Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Union City, GA

Run down resort but close to attractions

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: The waitresses and front lobby clerks were very nice. Sonya, the waitress, is very nice and willing to help.
Cons: The entire property needs to be totally renovated, not just patched work.
Location: The resort is 2 minutes away from Margaritaville and less than 2 miles from Dunn's River Fall, Mystic Mountain, and Dolphin Cove.
This resort is terrible. It did not meet the standards that was posted on the website and the pictures. The conditions of the property is very run down. The front lobby is outdoors. They give you the remote to the television and air condition in a raggedy plastic envelope. As I entered the room, it had a mildew smell. The room was infested with ants. The furniture is peeling and there isn't comforters or bedspreads for the beds. All you get is a fitted and flat sheet. The bathroom seemed to be remodeled however it was patched up. They painted over cracks and dings in the wall instead of actually repairing the walls before painting. The window bay in the bathroom doesn't have a window all over, so you can hear nature and actually see small bugs coming through the windows. At night bats flew in the outdoor restaurant and swarm around the bedroom window. The room had mildew on the ceiling and the floors were filthy. The pool area was nasty. The jacuzzi was closed and boarded down. The area around the pool had damages. There was a guy painting the wood railing around the pool. There was even construction above and below the room on the property. Also, the property is rented out to local residents to rent year round.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice Hotel - Close to Beach

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: Location and view was wonderful
Cons: Maintenance of the outside of the buildings needs to be done. Variety of foods at breakfast could be improved.
Location: Extremely close to the town of Ocho Rios, a very nice jerk center and other places to get food. Close to Dunn's River Falls, Mystic Mountain.
Overall it was not a bad hotel to stay. Close to all amenities needed. Staff was friendly and helpful. Improvements could be made in terms of cleaning of the rooms in a timely manner. Not quite what was expected from impressions given.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2015
Quick trip to clear my head. Mystic was perfect. Quiet , clean , central - the hotel allows you to do as you please. Breakfast was great and so was the staff. Pool clean and chairs available. Cable package needs ALOT of improvement and so does wifi but I went to sleep and chill so that wasn't too bad for me
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Wesley from Washington DC (NVA)

Good budget hotel in great location in Ochi Rios

Posted May 3, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I stayed during the early part of the off season, 4th week of April 2015. The location is really good, down town Ochi Rios is walking distance, a free and a paid beach are walking distance. Breakfast was included and pretty good, it tasted fresh so I assume all local grown. The Jerk Center is 5 minute walk from hotel, VERY GOOD Jerk food! We did the Bob Marley Tour and Mystic Mountain which is right up the street. The internet is spotty at times, but it's free. The pool has no noticeable chlorine, nor did I detect a filtration system. Needless to say, the pool had local insects and slight dust/hair etc. I did however swim on two different occasions as it wasn't that bad. My wife, who is very picky, also went in the pool. Over 65% of the property is condo ownership, while the other 35% is hotel. The loft units have a wooden floor, so if your on the floor beneath a loft unit you will hear the noise from the loft unit. The staff (front desk, restaurant, grounds, housekeepers) were friendly. Note, we flew in via Kinston and took the Knutsford Express bus which was about a 2.5 hour bus ride. I would recommend that if you want to do part of your trip on one side of the island, and then another part on another side. It's too long a ride to do day trips. Costs about $35 US for 2 to go from Kingston to Ochi Rios. Flying in via Montego Bay might be a better choice if your staying on North side of island exclusively.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Close to Dunn's river!!

Posted May 2, 2015
Clean room and friendly staff. Important to know although i doubt you'll want to spend much time in the room when there's so much to do. Can't wait to go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

The hotel needs to complete painting and roofing

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: The staff was friendly and courteous
Cons: The hotel needs to complete renovation outside of the building, e.g painting and roofing .
Location: The location is ok for the purpose I went there for my vacation. Things to do was fine nearby
There was no division between the bath and the toilet, which I do not like. Maybe because it was one bedroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston, Jamaica

Discounted access to Mystic Mountain!

Posted Apr 7, 2015
No toiletries in room and maintainance needed on property. Beautiful pool, amazing Jamaican and continental buffet breakfast plus heavily discounted access to the breathtaking Mystic Mountain eco fun park made this hotel well worth the mid range pricing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bronx, NY

The staff was absolutely wonderful

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: The staff was very nice
Cons: The resort, just need an overhaul and upgrade the menu
Location: Wonderful dinning experience within the community of the resort
The staff was absolutely wonderful. The resort at as a whole needed some tender loving care. Price wise this would be a great place for students to hang out and enjoy the island.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 26, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

*Don't let your first glance of Mystic R fool you*

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: 1) Close to local attractions Dunns River/Rain Forest/Nightlife (Be careful) and Park with Rides. 2) Well kept grounds and Pool 3) Food was good.
Cons: 1) Get rid of those stray cats!!!! 2) Do a paintjob on the exterior.
Location: Dunns River/Rain Forest/Nightlife (Be careful) and Park with Rides. Shopping in the center of town.
At first glance the exterior of the hotel appears to need a paintjob and some remodeling here and there. I stayed in a one bedroom suite that was very spacious, very comfortable and a good value. There is a complimentary breakfast which is good. The hotel also had a talent contest with various musicians/poets etc which was very entertaining. The staff was accommodating and friendly.. ALL in ALL I was pleased staying there for the price.