Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Loved the hypermart across the street.
Location: Kinda far away from everything.
Very outdated and the pictures on Expedia do not represent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by David from Abu Dhabi

Showing its age but good value

Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Showing its age but good value
1 out of 5
by troy from dubai

DO NOT waste your money here

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Cons: I understand some hotels are a little shabby, but rating themselves as a three star hotel and charging what they charge is plainly dishonest.
Terrible experience. The reviewer below said this reminds them of a backpackers is spot on. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, so whatever money you are saving will be spent on taxis. The rooms are dirty, my pillow had a huge ball of hairs, the room smelled like sweat. They have air conditioning, one of those 80s big square wall mounted units, Incredibly noisy, like a plane taking off, YOU WILL have to turn it off if you want to sleep at night, it makes the room shake. The food is a disaster. I could actually see with every bite, some manager making the decision to get the absolute cheapest ingredients they could find, no regard for quality at all. But unlike the hotel, the food IS NOT cheap. Wi-Fi, sure they have it, but it will take you 5 minutes to load google, and I'm not exaggerating. Asked reception if they could do anything about the speed, they said the speed is fine, try to disconnect and connect again, nothing, so, I'm sorry sir, it's your laptop's fault, your laptop is very slow! so yes, the staff is completely clueless, not only reception, room service and restaurant. With so many friendly people in Oman I don't know how they got a hold of this unfriendly, apathetic, unhelpful bunch. They will hold your passport through your stay, testament to just how many people try to skip out on this hotel. Do yourself a favor, spend extra for the next hotel up. Golden Oasis is the cheapest hotel in town for a reason, still at what they charge it is grossly overpriced.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

was horrible , from the room to staff and food

Posted Jun 14, 2013
Pros: there is nothing that i liked
Cons: /
Location: /
i can say that is my worst experience in live, check in was fine but room is to old door is not secure, toilet is not clean enough no even toilet paper in,... I had the blue in room for toilet seat after 1 hour they move me in other room, once when was time to check out i was in a harry, i mention to receptionist girl that i have to do check out fast , she was not busy but she did not care about my situation, i ask concierge for taxi to the airport he said that he will call hims friend i said that i do not have time any way he did not care he put me in taxi on hims friend , was shearing taxi with two more guys !!!! over all disgusting!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Zayid from Oman

good for the price

Posted Apr 26, 2013
it was good for short stay.Good for the price. good location, you can get a view of Suq Aljumaa ( Friday traditional market ).. recommended for a short stay or so
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent for the price

Posted Mar 1, 2013
Nice. Clean. Reminded me of hostel. Fair price for this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Faulty Oasis

Posted Feb 16, 2013
Hotel is on a noisy road with no double glazing. Top floor has restaurant above with noise & chairs scraping. Request to change room was agreed, but suitcases were not moved & another guest was given the key to the room at 2 in the morning. Staff were unhelpful & incompetent.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kuwait

Not so golden oasis

Posted May 22, 2012
Pros: Leaving.
Cons: Disgusting bed sheets
Location: Close to the business district
The lobby looked OK but the closer you come to the room, the worse it gets. The room was quite clean but the bed was just disgusting. I don't think the sheets had been washed this year. They were covered in yellow stains and hairs. Than I had the brilliant idea to sleep on a towel instead but than it turned out there were no towels. When they finally brought towels, I inquired if there was any chance to get also some clean sheets but the guy ran of very angry and left me there. I was also suppoed to have internet in the room but that didn't work. I does work in the lobby. I checked out first thing the next morning after a very disappointing breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by K2

Well-recommended, especially if travelling alone

Posted Mar 31, 2012
Pros: Relaxed, friendly atmosphere. With very amenable staff.
Cons: Nightly disco.
Nicely situated opposite a late-opening supermarket, and in a quiet neighbourhood on the edge of the Al Wadi Al Kabir area of the Muscat region. The hotel is well-catered, with very pleasant reception staff and waiting staff in the restaurant area. the view from the restaurant is very nice, and there is a small market across the road on fridays. The health suites are gender-split, and have a reasonable amount of equipment, as well as offering jacuzzi, sauna and massage (at extra cost). The menus are sufficiently varied for the cost, and there is also a pool table and dartboard in the restaurant area (along with a couple of televisions). There is limited parking at the front of the hotel, but taxis pass by on a very regular basis, and a trip to the airport will set you back around 6-8 rials (depending how hard you barter), while going into Muttrah will cost around 4-5 rials. Muttrah is within walking distance if you're prepared to walk about 6km - but the walk is a reasonable one, with a fair bit to see on the way. There are two computers with free internet connection in the reception area, as well as a small ladies' clothing shop. The only negative - depending on your preference - is that there is an in-hotel disco each night. However, the music was not that loud from my room (5th floor), and didn't disturb too much; and not beyond midnight. I actually met the hotel owner one evening in the restaurant, and he was very pleasant and keen to know how I found the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amanda from San Francisco, CA, USA

Best budget option in town

Posted Jan 6, 2012
Pros: The price and the friendly, helpful staff
Cons: Rooms were a little old/dismal, but livable
Location: pretty central location - everything in Muscat is spread out, so you'll need to take a taxi, regardless
This is the best quality for your money that you'll be able to find near Muscat. The rooms themselves are nothing to write home about, but the breakfast buffet is great, the staff is friendly and helpful, and you can't beat the price on the room or the food/alcohol in the rooftop restaurant. I stayed at other places closer to the coast and constantly felt ripped off. If you're a business traveler (free printing, phone calls and wireless internet!) or traveling on a budget, it's a no brainer. If you're interested in blowing tons of money on a fancy hotel on the coast, go for it.