Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom rancho cordova

5 minute drive from ocean

Posted Jan 4, 2015
The hotel was older and could use some updating. But for the price it was great. Room was clean, bed was comfortable. Short drive to the ocean. Restaurant on site was great. Denny's restaurant next door. I recommend this hotel if you are on a budget and need a place to stay in Monterey. Room came with a microwave, frig, tv,blow dryer, coffee pot, and shampoo/conditioner.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, D.C.

Run down - Stay Away

Posted Dec 29, 2014
This hotel is in need of some serious work before it is worth the $50-$60 a room that you will end up paying. Cons: The thermostat in the room we stayed in was busted, which we only found out about when we woke up in the middle of the night freezing. There is very little insulation in the walls, so there is a lot of noise whenever a car goes by or another guest in an adjacent room is doing anything. The hotel staff were very rude. Pros: There is a nice diner about a mile down the road. Not a long drive to the aquarium or fishermans wharf. Rather cheap for the area. Overall: I would recommend staying away. There is a Marriott hotel that's only going to be $50 or so more expensive, and it's right by everything that we came to see - the aquarium, fishermans wharf, etc.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Central CA

Only as a LAST resort.

Posted Nov 17, 2014
First, this hotel is VERY small - only 18 rooms, and the parking is barely adequate for the room occupancy, much less the restaurant next door (with which they share spaces). The hotel itself looks dated and unkempt, and is obviously mom & pop owned, as they live onsite in one of the units. Check-in was quick, as we had done everything online ahead of time, but don't lose your room key - $5 charge to replace. Inside, the room was no better than the outside with 90's-era wall decor, and dilapidated-looking bathroom (white tile on walls and floor). The bathroom door dragged the floor, making it difficult to get any privacy and there was no fan (only a window to open) to dissipate the steam from the shower.... The beds were the worst part: VERY hard. They should have been replaced years ago. I like a firm mattress over a soft one, but this was TOO firm, and though exhausted, I had alot of trouble getting to sleep, and tossed and turned all night. Plus, anytime you moved on the bed, it made alot of squeaking noises from the mattress coils (not from the frame). Overall, very disappointing stay, and I won't be returning here.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom clovis ca

You pay for what you get

Posted Oct 28, 2014
This is by far the worst hotel that I have ever stayed at! It seemed like a good deal because it was cheap but I would've paid more for better quality. The room smelled like smoke even though it was a non smoking room. The bed was really uncomfortable and sounded like it was going to break every time I moved. The smoke detector was going off and my husband had to take it off the ceiling to make it stop! The shower had horrible water pressure. I will not ever recommend this hotel to anyone!!!!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Colleen Crispfrom Australia

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was an overpriced extremely ordinary roadside motel under the flight path from the airport. The people that ran the motel could not really speak English and this made it very difficult to communicate. I am dissatisfied that your sight would even have this type of place on its system as in the past I have been very impressed with where we have stayed.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anthonyfrom Sacramento

I dont regret it, but I wont be back.

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
I didn't have high expectations going in, and I think that's the best approach here. It wasn't bad.... Location is not far from downtown and the warf. That is probably this hotels only saving grace. Room was a bit rundown, but clean. The office was not clearly marked, and the receptionist spoke very poor english. she was very nice but she said a lot of things that went way over my head, leaving me to find my own room and read over the long list of rules that you will be charged money for not following. All things considered, not bad for being on the cheap. Its a bed and a room, nothing more.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Clean and Unassuming

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have stayed in this hotel before while attending the Monterey Jazz Festival. It was in walking distance tot he fair grounds, so I didn't have to worry about transportation to and from the festival. I had a one day conference come up that was scheduled at another hotel near by that was extreemly expensive for an over night stay. I booked the Casa Verde instead, to save money but still be close enough to the conference location. The room as before was clean, nothing fancy. It had a microwave and frig and lots of clean towels. The bed was comfortable. Although if you are a light sleeper, the road noise from Fremont Street might pose a problem to you're being able to rest well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Banos, CA

Centrally locate, restraints with in walking dista

Posted Oct 6, 2014
We went to Monterey for a wedding. I booked the hotel on line from Expedia. The rate was reasonably priced. When we got to our room, none of the lights worked. The manager had to come climb on the bed to plug in the lights. The overhead light was still out and she did not change that
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Landonfrom Honolulu

great little place to stay

Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great little place for the price. Very comfortable room and close to a variety of restaurants and gas stations.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels.com