Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Sietske from The Netherlands

Noisy road, next to container terminal

Posted Feb 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hostel lays next to a main road with lorries goning up and down and to far from the city centre to be wallking alone at night. Dirty and small kitchen. Young travellers are Nice though, also owner was verry helpfull.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Ross from Rangiora

Posted Apr 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Probably won,t suit everyone but were able to have a fun night and make plenty of noise without bothering any other people. Room was very basic but clean. Hotel owner was very helpful.
1 out of 5
by Jennifer & Gary from Christchurch

Gone to the Dogs

Posted Mar 14, 2013
Pros: Nothing, because of the uncleanliness etc we did not get to enjoy what we traveled there for. Instead we went out to find other accommodation.
Cons: Dirty, rundown and false advertising & pictures online.
Location: Fantastic waterfront for running and cycling which is what we had gone for.
We booked a double ensuite room & were told upon arrival that they did not have one, yet the online advertisement says they do. We got a small room with a double bed and a squeezed in wooden chunky bunk, leaving no room to move. The free parking is now a car sales yard. The manager told us the window in the room had gotten dirty in the morning, yet we arrived at 4:30 and it had not been cleaned. Toilet was not clean and there were empty cardboard rolls in the toilet dispenser. No soap or hand-towel to clean your hands. Window sills and frames in the room had black mold growing on them and were dusty. Bottom sheet on double bed was dirty and the cover had ball-pen marks and stains on it. One pillow-case smelt foul, like it had been left in a wet pile for days before being dried. A hose lay across the front entrance, waiting for someone to trip over it. Plants were either dead or dying. Kitchen was untidy and unclean, that I wouldn't have cooked anything in there. The fridge smelt awful. The carpets were stained and marked. Walls in the room were scraped and grimed. The bar was not open. The manager & the staff were on the front porch drinking or in the lounge watching TV. The pictures & information online do not depict the conditions of the Custom House. I stayed here when it was first refurbished and it was beautiful. It has gone to the dogs! Overall the room & backpackers was rough and dirty.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Geoff

Friendly & personable

Posted Jan 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nelson was full-up for people wanting family sized accomm.! We booked late and had gratitude that there was something avail. in our price-range. The rooms for the price were perfectly as expected with 2 adults 2 kids fitting in fine (for 2 nights), shared bathroom facilities clearly advertised in website. A little unfortunate for us, the CH backpackers is on a main road and in the middle of that road a metal access cover is a bit uneven and bangs loudly when any car/truck wheel goes over it. Sleep suffered, but the proprietor who has asked the council/road manager to fix the problem, offered us a discount on the already reasonable price, as soon as he heard about our experience. This more than any physical feature of the place stands out in our minds; friendly and helpful!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Loud / warm / old

Posted Jan 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
An old place but plenty of character. Was full of young boys playing videogames and working out close to the reception, wouldn't stay there with family. Fine overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
Staff was nice n friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Raju from Auckland, New Zealand

The Customhouse Backpacker

Posted May 19, 2012
Pros: The hotel is near the sea shore.
Cons: Kitchen is a bit messy
Location: 20Min walk from the city center.
The hotel is very economical and the staff is very helpful and honest. :)