Ratings based on 605 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walking distance to beach, 1 mile

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Excellent staff, super clean rooms, decent breakfast
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J.

Good location to the boardwalk.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Young female brunette was very helpful when we came out on Thursday. She recommended Woodstock pizza and was attentive to my son fitting on the sofa sleeper. Great employee. Wish I got her name.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fresno

Not what I expected!!

Posted Aug 15, 2014
We traveled w/our teenage daughter and her friend and stayed in what they called a suite!!! We assumed that since the hotel stated they had a sleeper sofa it would be perfect for the girls but that wasn't the case. The sleeper sofa was a twin and the mattress looked and felt like it was 20 years old. You could feel all the springs. When I asked the attendant for a roll away bed she said they didn't have anymore. So much for a comfortable nights sleep. Also the rooms are not very big and the bathroom has a weird layout. We have stayed @ several hotels and this was by far the worst.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Folsom

False Advertising

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: the shampoo and conditioner
Cons: the rooms, the rates, the parking
Location: beaches were nice but crowed during our time of stay. The Boardwalk wasn't exactly a kid friendly place after dawn.
Looked at the reviews and pictures online...everything looked "ok". Had a late check in and was put in one on their rooms that I was later told "haven't been through their renovation yet." Couch pillows are miss matched, pull out bed was like sleeping on springs directly, holes and cigarette burns all over the carpet, furniture was incredibly outdated and abused, no counter space in bathroom to place your items, paint peeling off the baseboards in bathroom from condensation, many electric outlets didn't work, alarm clock was broken and your "free" breakfast was okay at best, but you had to sit on plastic lawn chairs to eat it. After a long day of sports we thought about relaxing in the hot tub until we saw the maintenance guy pull out of the skimmer a bunch of brown and black slug...NO THANKS! Major health concern. (our room over looked the hot tub) The location is only 1 mile down from the board walk. Which translated into noise all night long, sirens galore, even gun fire at one point. And finally parking...I drive an extended vehicle...if you don't own a very compact car don't even attempt it. The underground parking is so tight and so limited its not worth the damage. We literally witness a family take out their front bumper trying to make it work between all the concrete beams. Oh and don't expect a normal drive up and check in location either...it doesn't exist.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Good hotel close to the boardwalk

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: close to beach & good breakfast
Cons: the cable channels did not match the tv guide, so it was hard finding what was on tv
Location: downtown shopping & restaurants, & close to boardwalk & beach
I loved the room size. Only a five minute drive to boardwalk & blocks from downtown Santa Cruz.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel centrally located and easy access

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Has a parking garage, spool ,workout room, great breakfast and friendly staff
Cons: Parking spots were pretty small. Don't bring the dually.
Location: Santa Cruise has a lot of great sightseeing opportunities. We visited the redwood trees, the boardwalk, golf courses and a lighthouse.
Great trip to Santa Cruz. Having some place nice to stay just enhanced the trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friendly helpful staff.

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Good place to stay. Very friendly staff. Great sushi restaurant suggested by front desk in walking distance. Good breakfast. Overall good place. Clean room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Worked well for our large group

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Expedia search
Location: Walked to the beach - picked up some great wings at a local place.
The rooms were laid out well to allow for socializing near the room entrance wile others relaxed and watched TV. Breakfast was good with plenty of tables for dining.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great room. Doors too LOUD. Walls are thin. Hard t

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Doors too loud! Hard to get sleep with all the banging all night till 11:00 then at 6:00. Rooms are great. Wish it was quieter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John Maria

Excellent staff, walking distance to Boardwalk

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Internet
Cons: Looking forward to staying there again
Staff (Ms. Amy) was absolutely accommodating. Not only did she allow us to check in early (12:30pm vs. 3pm), she even upgraded our 2 Queen suite to a 2 King suite. Hotel was under renovation when we stayed there (June 9, 2014) but the renovation work did not get in our way. Great selection from complimentary breakfast bar. Great lobby/breakfast area with comfortable couches and fireplace. Enjoyed the parking garage with elevator access to the lobby. Hotel rooms were secured, with hotel doors located inside the building and not directly accessible from outside. Excellent location on Ocean Street and walking distance to the Boardwalk.