Ratings based on 298 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by S.Thomas from Fresno, CA, USA

Yuk!!

Posted Apr 16, 2013
Pros: Location.
Cons: Comfort.
Location: Almost across the street from Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk.
Great location but completely low budget! Never again.
1 out of 5
by Jon from Reno, NV, USA

Awful moldy smelly ripoff

Posted Apr 15, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Smell parking being hit up for an extra twenty
Great location. Older and rundown, smells badly of mold. Parking is terrible. The"manager" demanded a $20.00 cash no refundable charge also he refused to provide a receipt for the cash. They would not provide the password to either the wi-fi or the parental controls on the tv to get off the t14 setting. Would not recommend this pit to anyone.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sara from Tracy

Posted Apr 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was by far one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in. No telephone in the room to call front desk. Manager tried to charge extra for every little thing. He went as far too charge me 10 dollars extra for my 6 year old son who shared a bed with me. Furniture was breaking. Although it was prime location only one block from the beach, I will never stay here again. You live and you learn right?
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Marathon Momma from San Jose

served the overall purpose

Posted Apr 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Went to Santa Cruz half marathon event; wanted to be close to finish line. The room was clean but no amenities at all. The cost was too high but paid it because of the convenience & all other places were full.
1 out of 5
by Dawn

Do not go to this place!

Posted Apr 8, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: The manager was really shady. He kept insisting on having guests pay with cash for additional charges. The room was nasty and no air conditioning.
Location: The location is prime for the Beach Boardwalk but the hotel is horrible! We were charged way too much for the room!
We asked about early check in and the man who answered the phone said that we had to pay $15 cash to check in early. When my husband was standing in line to check in, he was telling the person before my husband that the early check in fee was $20. The person said that they were told $15 and he said no. Then when we were checking in, he made us pay an additional $10 cash since we had a teenager... our daughter is 13 and we had inputted our children's ages when we booked through Expedia. He then charged us an additional $20 cash for a pet fee. So, in total, we paid $45 cash to check in. The room we were given was horrible. The bathroom doorknob was falling off, the bathtub was in poor condition. There was no air conditioning, the carpets were stained, and the front door had to be slammed shut. The walls were so thin we could hear different conversations going on at the same time. We had our dog with us and it was a spur of the moment trip and we were limited in pet friendly choices. We were definitely not pleased with the room or the service. The man was very shady.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

close to boardwalk

Posted Apr 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
I liked that the hotel was close to the boardwalk and the owner was very friendly, but the hotel wasn't the best. The beds weren't as comfortable as I would have liked it to be. No AC, no hair dry blower, and the TV kept turning itself off. Overall it was alright for a one night stay and a good location close to the boardwalk.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by LK & SB from San Fran

Posted Mar 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
VERY convenient to Boardwalk & beach. TV was old tube kind, which would've been fine BUT didn't work w remote so had to go up to TV to change volume. When we did this however, the TV would go off so we'd have to unplug & plug to turn it back on. There was a tear in the flat sheet & my foot kept getting caught in it. Very minor issue & didn't use the pillow anyway but one of the pillowcases was put on inside-out. Good thing we viewed this as a place to leave our things in & sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Erin from Sonoma

Posted Mar 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
The location was amazing. Would have liked a little more services.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Lopez from Jackson

The hotel is the worst I've ever seen

Posted Mar 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
My bathroom cabinet was off and thrown under sink... The towels had not been changed and was used to wipe up something it had horrible stains. The lamp shade was ripped to pieces..the heat did not work and no hot water...