Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Dakota

Nice enough accommodations, close to town.

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Our time at the Lodge was fine. The rooms were clean, bed was comfortable, air-conditioning worked great and a wonderful breakfast. However the hair blower did not work. I called the front desk and let them know. There was nothing she could do as the maintenance person was not in yet, but she would let him know. I was able to use my friends who was in another room. Very disappointing it was not fixed or another blower was not available. I trust it got fixed for the next hotel guest.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sd

Hotel near Keystone

Posted Jul 25, 2015
No staff at desk...had to search for them 3x. Smoke breaks in front of hotel when we pulled up was 1st indication. Toilet was plugged and I fixed it as I saw staff was busy. Hot tub broken. Water fountain for drink ran continually in pool creating wet floor. Pool didn't appear maintained. So we didn't swim.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel nah am Mount Rushmore

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Die Nähe zum Mount Rushmore muss bezahlt werden Ehemaliges Best Western hat seine besten Tage hinter sich Frühstücksraum gleicht einer Bahnhofshalle
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maplewood, Mn

You won't get what you paid for

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: The pool and hot tub area needed more attention. The fan in the bathroom didn't work. The in room fridge was noisy.
Location: Keystone and Hill City are both nearby. Lots of places to see and eat nearby.
The staff was amazing and friendly. That was about the only thing that saved the stay. The room was alright. Not pillowtop beds as advertised. No coffee in the room just the lobby, which when you are on 3rd floor isn't convenient. The fridge made a buzzing noise all night and day. The pool was dirty. The kids found a lot of dead bugs and hair in it. When we notified staff they did try to clean it out. The hot tub was out of order and filled with gross brown water. Our last day there they did have someone working on the hot tub. Breakfast was good. Lots of options. With how much we paid for the hotel we were expecting something a little nicer. Our next hotel was over 1/2 the cost and quite a bit nicer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

A nice place to stay overnight

Posted Jul 8, 2015
It was a nice room, though there were insects and some of the towels were dirty. The view wasn't so great either. But if you needed a quick place to spend a night, it'll suffice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Find Another Hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: comfortable beds, cold room
Cons: See above. There is A LOT of room for improvement.
Location: We came for Mount Rushmore which is very nearby.
Luckily, we only stayed one night. At check-in we got to hear a conversation they were having with a woman who had 3 rooms for 4 nights and they were on their 2nd day there. Someone else had been assigned to one of their rooms and had walked into their room using their own key. That's rather scary. Thank goodness the original people were in their room...no telling what could have happened to their belongings. How does this even happen? It's all in the computer. Seems like someone would have had to override the booking into that room? Our room was spacious and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. And the air conditioner was able to get the room very cold, which we liked a lot. But, the bathroom shower curtain was fraying all along the bottom edge and there was quite a lot of mildew (or worse) at the top of the shower. And, the shower wouldn't turn off completely. The next morning when we went to get coffee, it was all out as was the free breakfast. But, we wouldn't have eaten that breakfast anyway - the room was filthy. Trash overflowing, spilled food on the floor, and the room smelled like rotting trash. They finally replenished the coffee and when we went to get some all of the maid staff was hanging out in the lobby lounging on the couches. And they were collectively complaining about another staff person for all to hear. And the dining room was still filthy.....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel close to Mount Rushmore!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
We arrived late after a long day of travel. The Hotel was a nice surprise. We booked on line. It was clean, welcoming and had a great hot continental breakfast in the morning. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to those traveling to Mount Rushmore and the Black Hills!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Staff was extremely helpful but condition of hotel was dreadful. Tub stained and faucet dripped all nite. Shower curtain had seen better days. Just needs updating!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oak Park, IL

So Close to Being A Really Good Hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness.
Cons: Customer service, basic operations.
Location: A great restaurant just down the road called the Powder House shouldn't be missed. Terrific.
Facilities and location were great. Rooms were clean and well kept. Service from the front desk was uneven -- some people were great, others really lousy. The two largest complaints: (1) the pool was cold. Freezing cold, almost unusable, and (2) the fact that at least once per day, our key cards stopped working and we had to go to the front desk (with its uneven service) and get new cards. At first, we thought that we were "de-magnetizing" them accidentally, but we came to find out that they had no idea when we were supposed to check in or check out, so they kept giving our rooms to new people checking in. In fact, we were called one night at about 10:30pm to ask our names, to be sure that they knew who was in the room. The next night, a gentleman opened the door and came into our room since he had been issued a keycard to open it. Upon checkout, they couldn't even give us a bill. In fact, 3 days later, we are still waiting for it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S.

Not worth the price.

Posted Jun 25, 2015
The hotel is okay, but not worth $180 a night. The hot tub was broken. The whole hotel smelled due to an electrical problem. No coffee pot in the room, so I had to walk all the down from 314 to the entrance to get coffee, and half the time they were out. Staff seemed annoyed when I asked them if they could make more. The hotel was also extremely hard to find. If you put their address on Google maps, it sends you almost 4 miles further south. The room was big and you were close to mt. Rushmore, but it was not worth the price.