Ratings based on 612 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dc

In need of updates

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Thin walls where you could hear those next door. Not good for light sleepers. In need of new mattresses.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

A nice hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: It seems to be new, everything was bright and clean. The staff were very friendly.
Cons: The breakfast
Location: It is about twenty minutes walk to the beach. Because of parking it probably just as long by car.
I was very pleased with the hotel. I enjoyed my stay and Santa Cruz was better than I expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stockton, ca

Very close to Boardwalk, Downtown, Mystery Spot.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Everything is so close! Parking and wifi were free!!! Continental breakfast was part of our stay, loved it! Would recommend!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

A decent hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Location: Less than 10 minutes' walk from downtown Santa Cruz where there is a cheap (25c) trolley to the boardwalk.
The room was a proper suite with a separate living room area with a sofa, a second TV and an extra sink by the coffee maker which was useful for washing fruit. There didn't appear to be a guest laundrette as advertised though, so it was just as well that we didn't need it. The second TV didn't initially work but the maintenance man was able to sort it out quickly - just a loose connection. The hotel receptionist was very helpful when we asked about getting to the boardwalk and gave us some good transport tips.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walking distance to beach, 1 mile

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Excellent staff, super clean rooms, decent breakfast
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J.

Good location to the boardwalk.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Young female brunette was very helpful when we came out on Thursday. She recommended Woodstock pizza and was attentive to my son fitting on the sofa sleeper. Great employee. Wish I got her name.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fresno

Not what I expected!!

Posted Aug 15, 2014
We traveled w/our teenage daughter and her friend and stayed in what they called a suite!!! We assumed that since the hotel stated they had a sleeper sofa it would be perfect for the girls but that wasn't the case. The sleeper sofa was a twin and the mattress looked and felt like it was 20 years old. You could feel all the springs. When I asked the attendant for a roll away bed she said they didn't have anymore. So much for a comfortable nights sleep. Also the rooms are not very big and the bathroom has a weird layout. We have stayed @ several hotels and this was by far the worst.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Folsom

False Advertising

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: the shampoo and conditioner
Cons: the rooms, the rates, the parking
Location: beaches were nice but crowed during our time of stay. The Boardwalk wasn't exactly a kid friendly place after dawn.
Looked at the reviews and pictures online...everything looked "ok". Had a late check in and was put in one on their rooms that I was later told "haven't been through their renovation yet." Couch pillows are miss matched, pull out bed was like sleeping on springs directly, holes and cigarette burns all over the carpet, furniture was incredibly outdated and abused, no counter space in bathroom to place your items, paint peeling off the baseboards in bathroom from condensation, many electric outlets didn't work, alarm clock was broken and your "free" breakfast was okay at best, but you had to sit on plastic lawn chairs to eat it. After a long day of sports we thought about relaxing in the hot tub until we saw the maintenance guy pull out of the skimmer a bunch of brown and black slug...NO THANKS! Major health concern. (our room over looked the hot tub) The location is only 1 mile down from the board walk. Which translated into noise all night long, sirens galore, even gun fire at one point. And finally parking...I drive an extended vehicle...if you don't own a very compact car don't even attempt it. The underground parking is so tight and so limited its not worth the damage. We literally witness a family take out their front bumper trying to make it work between all the concrete beams. Oh and don't expect a normal drive up and check in location either...it doesn't exist.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Good hotel close to the boardwalk

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: close to beach & good breakfast
Cons: the cable channels did not match the tv guide, so it was hard finding what was on tv
Location: downtown shopping & restaurants, & close to boardwalk & beach
I loved the room size. Only a five minute drive to boardwalk & blocks from downtown Santa Cruz.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel centrally located and easy access

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Has a parking garage, spool ,workout room, great breakfast and friendly staff
Cons: Parking spots were pretty small. Don't bring the dually.
Location: Santa Cruise has a lot of great sightseeing opportunities. We visited the redwood trees, the boardwalk, golf courses and a lighthouse.
Great trip to Santa Cruz. Having some place nice to stay just enhanced the trip.