choices, including many healthy options. Free bus service from airport and back was very good. One member of our group used the golf course and was not pleased with the course or the caddie (fairways were dry and hard as concrete; caddie was not helpful).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Great Experience

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: n/a
Location: Climbed Dunn River Falls-would do it again if we get the chance-would rather browse at shops rather than be pressured
Resort clean, people friendly, food good, beach awesome what more could you ask for
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from saintthomas

Posted May 6, 2015
Had the most amazing time, from the moment we arrived the staff was friendly and accomidating, the kids club was great too, they watched our daughter and made it very easy for my wife and I to have fun knowing our baby was safe and in good hands
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia Girl

Nice for Families

Posted May 4, 2015
The Jewel is an older hotel but has been upgraded and is very nice. Things we liked: Food was awesome, nice selection with all restaurants included The beach was beautiful and water calm The pools were nice and clean The lunge pool was a great addition The staff was excellent. Very friendly and helpful. Things we didn't like: We travelled without kids so Adult Only would have been better but if traveling with kids they have an awesome waterpark but I believe at certain times locals can come in. There is about an hour bus ride from Montego Bay but the bus did have Wifi If booking the lunge pool please note there are rooms directly on top of you that have a FULL view of you and your plung pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harrisburg, Pa

Excellent accommodations and beautiful location

Posted Apr 25, 2015
We had such an awesome time. Staff was super friendly, food and drinks were plentiful. Dolphins Cove is worth a visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from CT

great family vacation resort

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Low key, right size for tweens to roam free but not get lost. No silly dress codes and only 1 restaurant/day required reservation. Staff friendly
Cons: Dinner buffet wasn't as good as breakfast/lunch. Watersports could be a bit friendlier.
Welcoming staff from front desk, housekeeping, restaurants and gardeners. Comfortable and good variety and quality of fresh food. Breakfast buffet was excellent, reviews about Egg boy were 100% accurate, smoothies and omelette stations were also excellent. Service was very good at all locations and presentation at Platinum was hilarious. Rooms were comfortable, clean, beverages were excellent. Laser tag was great and after dinner entertainment particularly steel drums and crab racing were fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from California

Fantastic Vacation in Jamaica!

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Location, water park, staff, pools, beach, Hobie Cat rides, Snorkeling
Cons: Rooms could be a little nicer but really were not there too much.
Location: Location right on the beach was excellent, snorkeling and the Hobie Cat rides were lots of fun, Sun sets were spectacular! Kids loved the ranch!
This was our first time to Jamaica and to the Jewel Runaway Bay Resort. I would highly recommend this for a great family vacation as both my wife and I plus our 2 kids had plenty to do while we were there. So much so that we did not even take a tour away from the resort. Overall the food was very good with the buffet working out great for breakfast and finer restaurants the place of choice for dinner (LOVED MOONSTONE!). First night there we had a beach BBQ which was lots of fun. You could get food all the time with the smaller cafés being available for quick lunches or snacks. Plenty to drink for adults and kids as service was quick and the atmosphere around the bars fun. Kids took advantage of the teens club and after a few days of trepidation decided it was the place to be. The Water Park was excellent and we all took advantage of this and the "Poly Wings". Plenty to do at the beach with snorkeling, Hobie Cat rides and we even tried scuba. Would do this again next year in a heart beat. Kids are ready and so are we...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2015
We have been to many islands and the staff at Jewel was bar far the best ! Food and drinks were good. Never a problem finding beach chairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Beautiful resort and amazing people. The name Jewel says it all :)